pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
Read unbiased reviews of pet insurance companies from their customers.


  Jump to a company   View all pet insurers  


Recent Reviews

View Reviews
By Breed

Very pleased indeed! - ASDA
Ted, 14 April 2018

I am sitting here reading these reviews and am shocked by the ratings. I can only speak from my experience but I have been DELIGHTED with the policy. We have both our dogs covered with them and get money off our premiums for this. We have the superior lifetime cover of £7500. Our dog became ill last year with vomiting. Appointment at vet which quickly led to an emergency operation as they thought he had a blockage. 24 hours after op he was transferred to specialist vet hospital as there was concern he had a neurological issue. Thankfully not but because he had abdominal surgery he ended up with ileus. He stopped eating all together and had to have a feeding tube fitted. Thankfully he fully recovered but it was the worst couple of weeks of our lives! Total bill between vets and specialist hospital was nearly £5000. I rang the insurance, they sent me a claim form, I put minimal info on, took one to vet and one to hospital and only got notified by specialist hospital of outstanding amoun following the settlement they had received from the insurance. All I had to pay was £75 excess and £30ish for specialist food. Simple as that! I worried that my premium would go through the roof on renewal but was happy to find the annual premium had gone up by £48 for the year but our other dogs premium went down by £20 for the year. Even if I had paid this premium for the whole of our dogs life, it wouldn’t have cost me as much as this 1 claim. I think a couple of these reviews could be down to people not knowing exactly what level of cover they have and knowing what is included/excluded in policy.

Fantastic and empathetic - Direct Line
Maisie, Lacey, , 14 April 2018

I have been with direct line for many years and have lost three dogs. they have always been quick payments, easy to talk to and above all empathetic. I probably could get my insurance cheaper elsewhere but wouldn't even consider it. Our Boxer dog recently died at the age of 3 and a half from a sudden heart condition. Direct line paid out £7,500 with no problems. Well done Direct Line and thank you.

Popular Insurers

  Vets MediCover  

  Vetsure  

  Petplan  

  The Kennel Club  

Already Own Pet Insurance?

We want to hear from you: the good, the bad & the ugly!

Help other pet owners decide which pet cover is best for them.

>> Share your story

Click.Compare.Save


Enter your postal code to find the best deals in your area:



Kim maddox - E & L
4, 10 April 2018

I have read a lot of reviews for this insurance co but I have to say that although they are not the quickest to pay I have had no problems with them . When I have called them the staff have been very polite and helpful and I have received payments from them. So all in all I am satisfied

Superb - Vetsure
Bella, 9 April 2018

I would highly recommend Vetsure

Can highly recommend - Vetsure
Melody Hirst, 7 April 2018

Best insurance company ever! Very slick! No qibble!i have been with them for 3 years now and will continue to do so! Very happy 😊

Seems very good, - Lifetime Pet Cover
Katie, 6 April 2018

Have not had to make a claim yet, and hope, that I won’t, it was a very comprehensive cover for the price paid, compared to other lifetime policies. I’m happy so far!

Efficient - Vetsure
Mr Paul Kennedy, 6 April 2018

Quality efficiency

Friendly people on the phone - Lifetime Pet Cover
Sophie, 6 April 2018

We have started off well. Hope this continues

Seem to be thoughtful and considerate. - Lifetime Pet Cover
Sophie, 6 April 2018

I have just started a new policy with Lifetime. At the moment everything seems to be going well. Fingers crossed I don't have to claim.

Reasonable Renewal - Lifetime Pet Cover
Kerry, 6 April 2018

This is the first renewal I have had with LPC and thankfully they have been really sensible with the increase in price on the policy. To date I have been fortunate enough not to have made a claim and therefore I cannot comment on how they perform as a company in this respect. However they are very courteous with emails when purchasing a policy and check to see that all documents have been received etc. All good so far :-)

Lifeline - Vetsure
Steed, 5 April 2018

Our Jack Russell/beagle had to be treated as an out of hours emergency(very late on a Friday night) at a different surgery that handles all the out of hours patients of our regular surgery. I expected a long drawn out claim procedure as the claim wouldn't be paid to our own vet,also wasn't sure that the situation he got himself in would be accepted as an emergency. We had to pay the full amount due then claim back from vetsure. However the claim was settled almost before the ink dried! Repayment, after the statutory excess was deducted,went into our account without any quibbles. Never before have I been so impressed with an insurance company! Thankyou vetsure, would definitely recommend you to others

SUPERB - Vetsure
Alison parsons, 5 April 2018

I have 10+ lurchers all insured with vetsure and thankgod I have as this year I have had to claim 3 times already .The claims team are all very lovely especially Emily ( as dealt with her every time) . Straight forward form filling , pay the excess and the rest is dealt with directly with your vet. Never had any problems so far with this company would highly recommend as they provide accident only cover which means boosters etc are not needed so you can still claim. Great communication follow up emails etc . I have had to claim twice now in 3 months with one dog and both times all was dealt with smoothly. Thanks guys from all of us xx








Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>



 

Copyright © 2016 PetInsuranceReview