pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

View Reviews
By Breed

Disappointed - John Lewis
Dogowner, 15 June 2017

We have 2 dogs insured with John Lewis. I really believed this would be the best company to insure our dogs with due to the companiesí ethos. However, I was so wrong. Our youngest was diagnosed with epilepsy, who after a few years is now stable. And our oldest girl is generally well, just has some issues with her paws from time to time. Even though we had life time insurance on both dogs the cost of their insurance is now over double. We have just had a bill for Ł1198.00 per year and now waiting for the other bill to come through which was Ł1112.00 last year (for the older dog, who has been to the vets maybe 5 times in her life). Although John Lewis are very good at dealing with claims etc, the cost is outrageous. Think carefully before insuring your pets with this company. We are now unable to move to another insurer and our trapped.

No problem with claiming but high premiums - Sainsburys
Julie W, 12 June 2017

I have a 12 year old bitch Labrador. I have had her since age 3 and always been with Sainsburys. I have been so lucky with her absolutely nothing wrong until the arthritis really got bad last year, and she has been on medication since. I have gradually seen my premiums go up even without any claims, but now the payments are £84 per month Although I do get it back in the cost of the medication. It feels a massive hike in price for just for one year of increased ill health for my dog. I am stuck now as no one else will insure her. But on the other hand they are prompt paying and without fuss. I give a four overall rating because of the customer care, and take off one as the price for that is a lot.

Popular Insurers

  Vets MediCover  

  Vetsure  

  Petplan  

  The Kennel Club  

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story

Click.Compare.Save


Enter your postal code to find the best deals in your area:



disgusted! - Paws & Claws
D Penn, 12 June 2017

Just phoned to say that my pet would be rehomed at end of June due to going overseas and needed to cancel my policy. However as had a claim for £55.31 paid on 16/12/16 and so within this years policy will not be allowed to. Therefore they expect me to pay out 6 x £40 ie £240 before policy up. DISGUSTING!!!!!

New Customer - Lifetime Pet Cover
C Lawler, 9 June 2017

Just switched to LPC after having a bad experience with our past insurance for a cruciate ligament claim (it was all very unclear that anything associated with a cruciate ligament treatment was not covered for the full amount of our vet fees coverage). It looks like LPC is much more straight forward and the two people I have spoken to with questions were very friendly and helpful. Wish I had switched earlier.

Shocking profiteering: premium up by almost 4x - MORE TH>N
Mark, 2 June 2017

Our renewal for accident only cover is nearly 4x what it was last year. When I phoned MoreThan to ask why, I was put on hold because the representative could not understand it either. When she came back to me, I was glibly told me it was £96 because this is the price for next year (!). When I pointed out for a second time that the premium is nearly 4x last year's and we have made no claim, I was told that the prices are 'system driven'. I presume that is MoreThan-speak for 'computer says no'. MoreThan could also not match the £ 58 which I was quoted on comparethemarket this morning for the same policy with them. Worse still, the small print of the renewal says that cruciate ligament damage is no longer included. My labrador has just turned 7 and has no history of any medical problems, bar a cut paw pad sustained due to a broken bottle in the woods (three years ago). I stopped taking full insurance last year because the premiums had gone up to £800-1,000 despite no medical problems with the dog. I think this is a repulsive example of profiteering by an insurance company.

Dreadful Administration - Petplan
Carrie L, 30 May 2017

Petplan Equine are giving me the run-around too over a simple claim for a corneal ulcer in my horse's eye caused by a thorn which entered the eye whilst he was grazing. A simple enough claim! Yet they claim to have lost the vet claim form 3 times, the medical history notes 2 times, and haven't a clue about the continuation claim form I've filed with them 2 times already for my horse's equine hospital stay for treatment for the corneal ulcer. I am close to losing my temper. Don't touch them with a barge pole, yours or anyone else's. They used to be so good, I've given them hundreds of pounds over the years for insurance on various horses, but sadly they've lost the plot. I've no idea where their call centre is, but the accents are foreign and they are not at all helpful. I will be taking them to court if they don't sort themselves out sharpish.

High Yearly Premium Increases - John Lewis
Tina T, 26 May 2017

I started John Lewis insurance for my dog when he was a puppy the premiums then were under £30 a month - unfortunately when he was young he had incomplete ossification of the humeral condyle/intracondylar fissure - my premiums kept increasing each year if I made a claim. This month I have had my renewal my premiums have increased from £80 a month to £140 a month - please be aware if that if you claim your premiums will increase dramatically to the point that in the future you may have a problem affording them and will be unable to change insurer if it is a pre-existing condition

Trapped with no way out - Sainsburys
Stewart @oxon , 25 May 2017

My cocker spaniel has cushings disease at 13 years its a rest of life condition..the tablets are 110 per month. They've just put the premiums up to 82 per month and deduct now 20% from the 110.. leaving about £6 per month.. given I have paid in for all those early years with no claims where's the fairness? Pet plan in future!! A watchdog should get hold of this lot...

Massive excess applied - MORE TH>N
James, 20 May 2017

Life time insurance, no missed payments. Sadly, my dog became ill with auto immune haemolytic anaemia and spent 2 weeks in hospital and eventually died. More Than then applied an excess of over £800 and refused to pay the cost of the dog, despite the fact that she was a young dog. The policy excess is set at £75. I'm extremely puzzled by the huge excess applied and More Than's refusal to pay the purchase cost. I will be taking this further.

Avoid - Go to great lengths not to pay claims - Sainsburys
Kevin, 19 May 2017

I took a policy out for our Labrador in January 2017. At the time I disclosed that in December 2015 he had swallowed a collar while with his litter and needed treatment to pass-it, no exclusions were placed on policy. In February I made a claim after he'd had gastro-enteritis. The claim was rejected on grounds that this was pre-existing condition dating to the December 2015. Our vet contacted insurer to confirm these were two unrelated events but this was ignored - the insurer is clearly better qualified... Spent weeks going through a complaints process, but at each point the "evidence" used to diagnose the pre-existing condition has changed. Apparently, I was also expected to disclose that he'd had several loose faeces at the time we changed from puppy to adult food. This was included on vet's notes as he'd been in for boosters and a health-check soon after and we mentioned this to them. If being a normal dog is treated as a pre-existing condition they will always have grounds to reject claims. Please beware. Looking at other reviews I see this is standard practice to "create" pre-existing conditions from normal events and reject claims.

Great service and would highly recommend to all - Vets Medi Cover
Andrea Snadden , 16 May 2017

Our dog has cancer and she is having chemo, the customer service team were fantastic as I phoned many times checking that we still had enough funds. They were always polite and understanding. We have had no problems what so ever and payments have always been made without a fuss. I would recommend them to anyone and would certainly use them in the future with any other pet.

Exclusions galore and no premium reductions. - Petplan
John Small, 14 May 2017

After 40 minutes on the phone to an Indian call centre, the mention of ailments gets you transferred to the underwriter Allianz. He decides to exclude respiratory conditions because your dog had a cough 2 months ago even though antibiotics cured it within 5 days! I sent Allianz copies of our vets records because our dog is partially sighted as a result of some brute throwing bleach in her eyes. I expected the inevitable exclusion for her eyes, but would you believe it they would not cover us for third party liability because the dog might run across the road without seeing oncoming traffic and cause an accident. Wouldn't most dog owners have their dog on a lead next to a road? And if they didn't, have you ever seen a fully sighted dog look right,left and right again before crossing the road after a cat or squirrel? When I saw they had sneaked into the policy this exclusion, I cancelled. You cant even negotiate a reduced premium with them when they decide only to insure three-quarters of your dog because the rule book decrees that the relevant factors are breed, age and vets fees in your area. They are not to be trusted








Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2016 PetInsuranceReview