pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

View Reviews
By Breed

Massive excess applied - MORE TH>N
James, 20 May 2017

Life time insurance, no missed payments. Sadly, my dog became ill with auto immune haemolytic anaemia and spent 2 weeks in hospital and eventually died. More Than then applied an excess of over £800 and refused to pay the cost of the dog, despite the fact that she was a young dog. The policy excess is set at £75. I'm extremely puzzled by the huge excess applied and More Than's refusal to pay the purchase cost. I will be taking this further.

Avoid - Go to great lengths not to pay claims - Sainsburys
Kevin, 19 May 2017

I took a policy out for our Labrador in January 2017. At the time I disclosed that in December 2015 he had swallowed a collar while with his litter and needed treatment to pass-it, no exclusions were placed on policy. In February I made a claim after he'd had gastro-enteritis. The claim was rejected on grounds that this was pre-existing condition dating to the December 2015. Our vet contacted insurer to confirm these were two unrelated events but this was ignored - the insurer is clearly better qualified... Spent weeks going through a complaints process, but at each point the "evidence" used to diagnose the pre-existing condition has changed. Apparently, I was also expected to disclose that he'd had several loose faeces at the time we changed from puppy to adult food. This was included on vet's notes as he'd been in for boosters and a health-check soon after and we mentioned this to them. If being a normal dog is treated as a pre-existing condition they will always have grounds to reject claims. Please beware. Looking at other reviews I see this is standard practice to "create" pre-existing conditions from normal events and reject claims.

Popular Insurers

  Vets MediCover  

  Vetsure  

  Petplan  

  The Kennel Club  

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story

Click.Compare.Save


Enter your postal code to find the best deals in your area:



Great service and would highly recommend to all - Vets Medi Cover
Andrea Snadden , 16 May 2017

Our dog has cancer and she is having chemo, the customer service team were fantastic as I phoned many times checking that we still had enough funds. They were always polite and understanding. We have had no problems what so ever and payments have always been made without a fuss. I would recommend them to anyone and would certainly use them in the future with any other pet.

Exclusions galore and no premium reductions. - Petplan
John Small, 14 May 2017

After 40 minutes on the phone to an Indian call centre, the mention of ailments gets you transferred to the underwriter Allianz. He decides to exclude respiratory conditions because your dog had a cough 2 months ago even though antibiotics cured it within 5 days! I sent Allianz copies of our vets records because our dog is partially sighted as a result of some brute throwing bleach in her eyes. I expected the inevitable exclusion for her eyes, but would you believe it they would not cover us for third party liability because the dog might run across the road without seeing oncoming traffic and cause an accident. Wouldn't most dog owners have their dog on a lead next to a road? And if they didn't, have you ever seen a fully sighted dog look right,left and right again before crossing the road after a cat or squirrel? When I saw they had sneaked into the policy this exclusion, I cancelled. You cant even negotiate a reduced premium with them when they decide only to insure three-quarters of your dog because the rule book decrees that the relevant factors are breed, age and vets fees in your area. They are not to be trusted

Very disappointed by John Lewis 54% premium incre - John Lewis
Jude Farrimond-Sheddon, 9 May 2017

We took out pet insurance with John Lewis for our young border collie. We had to claim on it in the first 12 months as he developed meningitis. When our renewal came through it had gone up by several pounds but as we'd had a 20% discount on the first year we found that perfectly acceptable. This year (he's 3) it's gone up by 54% (£15 a month). JL say he's older, Ins premium tax has increased, vets fees have increased & when pushed claims history (but that was there last year!) I've asked for a full breakdown of the 55% increase. I've been a one woman walking advertisement for JL Pet Insurance as they were so helpful when we had to claim for our dog's hospital & vet fees but I certainly will make sure everybody knows about this whopping increase too! What's so unfair is that if you've already claimed for a condition you are a captive customer...very disappointed with John Lewis Pet Insurance. As an added insult it has cost us £41.28 to change the address on the policy!

Disgusted at heartless, unhelpful staff - Animal Friends
Charlotte Cheetham, 8 May 2017

Our labrador had to be out down over a month ago and straight afterwards I rang Animal Friends to inform them. They only pay out £99 for euthanasia so I was unable to make a claim after my excess amount was paid. I cancelled the policy but was still charged for the monthly premium 2 weeks later. After informing them of their mistake they apologised and promised to close the policy and repay the amount taken from my account. I am still waiting for the money and had a surly young woman on the phone who told me that the refund has not yet been processed and was unable to let me know when or whether it would be processed. I would advise that you seriously consider other Pet Insurance Providers before taking out pet insurance.

Fab service - Sainsburys
Kay Jackson, 5 May 2017

Just want to say that Sainsbury is the best pet insurer I have ever had. Very quick, fair and thorough. Piece of mind

Charlie - Vetsure
Charlie, 26 April 2017

“Dear Vetsure Team, I wanted to say a huge thank you to everyone at Vetsure for facilitating our recent claim. As Charlie is a rescue dog, I thought it would be prudent to take out a good policy in case of the unforeseen happening. I’m glad I did. He has recently been through some difficult treatment for a degenerative eye condition which was very uncomfortable for him and extremely worrying for me. Vetsure dealt with my vets and the eye specialist efficiently and promptly, removing additional worry from me. Charlie has the all clear for now and fingers crossed there’s a long gap before the next degenerative step occurs. Thank you Vetsure, I’m so glad I chose you as my pet insurers.” – Charlie’s Mum

price jump - John Lewis
E.B.H, 24 April 2017

insuring my labrador retriever at three years of age for lifetime insurance gave a very comparable quote of £29 per month. The renewal, a year later, jumped to £48 per month, even though I had never made a claim. Needless to say, I chose to no loonger use John Lewis Pet Insurance.

Excellent company - MORE TH>N
Mrs Lee , 22 April 2017

I have had my Lhasa apso very ill since 2nd Feb he is know on the mend and my vets submitted Thier bill to More Than and it was paid without any dispute .. I've had no worries . More than have been excellent and i would highly recommend them ..

Do not choose this company! - Petpals Direct
Georgia Roberts , 20 April 2017

Honestly nothing but trouble with the company, so very upset! My parents are the ones who pay out for the insurance but I am writing on behalf of them too who are also distraught. We had a bullmastiff which apparently is hard to get pet insurance with this breed because apparently they are known as aggressive dogs. Couldn't disagree more I had her since the start of secondary and she was the softest dog ever, everyone that knew her loved her a lot and sadly we had to get her put down due to cancer. Our form says we can claim back on this. We don't have a lot on money as it is so I used my student loan to help with the costs so my parents weren't out of pocket for the month. Due to the form saying we can claim the money back for cancer my parents said they can pay be back once it had all been processed. The form also said we can claim a bit back for euthanasia, however just got the form back today and they are saying we can not claim for anything, I think we have ended up spending £400 - £500, this is a lot for us to just fork out that's half my dads wages for the month, luckily I could help them out and am not desperate for the money back. Before this Roxy also got pyometra which we was told you could also claim for, if I remember this cost £1000-£2000 in total for all the care, injections and the operation, that is a lot of money that again we had to fork out. They said that we couldn't claim as we didn't get her spade, but what if we wanted to breed her? Not that we was planning too. Also now we are still having to pay monthly installments to pay back for that operation. I advise all you pet owners that love your pet to spend a little more a month and get with a better pet insurance. Wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy!

Yearly Policy increases! - Tesco
Mary Dempsey, 18 April 2017

I cannot comment on Tesco claims service because my dog is in good health. What I would like to do is pass on a comment on is the annual increase in charges. My dog is 10 years old and fortunately in good health. I have been with Tesco Premier package for the last 9 years. Last year I had to cancel and renew my policy to get the same price for considerable less than the renewable quote. This year my policy increase was just over 41%. Unbelievable, I Have made no claims. Upon my telephone call I was offered a 5% reduction on the renewable quote. Whilst I except some sort of increase I feel that 41% was very unreasonable. In order to reduce the amount I had to considerable increase my access. Shame on Tesco for treating loyal customers with unreasonable increases.








Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2016 PetInsuranceReview