pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > German Shepherd

Pet Insurance for German Shepherds

German Shepherds are generally healthy, but like all breeds, are prone to certain conditions and diseases.

Common problems for German Shepherds include: hip dysplasia, elbow dysplasia, bloat, degenerative myelopathy (a neurological disease of the spinal cord that usually results in paralysis.)
 


Recent Reviews of pet insurance from German Shepherd owners:

I will not be renewing my cover next year. Ian Harris, 11/30/2018

We were referred by our vet to Bristol vet school for investigations into a suspected mass in German shepherds chest. Paid £1900 for examinations and tests only to be told by Tesco insurance that this was an ongoing problem. After 5 months of wrangling, numerous e mails to them from our local vet and those in Bristol, we were initially told that our claim had been refused. Eventually, after going the through their complaints department and threatening to go to the insurance ombudsman, we received £570 after deducting £120 excess. Although this still leaves us massively out of pocket, it seemed too be accept this or get nothing. Not an easy company to deal with and quite dismissive of any facts submitted to them. I will not be renewing my cover next year.

Company: Tesco   Breed: German Shepherd
 
AVOID AVOID AVOID Kirsty, 11/24/2018

Wouldnt bother with these con men! Wont pay out for a policy and gives silly excuses. Disgusted in this company. Avoid avoid avoid

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: German Shepherd
 
AVOID AT ALL COSTS Mark Dawson, 10/30/2018

It really is a shame that you have to give a star, because I would give nothing, what an absolute shambles of a company petplan are... my dog had an allergic reaction to parasites and they put an exclusion on her record for ALL gastro/intestinal issues.... my vet wrote a letter to state that these two issues are NOT related, yet planplan are happy with their decision and the exclusion will stand, therefore my poorly dog isn't covered for her new issue.. I pay £36 a month for this shocking service... I would avoid at all costs because they are slimy snakes.

Company: Petplan   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Totally untrustworthy as an insurance company W. Green, 10/20/2018

Put in an honest-to-God claim for my injured dog. The claim was confirmed as genuine by my vet. Tesco's claimed it was an ongoing injury confirmed by their own in-house vet. I contacted them to point out that it was not an ongoing injury but was disbelieved. My vet then wrote direct to Tesco Insurance confirming that the injury was NOT AN ONGOING INJURY. Tesco's refused to reconsider. The bill was not enormous (£340) but having been called a liar and then having my vet's assurance discounted I no longer trust them as pet insurers. I've cancelled my poicy and would strogly advise anyone to avoid them

Company: Tesco   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Excellent cover for a fab price Wendy Taylor, 9/10/2018

Really pleased with the level of cover for my dogs compared to other companies, great choice of monthly premiums. Friendly, professional staff who really know the policy, matched my needs and explained everything in detail.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Very expensive Alison Wells, 8/12/2018

Once you have had a claim, they have you by the short and curlies. You are locked in with a pre existing claim which wonít be covered by insurers. This year our premium has increased from £89 to £125 a month and we haven had a claim for 2 years. Iím going to come out and put the money in a separate account - £1500 a year is a ridiculous amount to pay. My other dog is with Animal Friends and we pay £18 a month which has hardly increased in all the years we have been with them.

Company: Argos   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Absolute shocking company stay clear. Liindsey, 7/23/2018

My Mum and Dad had pet insurance with this company, when their beloved dog passed away they still wanted money no sorry for your loss in the final letter or thanks for your custom. Think they need training in customer service and to be more sympathetic.

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Recommend, easy to arrange and good price. Flossie, 7/11/2018

My owners had a very good experience when arranging insurance online for me, and they said the price was very good. Thanks to my lovely owners, I am looked after extremely well, having plenty of exercise and great food; and oh yes treats and toys aplenty. As I have not been ill, my owners have not as yet had to make a claim, but I do know that they are very confident that Lifetime will honour a valid claim. Grrrrr ...... bark, bark ...... lick, lick, lick.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Operation for elbow dysphasia Linda Klonowski , 7/10/2018

Our GSD was diagnosed with elbow dysphasia.Petplan paid the referral vet directly following his arthrotomy operation as well as stem cell removal from his bone marrow.This was followed by stem cell injection into his elbow Everything was paid within 2 weeks directly to the vet Cannot fault Petplan It isnít cheap but you do get what you pay for

Company: Petplan   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Pleasantly surprisef Poppy, 5/22/2018

After my dog had an accident , the vets asked who I was insured with, I said animal friends, which I received disapproving looks. Worried I was! After my vet took near in 3 weeks to fill my claim form, I wasnít expecting much from animal friends either. To my surprise text ( without chasing ) saying claim form received. 6 days later email ( again without chasing) saying claim had been paid in full. So canít always judge by reviews, sometime companies read the reviews & improve . I have to say pleasantly surprised and impressed

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: German Shepherd
 
I have a new policy and am very pleased Jenny Elliott, 5/10/2018

I have newly insured my dog and am very pleased. Staff are professional and helpfulwhich is reassuring

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: German Shepherd
 
First time with Lifetime with Pet Cover Flossie, 5/5/2018

I was very easy to obtain a quote, and to confirm our requirements. No claim submitted as yet, so cannot sure the claims process. However, I have no doubt it will be efficient.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Fair Price, quick to pay vet Blue, 4/21/2018

First year with lifetime pet cover for our GSD. HE has had 3 operations, all 3 paid direct to the vets within 10 days each, wish I had taken the higher level.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Terrible tina, 4/20/2018

I can only endorse all the bad reviews here. They have even gone to the length of alleging the claim form took 16 days to reach them and is therefore out of date so they don't have to pay out. We are also taking them to the ombudsman or the small claims court. The latter will take up more of their time and in order to try and get them to improve, that might be the best approach. we have cancelled our policy. would never use them again.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Total Rip Off Mark , 4/15/2018

For those of you considering taking out Pet Insurance, take my advice and AVOID AT ALL COSTS. We submitted 2 claims in March, totalling approximately £480. After numerous delaying tactics, we received 2 cheques a couple of days ago, with deductions of over £200. They deducted a claim for a home visit to our dog (even when when pointed out that our dog couldn't stand up) and was therefore unable to get to the Vets. They also deducted an amount of £39 claiming the vet charged too much, what did they expect us to do, haggle with the vet when he pricing up our Dog's medication?? We have been with Asda pet insurance for over 10 years and have only ever submitted two claims (only ONE was paid out) in that time and this is the way they treat you!! I would also like to point out that they denied receiving numerous E mails I had sent them, despite them sending me an automated response saying they would get back to me as soon as possible?? From reading other reviews, clearly I'm NOT ALONE in my opinions of this Company! Don't go near them.

Company: ASDA   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Reasonable Renewal Kerry, 4/6/2018

This is the first renewal I have had with LPC and thankfully they have been really sensible with the increase in price on the policy. To date I have been fortunate enough not to have made a claim and therefore I cannot comment on how they perform as a company in this respect. However they are very courteous with emails when purchasing a policy and check to see that all documents have been received etc. All good so far :-)

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Awful - do not use Petplan Spencer Mabley, 2/13/2018

PetPlan are not the company they claim to be. My dog was diagnosed with a skin allergy in September 2018 and requires monthly medication. Petplan then refuse to pay placing an exclusion on the policy as she had a scratched nose in November 2015 which was a single visit to the vet to make sure it was ok and no further treatment was needed. Even my vet got involved and supported me but Petplan refuse to budge. Petplan will use any excuse to avoid paying but are happy to take your premium. I referred the matter to the financial ombudsman who are powerless to assist as insurers can randomly throw exclusions around at will.

Company: Petplan   Breed: German Shepherd
 
1st Class Janet Smith - Zeus, 2/6/2018

Great insurance to have - it takes the worry and time out of sorting claim forms out - The vets being able to submit claims is great and hassle free! Zeus is all better and hopefully we wont have a visit to the vets too soon !

Company: Vetsure   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Emergency Vet Claim James B, 1/30/2018

Out of hours claim for a sunday afternoon. German Shepherd had multiple cuts and a torn corner of the eye. A few areas needed stitching. Submitted the claim on the friday via email with scanned copies of itemised bill from vet and all insurance forms completed and stamped by vet. Treatment amounted to £630.00. Tesco paid out on the friday the following week, no issues or challenges. Only negative was we didnt receive a text or email to confirm receipt or progress of the claim.

Company: Tesco   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Never insure with them Adam savage, 1/19/2018

Do not use them. Been insured for 8 years never made a claim. Until now and they are not paying out. They havenít even spoke to the vet dealing with dog. The company is a joke!!!!!!

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Avoid!! Michelle whiting, 1/11/2018

After using E&L for all my pets over the years having no problems this time having claimed I am shocked at the outcome to the claim, my gsd got a virus and was in the vets for 3 days on a drip and having tests and the vets have put down on the claim form gastroenteritis. E&L have after 7 months decided yes they will pay out but they sent me a letter saying that because of this after 365 days my gsd whole digestive system will no longer be covered,I did ring them up to ask why this was as in my opinion this was unfair decision considering it was just gastro and what if later on in his years something god forbid bad was to happen or he swallowed something not saying he would but you never no, he would not be covered and if I don't have the money to pay for it what is to happen he dies, the answer I was given was YES sorry. I could not believe what I was hearing so asked when does my policy end luckily it's in 3 months so told them to cancel it after then.

Company: E & L   Breed: German Shepherd
 
One dog two kittens June T., 12/29/2017

I had to make an emergency claim back in July 2016 for my 9 year old German Shepherd Lucy (Pyometra) who eventually made a full recovery the claim was dealt with very quickly and to my surprise no big hike in her insurance premium, all in all I have now insured my two kittens with LTC and my monthly payments come to £56 92 for all three which I am very happy with.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: German Shepherd
 
On going issues with claim Stuart, 12/22/2017

On going issues with my claim - my initial follow up enquiries with them do not fill me with confidence that Petplan is reputable nor operates with integrity. I will ensure multiple reviews are appended to provide a true reflection of how this company operates ......

Company: Petplan   Breed: German Shepherd
 
Awful corresponders Stokes, 11/24/2017

Petplan lie about everything

Company: Petplan   Breed: German Shepherd
 
New Customer Martin, 11/24/2017

Only went with as cheaper than my renewal for same cover, not had to communicate so cannot comment on customer service. (hope I don't have to call in all honesty)

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: German Shepherd
 
New policy holder TM, 11/10/2017

When Woody, our rescue German Shepherd become ours a dog insurance was needed. As past dog owner, I wanted to change our insurance company for a smaller entity. Lifetime Pet Cover exceeded my expectations. Hopefully, Woody will have a long and healthy life and Lifetime will live up to its promises.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: German Shepherd
 



Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016