pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

View Reviews
By Breed

Slow Claim Payment - Pet-insurance.co.uk
JS , 9 March 2017

I would urge anyone considering taking out a policy not to bother. My dog had an operation two months ago and we are still waiting for a payment. READ the policy- the premium may seem competitive but we have to pay 150 excess and 20% of the claim. The company are always pleasant when you ring up to chase but they can never give you an answer as to when you will receive the money, it's always just being passed to someone else. I am furious that having had my dog for ten years and never having made an insurance claim that I am having to experience this poor level of service.

Bad - helpucover
Olla, 6 March 2017

They have just canceled my policy after I claimed 300 due to more than 5 exclusions, My dog is healthy but has broken her leg. Now according to them, she has kidney problems, diabetes, urinal problems, has damaged someone else property and is dangerous. I am not taking the letter to my solicitor, it is ridiculous.

Popular Insurers

  Vets MediCover  

  Vetsure  

  Petplan  

  The Kennel Club  

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story

Click.Compare.Save


Enter your postal code to find the best deals in your area:



A great pet insurance company - Lifetime Pet Cover
Pamela Jones, 5 March 2017

I transferred insurance for my dog to LVC after the renewal quote from my previous insurer came through at an astronomical increase following a cruciate repair claim in the policy year. I have been extremely impressed with LVC and the level of cover, they will even reinstate cover for an excluded condition if there has been no re-occurrence in 2 years which I think is great. My dog was diagnosed with Caudal Cervical Spondymyelopathy in August last year and we now have an on-going condition that we are claiming for. LVC have been very quick to settle all my claims (paid to 3 different veterinary practices) and my premium for this year hadn't increased dramatically at policy renewal. A refreshing pet insurance company to deal with.

Bad treatment of long standing customer - Tesco
Lizzie, 4 March 2017

Received my annual renewal. My insurance premium has gone from 78 to 173 in last two years. I have been with Tesco pet insurance for 15 years and am dismayed by my treatment. I have spoken to them twice about what they can do to help me which is very little. They offered to double my excess to reduce my monthly premium and then offered me a discount of 11 which is laughable! I haven't made any claims since a claim for 180 in 2015. They would rather lose me as a customer than assist me. I now have to shop around and given my 2 dogs are 9 that is not easy. Tesco fell me I have 2 designer dogs. They are cavalier spaniels so I don't think so! No more designer than a Labrador !

Disappointed with our latest claim - Animal Friends
CJ De Villiers, 1 March 2017

################

Uncertain - John Lewis
Jean, 27 February 2017

I was just about to make my first claim of 190 but am wondering now if it's better not to bother as they will increase premiums next year . My dog is 18 months old and I currently pay 29 p month

Positive experience ! - Sainsburys
Lennard Du Toit, 23 February 2017

My 8 year old dog (boxer X American bulldog) had 2 surgeries in 1 week. One was to remove a mast cell tumor and the other one was to remove periodontal disease. The total bill was 1,900 and I was really stressing about not getting the money from sainsbury's pet insurance as I was reading all these bad reviews online. I mailed them the claim and literally within 5 days I had a cheque through the mailbox for 1,575. The rest was obviously excess etc. I would say that if you know your insurance is 100% up to date, especially if you had insurance since the dog was a puppy, then you would be fine. Do not fall for all these negative reviews ! PS. Obviously your monthly payments will go up as the dog gets older, so dont freak out about this when it actually happens.

Lindy - Lifetime Pet Cover
Jenifer, 21 February 2017

I've only just changed to Lifetime Pet Cover as their premium is Ł100 cheaper than my previous provider, and with better cover. It was easy to set up and my rating will reflect this....so far. Obviously the main test will be if (hopefully not) I have to make a claim.

Great service from Tesco Pet insurance - Tesco
Julia Catelain , 20 February 2017

Have been very impressed and happy with the service offered by Tesco.Our cat was diagnosed with malignant melanoma, and treatment to try and save her cost the full insurance value. There was no delay in paying out, a very small increase in the renewal premium, and a very sympathetic letter when we lost her. I would highly recommend them, and will definitely be using them again in the future.

PetPlan Insurance - Petplan
Saska, 19 February 2017

My oldest cat - 9 years old in May has been insured with PP since he re-homed him. Over close to 9 years,we've paid nearly 2500 in insurance. He recently had to have treatment for Systitis - Vet's bill = 199.24. We made a claim & received 68.19 = 34% of the cost. We know that since our cat is 7 years old now,there was an excess to pay,but we expected the fee minus the excess. If you look at the PP page regarding ''how PP premiums are calculated'',there's no full description at all of how it's calculated.

steer clear of animal friends - Animal Friends
Julie, 18 February 2017

insured my puppy the day after his previous puppy insurance expired and was told there was a 14 day waiting period which I understand. However on the 15th day ( out of the 14 day waiting period) he was playfighting with other dog and was diagnosed with cherry eye a couple of days after this again through playing his other eye want i paid for the surgery however they refused to pay saying it was on the 14th day when it was not and gave now excluded his eyes and sight from any other claims. really not happy with this cancelled both policies i had with them for both my dogs and have now complained.

DO NOT BUY THIS INSURANCE - Argos
smiler, 15 February 2017

I have had dog insurance with Argos for 7 years. For the first 5 years the premium was "ok". When my dog became 6 years old my insurance premiums sky rocketed by 24 a month rise. They went from 34 a month to 55 a month (21 a month increase). I have just received my renewal for this year and my dog is now 7 years old (my dog is extremely healthy and I have not claimed for her) and my new premium is 83 a month. That's an increase of 28 per month for a healthy dog I have never claimed for. In two years my monthly premiums have increased by 52 per month from 34 per month to 83 per month for a cross breed healthy dog. It is an absolute rip off. They want to insure your dog when its young but when it becomes "middle aged" they hike your insurance up so much you cant actually afford to pay it so they then don't have "hassle" of insuring a older dog along with the risk of the problems that come with older dogs. My advice is STAY WELL AWAY FROM THIS INSURANCE COMPANY and go to an insurance company that does not completely rip you off.








Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2016 PetInsuranceReview