pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

View Reviews
By Breed

DO NOT BUY THIS INSURANCE - Argos
smiler, 15 February 2017

I have had dog insurance with Argos for 7 years. For the first 5 years the premium was "ok". When my dog became 6 years old my insurance premiums sky rocketed by 24 a month rise. They went from 34 a month to 55 a month (21 a month increase). I have just received my renewal for this year and my dog is now 7 years old (my dog is extremely healthy and I have not claimed for her) and my new premium is 83 a month. That's an increase of 28 per month for a healthy dog I have never claimed for. In two years my monthly premiums have increased by 52 per month from 34 per month to 83 per month for a cross breed healthy dog. It is an absolute rip off. They want to insure your dog when its young but when it becomes "middle aged" they hike your insurance up so much you cant actually afford to pay it so they then don't have "hassle" of insuring a older dog along with the risk of the problems that come with older dogs. My advice is STAY WELL AWAY FROM THIS INSURANCE COMPANY and go to an insurance company that does not completely rip you off.

85% increase in premium on healthy 5 year old dog - John Lewis
Tan W, 13 February 2017

After taking out a lifetime policy on a young dog and having one claim for an isolated incident of five hundred pounds they have trebled my monthly premium, an increase of 85% on a dog with no health issues. Absolutely disgusting! Our previous dog that died last year was also insured with John Lewis who repeatedly lost claim forms and took up to 7 weeks to pay after quibbling over every detail.

Popular Insurers

  Vets MediCover  

  Vetsure  

  Petplan  

  The Kennel Club  

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story

Click.Compare.Save


Enter your postal code to find the best deals in your area:



Complete Reassurance - Vetsure
Marshall, 9 February 2017

As a Veterinary Nurse, I had total peace of mind with Vetsure! Amazing cover at such a reasonable price. So good that I could also tailor my cats policy to suit our needs. I will definitely be recommending Vetsure to all!

Not bad regardless of the bad reviews - Pet-insurance.co.uk
Mr Millward, 9 February 2017

Hi all, cut a long story short our american bulldog puppy ate something she really shouldn't of a piece of rubber toy. It got lodged and needed 2000 surgery immediately. Filled the forms out with the vets did the surgery and after care then the vets sent the forms away for us to claim for the money. Payment was accepted promptly and i was informed via email, however i did get an email very quickly after it was paid out to say they wouldn't cover this again and have altered the policy (i thought lifetime cover was lifetime cover). The only niggle i had, they even rang me up and explained i was paying for some benefits i didn't need and it could bring my premiums down.

Made great savings - Lifetime Pet Cover
Martin Burns, 8 February 2017

Was with Sainsbury pet insurance for 10yrs, premiums was getting ridiculous. Never once claimed and was recieving less insurance, So now with lifetime pet cover , very happy with the cost of my dogs policy, just hope they appreciate my custom.

Claims - LV
Raffait, 8 February 2017

Beware Liverpool Victoria Pet Insurance. If you have ever taken your dog abroad in the EC on a Pet Passport, they will invalidate any claim you make on your policy unless you can provide evidence in the form of a report from the EC Vet you used to get your dog's Tapeworm Treatment tablet, which you have to do under DEFRA conditions before you can take your dog back home to the UK. The Vet's stamp in your Pet Passport is not sufficient evidence, so you have to get a written, stamped and certified statement from the EC Vet you used of the treatment they gave and the health assessment they made of your dog, otherwise Liverpool Victoria will reject your claim. I have used 7 French Vets over the past 7 years, and as they were unable to supply LV with such a report, my claim was rejected. This has happened to me on the only claim I have made on my policy in 7 years, and I have had to lodge an official complaint with the Financial Services Ombudsman.

Save your money..... - Animal Friends
Neil Evans, 4 February 2017

In November 2016 my Bichon got poked in the eye with something that caused a small ulcer in the centre of his LEFT eye. He had some treatment. A week later he was taken back to the Vet who said it was well on the mend with no problems and no further treatment needed. The bill came to just under 200. A 99 excess would give us back around 100. In mid January, my insurers Animal Friends , informed me that on the basis that over a year previously, he suffered mild conjunctivitis in his RIGHT eye, they did not cover pre existing conditions and would not pay out and would also now add exclusion to the policy for any subsequent eye or sight conditions. They also took the opportunity to inform me that they had noticed that in 2015 the vet had noted a very small heart murmur, ( requiring no cause for concern or treatment), and they would therefore apply an exclusion for any future heart conditions. I telephoned them and explained that the conjunctivitis in his right eye in 2015 and the ulcer in his left eye in 2016 were not connected in any way. They said that if the vet would contact them, they would review the decision. I spoke to the vet who kindly contacted them confirming the 2 conditions were not connected. In February 2017 I telephoned them to get an update and they said that the decision had been reviewed and overturned and they would be paying out, but only around 23 as during this time, the policy had automatically renewed and a further 99 excess would be applied. My advice to anybody considering pet insurance....dont bother, you would be far better off getting an interest free period credit card kept solely for the dogs possible medical needs. Insurance companies will only increase premiums every year, gradually exclude conditions as it gets older and continue to word their policies so tightly with conditions, that you have more chance of being made the next Pope than being paid out fully on a claim. Save your money.

French bulldog - Marks & Spencer
Aisling Bryan, 4 February 2017

My query with you has been going on since 11/10/2016, my dog was castrated, the vet did an x Ray of his mouth we didn't know about, when we collected him, the receptionist explained how we could claim on our insurance and their wouldn't be a problem their end at the vets, sent claim in M&S said they didn't receive it back to the vets another claim sent in, letter received today saying he has an oral condition, no he has not and the vet will tell you so, if you bothered to listen To what I am saying which you don't, worse customer service ever will I insure again.... NO chance......don't ever insure with them folks quick to take your money, but absolutely don't listen

Massive price hike for renewals despite no claims - Tesco
Julia, 4 February 2017

Despite having made no claims over the last two years my cover has been hiked by over 100% from 195 in 2015 to 420 in 2017, 35 per month, yet if I buy a new policy online it is only 24 per month. I am told this is an online discount for new customers! - what happened to loyalty - they have lost mine

Friendly fast efficient and understanding ! - American Express Pet Insurance
Dawn Rouvray , 31 January 2017

From the moment I contacted them regarding my cat, staff were efficient and understanding. There were no quibbles over payment and they tunderstood that the last thing you want when worried about your cats health is an additional financial worry... Thank you !!

Terrible Sevice - Tesco
Amy, 31 January 2017

Avoid this company, three months later and im still waiting for the refund of 1200.00, they was meant to pay my vet direct however they kept calling me for payment as it was so delayed...I have now paid the vet direct..everytime I call tesco they tell me they are looking into it still.....my dog now needs further treatment so I called them for pre-autherisation and they told me "we can not discuss another claim we settle this one" bloody cheek seeming as they are the ones delaying it...im so angry. I have used Purely Pets before and they was excellent when my dog had a throat operation and paid the vet 3200.00 the day after the operation

Easy set-up - Lifetime Pet Cover
Peter and Jenny, 30 January 2017

Obviously a company is only as good as its claims service which I hope I don't have to use. However dog insurance for my Labradoodle was a significantly cheaper and better cover given that she will soon be nine years old. Its at this age that I think Lifetime cover is really needed. We will recommend this insurer to other dog owners we know. I have given a four only because I have not seen the whole service through to a claim. Thanks








Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2016 PetInsuranceReview