pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  
 
VetsMediCover pet insurance

240b Lichfield Road
Four Oaks
Sutton Coldfield
West Midlands
B74 2UD

phone: 0121 308 8685
website: http://www.vetsmedicover.co.uk/

Pet insurance company launched in 2009 offering four plans: silver, gold, platinum and diamond. VetsMediCover offer 10% discount to new customers and in some cases pre-existing conditions can be covered. Terms and conditions apply.

User Rating
4.4
out of 5

add your review


Visit Website

Reviews of VetsMediCover pet insurance

5/5   Excellent Customer Service   10 July 2017

Reviewed By: Patricia, Recommend:

The customer service when I had to contact the company was excellent.The insurance was easy to buy online and very competitively priced. I will use this company in the future.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent cover   30 June 2017

Reviewed By: Esther, Recommend:

I had only had the cover for a month or so when my siamese kitten developed a cough. This required multiple investigations and referral to a specialist centre. The cost of this has all been covered without argument by vetsmedicover. This has made a stressful period a little less so. I have used a number of insurance companies over the years for pet insurance and it is only when you get to claim that they are put to the test. I will be using vetsmedicover for my other pets in the future. Thanks.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Great service and would highly recommend to all   16 May 2017

Reviewed By: Andrea Snadden , Recommend:

Our dog has cancer and she is having chemo, the customer service team were fantastic as I phoned many times checking that we still had enough funds. They were always polite and understanding. We have had no problems what so ever and payments have always been made without a fuss. I would recommend them to anyone and would certainly use them in the future with any other pet.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Reputable Insurer with helpful staff   25 April 2017

Reviewed By: Karen Wilkinson, Recommend:

Unfortunately I had to make a claim as my dog developed osteoarthritis at less than 3 years of age. The policy documents are clearly worded.The claim was dealt with fairly and the company paid the vets directly. The staff that I dealt with on the telephone were pleasant, explained what I needed to know and what to do.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Worth it.   15 March 2017

Reviewed By: Charlotte Hill, Recommend:

I have had VetsMediCover for my 2 cats for some years now and choose to have a high level of cover. Although many would consider this expensive I believe it is worth it as you never know what is round the corner. The premiums are quite competitive and with pet insurance never go for the cheapest, it will open a whole world of disappointment. As a retired vet nurse I know only too well how much treatment can cost whether it's an emergency or a chronic disease. I have only had to claim once when one of my cats had to have extractions and treatment due to an underlying dental condition. It was easy to sort out with VetsMediCover and renewing my policy every year is very easy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Impressive   10 March 2017

Reviewed By: Jonathan Burton, Recommend:

I have been very impressed with VetsMedicover. My dog has a chronic condition (Addison's disease) that has meant both emergency hospitalisation twice this year plus expensive medication for life. They have paid promptly and without disputing it. When there has been some areas not covered it has been reasoable and in line with the policy. Their claims processing is also prompt and helpful

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   recommeded!   10 October 2016

Reviewed By: J Vazquez, Recommend:

My dog was insured always with this company and I had no complaints at all, only that it started quite reasonably priced and got a bit expensive, but they giuve a wonderful customer service and they pay quickly

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Helpful and Covered the claim in reasonable time.   26 September 2016

Reviewed By: Karen W., Recommend: Y

Tommy was diagnosed with osteoarthritis, after X-rays and samples of blood and cartilage were taken, a few months after I took out pet insurance with Vets Medi Cover. They have kept me informed by email and agreed to pay the full claim. In addition they told me to contact them if he needed any further treatment. I found them helpful and professional and would recommend them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Pleased we took Cover   3 September 2016

Reviewed By: B Reynolds, Recommend:

Our rottweiler was hitting the older dog mark and it was difficult trying to get an insurance that we thought would be good value and give good cover. Read the reviews on vetsmedi and insured with them. Then we had bad luck with our otherwise very healthy dog, as he went and did his cruciate ligament in after only a few months cover with vetsmedi. Need not have worried as from beginning to end of our claim and our dogs operation it went very smoothly and no stress. Pleased and will reinsure with them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Thank you   1 September 2016

Reviewed By: Daisy, Recommend:

Thank you so much for the brilliant service you were more than sympathetic and Sarah was genuine, kind and supportive. It's great to know there is such good service at the end of the phone call. We have been recommending you to all of our friends!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent Customer Service   15 August 2016

Reviewed By: Lola, Recommend:

Just wanted to say that I notice from my bank statements that the claims for Lola have now been paid. Also, I wanted to thank you for the way you dealt with the slight hiccup with the claims which spanned the change of your underwriters, the way you dealt with it was friendly and really excellent customer service. Thank you

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Good Experience   29 June 2016

Reviewed By: Claudia , Recommend:

My experience with this pet insurance has been excellent, from customer care to claims handling. I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. They contribute towards dental treatment, which is inevitable at some time in our pet's life, they also help with existing conditions if not treated over the last 2 years, which is also something most insurances don't cover. I would always recommend to choose a lifetime cover for your own peaces of mind.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Staggering and indefensible price increase   27 June 2016

Reviewed By: Jon, Recommend:

My experience at the beginning was good, and at the end of the first year the premium went up c. 4.5% which seemed fair. However then I started to regret signing up with them, the premium increased by nearly 22% for a lesser level of cover (so like-for-like it would have been significantly more than this); and I have now just had the renewal premium through and the increase on last year is 30%!! This gives an increase over just three years of over 65%, and for a lesser policy than the original...scandalous. And before anyone asks we have made no claims.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Woof! Thank you   10 June 2016

Reviewed By: Camilla Jackson, Recommend:

Thanks very much for your help, great service throughout. Would defiantly recommend VetsMedi Cover. Thanks again... woof

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Lovely!   3 March 2016

Reviewed By: Erica Marsh, Recommend:

Lovely people, thanks so much for your help! It's amazing when things work as they should. Thank you.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Service good priced our of using them   1 February 2016

Reviewed By: Smoyes, Recommend:

I went with this company due to the reviews, but that was 3 years ago and since then they have put the price up every year, and not by a small amount, it started as about £25 but it is now £97 this year, and on top of that, I have to pay 20% for her condition which was diagnosed after I took out their insurance as well as them putting a ceiling of £3000 in total for the rest of her life for that condition and this is despite her only being 4, and they had the audacity to make it sound like they were doing me a big favour by doing all this, based on all of this there is no reason for me to stay with them, as it would be more affordable if I put the money away, although what I intend to do is find an alternative insurance that will cover her for everything except her existing condition. Please be warned I am not the only person they have done this to, they do this to all their customers

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Completely agree with you, they have gradually increased my dogs insurance over the past few years, its increased from around £25.00 to £56.00 and I have only claimed once in the past 2 years and like you had to pay 20% of the cost....daylight robbery!!

comment by: Joanna Gordon, 30 March 2017
 
 I went with this company 4 years ago after being impressed by their reviews. However, I have also had the experience of them putting up prices by a considerable amount each year in spite of the fact that I have made no claims. In light of this I have decided to search for an alternative policy which will be more affordable.

comment by: Susan, 29 June 2016
 
 Lifetime cover isn't quite that. Everytime they change underwriters, which has been about 4 times in the last 5 years they recharge you an excess fee for continuing cover, I have paid 3 excess fees on the same condition - plus the premiums just shoot up. Mine went up 300% in 2 years despite claiming less than I had payed in premiums. Wish I could move. will never use them for my other pets.

comment by: Graeme, 10 June 2016
 
 I agree with this review and how can Vets Medicover blame the previous underwiters. the new underwriters are just as bad. My dogs insurance is now £139 for a 5 year old dog and she no longer has lifetime cover. a ceiling of £3000 for each condition we have claimed for is now on this policy. I also rang Vets Medicover today who were most unhelpful and unsympathetic.

comment by: Carole, 21 March 2016
 
 I have just had exactly the same experience as you. I am extremely disappointed and will not be staying with Vets MediCove after this treatment.

comment by: Lily, 11 March 2016
 
 So sorry you have been caught up in the mess that our previous underwriter caused. We have managed to obtain cover for the policies that they refused to cover. In two years if the pre-existing condition has healed, you will be back on the higher level of cover. Please if this does happen, come back to us. Price increases are never desirable but this is to be expected with all pet insurers in the event of claims. However, we sometimes also reduce our prices when the problem settles down. We… (read more)

comment by: Francesca , 2 March 2016
 
5/5   Thank you   15 January 2016

Reviewed By: Hilary Michael, Recommend:

I was so upset when we had to take Duke to the vets for his persistent vomitting. He had been really quiet for a few hours, couldn't hold any water and then kept being sick. Turns out he had eaten my son's toy and it had got lodged in his tummy. VetsMediCover were brilliant at handling the claim, they even cover silly gorgeous dogs! Great, thanks so much.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   A Human Voice   30 December 2015

Reviewed By: Barry Parnell, Recommend:

I first insured with VMC with our Wire Fox Terrier, Holly roughly 3 years ago. The process was simple, professional and affordable for their Diamond Cover giving me peace of mind should anything go wrong....and oh boy, did it go wrong within months of Holly's arrival. She developed chronic Atopic Dermatitis and for the past 2.5 years has attended Bristol Small Animal Hospital for numerous treatment. I am delighted to say her condition is under control but the worry and stress her suffering caused us was assisted greatly by the staff of VMC who dealt with each and every claim for her treatment promptly and without quibble,dealing directly with our local Vets and the animal hospital removing the need for us to have to worry about doing so and keeping track of the bills. I thought this was more than enough to recommend this company by but....19 months ago a Wire Fox Terrier Puppy came into our lives, I immediately insured him with VMC.... on 14th December 2015 he died in my arms from the most aggressive form of bone cancer a canine can contract...Bramley went from a perfect puppy to the Crematorium in just 4.5 weeks.....we are devastated! However once again VetsMediCover have been our rock in dealing with his emergency diagnosis, what little treatment was available and now his euthanasia and death benefits all mostly taken care of for us without us having to deal with the hospital and vet on top of our raw grief. VetsMediCover are a human voice at the end of the phone who genuinely appear to care about their customers and their pets. I cannot recommend the company, their customer service and their Diamond Policy highly enough....last weekend my dearest friend turned up at my home with an 8 week old Wire Fox Terrier puppy, to 'help' me through my grief. I'm not ready for him so soon after my precious boy BUT he's here and we will love him unconditionally....and above all insure him with VetsMediCover for his future life...welcome to your new home.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   So Grateful!!   11 December 2015

Reviewed By: Danuta , Recommend:

We are so grateful to vetsmedi for getting our claim paid! It's been a stressfull time with both doggies getting poorly at the same time and then we thought there would be some issues with the claim but they have been so helpful on the phone. Always getting back to us and chasing the vets for information that they need. I would recommend them to anyone for their amazing service!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Great People   17 November 2015

Reviewed By: Steven Alderton, Recommend:

It's a shame that these days good service feels unexpected. Dealing with actual people not robots, who answer the phone and talk to you honestly is really refreshing. VetsMediCover have been friendly and supportive every step of the way. Their prices are reasonable considering all the treatment Rolo has had.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Hiccups resolved by lovely staff   5 November 2015

Reviewed By: Mr Burton, Recommend:

Dear Sarah, Just wanted to say that I notice from my bank statements that the claims for Lola have now been paid. Also, I wanted to thank you for the way you dealt with the slight hiccup with the claims which spanned the change of your underwriters, the way you dealt with it was friendly and really excellent customer service. Thank you Mr Burton

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Not lifetime cover   2 November 2015

Reviewed By: Kerry , Recommend:

Their insured for life is a complete lie. Had my policy for 5years and up until now I have recommended this company. However, i have just had through my dogs renewal, policy premium more that doubled but even worse is they have limited the cover available for a pre-existing irritable bowel condition. I would never have taken the policy if i had known they would change the insurance conditions. At 9years old I have no chance of finding affordable cover for life for my dog. I am now telling friends and family to change companies. I have taken this up with the financial ombudsman.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Ditto this. About to leave them now. Have had 3 dogs with them, recommended them to everyone. Then just keep having policies pulled out due to underwriters leaving cover more expensive for less cover, with exclusions (how on earth can that happen on life policies?!). I originally went with this company as the story was the MD had started it after having bad pet insurance experience.....pity seems to have forgotten how bad that feels :( I think I will take your stance re the ombudsman Kerry.

comment by: Jo, 17 February 2016
 
 Same experience. Not lifetime cover. Disgusted.

comment by: Howard, 4 February 2016
 
 Ditto this comment. Just had my renewal through and almost doubled making it unviable to continue.

comment by: Nick, 14 November 2015
 
 We are working hard to get the best possible terms for you! Don't give up yet! Have you called the office, they will be able to help you.

comment by: Francesca Oddie, 5 November 2015
 
5/5   A Letter of Thanks   19 October 2015

Reviewed By: Dee Reboe, Recommend:

Thank you for your service, Sarah Seager was amazing on the telephone with me and enabled me to make an informed decision on our new dogs requirements for Pet Insurance. I thank VetsMediCover for how they and the underwriters gave exceptional service, care and attention when dealing with claims associated with our previous Pet Insured Tyson (RIP) I am insuring through VetsMediCover and staff member Sarah Seager's assistance and our past 8 years history. Thank you Kindest Regards Dee Reboe

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Thanks so much   29 September 2015

Reviewed By: Donna King, Recommend:

Thank you Patrick for sorting out our claim! We were so worried when there was confusion about what would be included. You are a star.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   So helpful!   8 September 2015

Reviewed By: Sheila Cole, Recommend:

Finally some lovely people to help us with our pet insurance! The price has gone up but you have been so helpful with sorting out the claim, returning calls and making sure we are OK. I can't thank you enough!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Rising premiums   25 August 2015

Reviewed By: Janice, Recommend:

just received email telling me my 12yr old labs insurance gone from £40 to£70 yearly £800 plus. I've had no claims in the 5years I'm gutted he's worth every penny but can they do this? Wasn't even advised they had upped it

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Delighted   31 July 2015

Reviewed By: Paul Jackson, Recommend:

Scruffy has not had insurance for a year because they excluded his leg. They cover the condition because he's been fine for over two years! Finally someone who makes sense!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Not the best!   22 July 2015

Reviewed By: Kay, Recommend:

Have put in 2 claims this year, both minor accidents, first time in 4 years and now my premium has gone up by almost 50%. Cannot understand people talking about prompt payment, took over 6 weeks last time and still waiting after a month this time. Total indifference when you call, thats just the way it is. Sorry to say wont be going back!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   AMAZING!   15 July 2015

Reviewed By: Fred Tomlinson, Recommend:

Absolutely amazing the way they managed my claim! Can't believe it. Thanks to Kaye and Dawn for being so lovely on the phone. We are telling all our friends about how brilliant you have been. We had such bad experiences with Tesco insurance, our vet recommended Vetsmedicare and we haven't looked back!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Yessssss   11 June 2015

Reviewed By: Jade Simmons, Recommend:

Thank goodness we stuck with out old pals VetsMedi! We considered changing at renewal to a really cheap company but their prices looked too good to be true which often speaks of trouble with claims. Also, some of the other older companies just have premiums that are too high and the organisations are too big to care about each customer. But Kaye, Patrick and the rest of the team have called me lots of times to check that I am happy with policy changes. It's reassuring to know they are still on my side after all these years and they made sure my claim was paid quickly. I wouldn't hesitate to tell my friends that VetsMediCover stand apart as a hardworking and caring company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Tell me the secret of quick payment! I get sick of ringing, took ages last time! When i rang them (and i didn't get friendly happy staff!) they told me they were waiting paperwork which i sorted and still waited another couple of weeks-not one phone call. Hope you hv better luck with them than i did.

comment by: Kay, 22 July 2015
 
  We insured our dog, Disley in March 2011 and were very careful to choose an insurer to cover him for lifetime as we'd seen insurers wriggle out of claims in the past. Vetsmedicover claimed in their advertising that the premium we paid would be consistent with all dogs and not dependent on his medical history over time. This was a lie. Now 4 years down the line I'm being told that my dog's Hyperthyroidism is now a pre existing condition (it developed last year) and my premium will be increased… (read more)

comment by: roger, 12 July 2015
 
5/5   Brilliant   1 June 2015

Reviewed By: Raffy, Recommend:

Thank you VetsMediCover for sorting out my claim for me. It's always such a worry, paying premiums but wondering if the company will provide cover when you need it. The premium for Raffy had gone up slightly but it was still reasonable and it's worth it when you come to claim and everything is simple.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review VetsMediCover pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 2 + 1 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016