pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Tesco pet insurance

The Wharf
Neville Street
Leeds
LS1 4AZ

phone: 0845 300 2200
website: http://www.tescobank.com/insurance/petins/index.html

Tesco is a leader in low premium insurance policies.

Currently offering a £30 Tesco gift card to new customers buying the Standard or Extra policies.

User Rating
2.3
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Tesco pet insurance

2/5   £200 - Increase in premium for not claiming!   13 February 2018

Reviewed By: Mike Grier, Recommend:

We have made no claims, our insurance went up by £200 in in year. We were told this was due to the 1st year being discounted - hardly a discount if they recoup their money in the second year.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Organised Chaos   9 February 2018

Reviewed By: Jacquie, Recommend:

I have been with Tesco for a number of years. This year I noticed that they were overcharging me by £11 per month via direct debit, writing to me advising of a refund and then refunding it into my bank account. This has gone on for 10 months, they then wrote to me and said my policy had been cancelled, in the same post I had a second letter saying they were refunding £1,800 to my bank account. I contacted them, they denied the policy was cancelled, said that it had just been set up again and the funds paid had been transferred into it, However, in doing this they created arrears and sent money demanding letters. This has been going on for weeks. Like most other on here have found, the increases in premiums are ridiculous, just under £2Kk per year for 2 Labradors. Here is some good news, there is a new company called `bought by many` their terms are more favourable, they do insure existing conditions and they are a third of the price. Check it out, I have and its bye bye chaotic tesco!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Tesco Pet Insurance has let us down   30 January 2018

Reviewed By: L Few, Recommend:

We have had our dog insured for 9 years and we have made 2 claims, 1 in 2013 to remove a lump on eyelid so not expensive and a 2nd claim last year for lump removal on his body, again not a large claim. They have steadily increased our premiums and this year wanted to increase by over 50% ! Have cancelled the insurance because at just shy of £1300 a year we can save it and pay any bills ourselves.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Emergency Vet Claim   30 January 2018

Reviewed By: James B, Recommend:

Out of hours claim for a sunday afternoon. German Shepherd had multiple cuts and a torn corner of the eye. A few areas needed stitching. Submitted the claim on the friday via email with scanned copies of itemised bill from vet and all insurance forms completed and stamped by vet. Treatment amounted to £630.00. Tesco paid out on the friday the following week, no issues or challenges. Only negative was we didnt receive a text or email to confirm receipt or progress of the claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   1st ever claim for pet insurance   29 January 2018

Reviewed By: Ruby, Recommend:

My Bull Mastiff cross breed Ruby had a lump removed from her side. No fuss, very helpful customer service, seamless claim Thank you

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Very good   29 January 2018

Reviewed By: Maureen Walden, Recommend:

We recently had to make a claim for our very poorly 19 month old dog and Tesco were brilliant and paid up promptly which took a lot of the worry out of a horrible situation.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   RIP off gangster threats from Tesco!   26 January 2018

Reviewed By: Ron , Recommend:

I have two rescued collies been with Tesco on joint policy for nearly ten years. Only had one minor claim after dog attack on Bess. Every year my policy has gone up, last year it was due to a change of address! Have you ever come across such a load of ? My policy was due for renewal on 1st January 18 when I received it they had actually doubled the price, so thought enough is enough canít be asked with phoning them because it costs you loads. So I cancelled my DD for renewal thinking thatís the end of it. Iíve now just received threatening and very rude letter from Tesco coming up with a figure of £1005.80, and if I donít pay they will instruct a third party to help them do this!!! People stay away from Tesco, they have now stooped to a new low. I just feel a prat for all the money Iíve paid into them over the years and they come up with this crap.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   from £190 to £860 over 5 years with no claims   15 January 2018

Reviewed By: Kim, Recommend:

I have been waiting on the line for past 20 mins. took out policy 2013 for my two dogs just under £16 per month....gone up to over £70 per month and have never made a claim. That was £190 per year now its £860 DISGUSTING....Am i surprised they are receiving an UNUSUAL amount of calls. The patronising caller tells me it has gone up so much as dogs get older they tend to get more ailments....so much for loyalty. I have now cancelled. Try and do the right thing only to be ripped of by big corporations.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   from £190 to £860 over 5 years with no claims   15 January 2018

Reviewed By: Kim, Recommend:

I have been waiting on the line for past 20 mins. took out policy 2013 for my two dogs just under £16 per month....gone up to over £70 per month and have never made a claim. That was £190 per year now its £860 DISGUSTING....Am I surprised they are receiving an UNUSUAL amount of calls. The patronising caller tells me it has gone up so much as dogs get older they tend to get more ailments....so much for loyalty. I have now cancelled. Try and do the right thing only to be ripped of by big corporations.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do Not Use Tesco Pet Insurance   28 December 2017

Reviewed By: Evelyn Torrie, Recommend:

Insured my dog with them, have recently been told she had an allergy which is going to continue as they cannot find out what she is allergic to. Decided to claim for the first time ever on pet insurance first had to face a phone interrogation from a loss adjuster then received a horrid letter saying they would not pay as she had an ear infection in 2015 - the way it was worded made me feel like a thief - have cancelled this waste of money insurance- DO NOT USE IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible customer service   27 December 2017

Reviewed By: Paul Neve, Recommend:

We have the policy a year when our dog had to be put to sleep. Made the claim for loss in August and by November we heard nothing. We called and were asked questions which we answered. nothing. So called again, and we were asked more questions which we answered and told the claim would be settled in a week. It wasn't. Today received a letter stating claim closed, no explanation, you call them up and they refuse to give explanation. I now have to write a letter of complaint to give them 8 weeks to sort before I can complain to ombudsman. If you are thinking of using this company don't as they just do not care for the distress under for making the claim and then leaving you in limbo.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent insurance   24 December 2017

Reviewed By: Maureen Walden, Recommend:

Unfortunately our young shorkie became ill and needed investigation ie scans etc which showed a huge abscess in his neck. Our bill came to over £8000 and Tesco settled the bill with the vets efficiently and promptly .

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   shocked   15 December 2017

Reviewed By: james, Recommend:

just received renewal..50% increase.No claims...Am disgusted...What a ripoff. Dog is only 8 ..Hope this isn't going to increase continually.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Yes our premiums for 2 dogs a whippet aged 5 just and a jack russell increased on a whole of life policy (without any claims) from £320 pa to £560....reason given the dogs were getting older...what a rip off....ditched insurer

comment by: dave w, 6 January 2018
 
 we too have made no claims and just had quote up 50% y on y. Same thing happened last year. Disgraceful. Ditching them.

comment by: agree, 28 December 2017
 
1/5   Simply appalling - avoid at all costs   14 December 2017

Reviewed By: Lorin, Recommend:

As reported by every Tesco customer, yearly price rises that are absolutely disgusting. It doesn't matter how good or bad they are when it comes to claiming, their deliberate practice of ripping you off is a statement of how they view your custom. Avoid at all costs, I cannot imagine anyone could you treat you any worse.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 i wont use tesco....avoid homebase too

comment by: dave w, 6 January 2018
 
 Totally agree

comment by: B McCusker, 4 January 2018
 
1/5   Crooks   14 December 2017

Reviewed By: Charlie, Recommend:

Policy gone up 50% even though never claimed and not given a reason for this except thatís what it is. Cancelled and will never use again

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   50% increase   13 December 2017

Reviewed By: SUE, Recommend:

my dog is 3 years old my first year's insurance with tesco has just ended despite not making a claim they now want a 50% increase HOW CAN THEY JUSTIFY 50% ON A THREE YEAR OLD DOG

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Very pain free claim   5 December 2017

Reviewed By: Nina B, Recommend:

Weíve had our dog fudge covered with Tesco for about three years and have found them to be excellent, we have actually needed to make a couple of quite big claims and have found them excellent to deal with. The people Iíve Spoken to on the phone have been very sympathetic about our dogs injury, the claim form was easy to fill in and the payout was quick. We were stressed about the dog needing an operation and Tesco didnít add to that! We will stick with them, they have really done well by us.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Not claimed but policy price increased by 50%   17 November 2017

Reviewed By: Ash, Recommend: Y

I have not made a claim with Tesco but after one year where costs were £21 they have now gone up to £31. This is my only issue in that nothing has changed with my dog and we have not claimed so such a big price hike seems above the 12% I have seen is what fees increase by. It seems somewhat unfair. I used them because they provided a decent service for my mum but the vets did have an issue claiming money back from them. Most recently that vet practice wouldn't provide treatment unless another well known insurer as the provider.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   STAY AWAY FROM TESCO PET INSURANCE !!!!   30 October 2017

Reviewed By: Mrs Jones, Recommend:

Our pet insurance has continued to increase year after year starting at £13, currently paying £48 per month, received renewal today, going up to £87 per month. Absolutely disgusting - been a loyal customer but now they know we can not get any other cover because he is over 9 years old, they have nothing to lose.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Same here, its appalling that Tesco treat their customers like this. Our cat is 12 and always been with Tesco, now this 50% increase. We our considering our options

comment by: B McCusker, 4 January 2018
 
2/5   Renewal hike   23 October 2017

Reviewed By: Julie, Recommend:

Been with Tesco for 5 years and every year my policy has increase. Recieved renewal this week gone from 40 to 91 pounds within 12 months because i put in one claim. After speaking to them as a loyal customer so i though they could only still reduce to 75. Now cancelled with them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip Off Pet Insurance - DO NOT USE   17 October 2017

Reviewed By: Mark Henderson, Recommend:

I have just received a renewal policy quote for my Labrador (George). The premium has gone up in the last 2 years from £24 to £36 and now £54.76. He has been diagnosed with epilepsy and as a result requires to take Epiphen daily at a monthly cost of £36, George is covered up to £4000 worth of costs which are paid in areas, we can only continue to claim providing we are still paying the insurance. The increases have now meant the insurance claims are practically useless as we are now paying £30 more since his diagnosis. I've ran him through copmparethemarket.com and Tesco are quoting £23.99 for exactly the same cover. Clearly we are being penalised for claiming and the majority of Georges medication costs are being added back to my insurance cover. I've contact Tesco's only to be told that, the increases are due to Georges increasing age (7) and vet charges increasing. If this is the case why can I still get the insurance online for the same original price prior to his condition? This is nothing shocking of appalling treatment, they've taken my money for 7 years under false pretenses. They pay out then take the money back through increased premiums. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks Mark

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   5/5 fantastic service   12 October 2017

Reviewed By: Elaine Wardlaw, Recommend:

Our Ollie swallowed a couple of stones, one managed to come up naturally but one was caught in his gut and was close to his pancreas so when we got him to the vet he said he was a lucky boy any later could've been fatal. I hadn't long switched to Tesco insurance so wasn't sure how it would turn out and have never had to claim on any other insurances regards my pets. They were fantastic couldn't have been more efficient form keeping us updated to the settlement was al done within 3 weeks. I will be sticking with Tesco and would highly recommend.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Wait until next year when your premiums will double and then double again year on year......Tesco policy!

comment by: B McCusker, 4 January 2018
 
1/5   Renewal prices awful   4 October 2017

Reviewed By: Julie Wren, Recommend:

Have been with tesco since our dog was a puppy, have never claimed and our monthly payment has gone from £30 to £45 a month because he is 5 years old. Tried to cancel and had to pay extra because apparently they take the payments a month in arrears. So much for lifetime cover this was the most expensive policy against ALL other quotes we recieved prior to cancelling.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't use Tesco for pets insurance - Charlatans   11 September 2017

Reviewed By: I, Recommend:

Took out a whole of life policy with Tesco on our pet labrador retriever from being a puppy. She is now 11. We have never claimed. The premium has just been increased by over £50 a month to £1780. I'm gobsmacked. I've bee a loyal tesco's customer across a number of products but am questioning why. Really disappointed with them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Poor Charlie had 5k spine surgery   2 September 2017

Reviewed By: Boba fet, Recommend:

Refused to pay out. Why oh why did we insure with TESCO? Should have gone to John Lewis.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Poor you..but don't go to John Lewis as I am looking to leave as renewal has gone up 50% and I have not claimed my dog is 5 .. I can't risk staying with them if it goes up 50% a year. Will be paying £500 a month when he's 10 ......

comment by: Ginny harland, 26 November 2017
 
2/5   Not a happy bunny   17 August 2017

Reviewed By: Kate Ramsden, Recommend:

My two dogs are insured with Tesco , I wish I could change, but I cant . The reason is because my six year old Labrador has cancer , so no one else would accept him . When I claimed for his surgery last year , it took an age for the claim form to be sent to me , I had to ring a couple of times , this had been my only claim in many years or paying out . I recently rehomed a little Chihuahua X , and added her to my Labrador policy . She had to have Xrays , which we paid for and then I rang Tesco for a claim form , nine days later I am still waiting . I have rung again , we are elderly people , so paying up front is hard, but we do it because we love our dogs . I would not recommend Tesco and would not use them again .

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Poor Contact   15 August 2017

Reviewed By: Charlotte, Recommend:

I have tried to get in touch repeatedly about my insurance which should have started today for my 2 kittens. I was sent an email a few days before asking me to clarify my address details. I did this, and received a form advising this had been sorted and I would be insured. I then received the same email again advising they need my details to be clarified. I replied 3 times to advise this has been done and to check if I am now insured for my 2 cats. Still no reply. So far, not the best experience after what I assume is 1 day with Tesco Pet Insurance.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Should Be Ashamed   12 August 2017

Reviewed By: CJ, Recommend:

My dog was insured with Tesco for nine years without a claim being made. He became ill and needed various tests including CT and ultrasound scans and a referral to a specialist vet. What i did not realise is that Tesco have only a limited preferred list of referral vets you can use. They therefore did not pay for large sums of my dog's treatment. I lost my dog & still had to spend weeks wrangling with them to try to recover part of my claim. They did not return phone calls as promised and I was asked each time i spoke to them if I had used the Vetphone service before contacting me own vet for treatment. I feel so strongly about Tesco's poor service now that i no longer shop in their food store (they have lost £100 per week) and no longer have a Tesco credit card & have cashed in my TescoBank Isa.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   pet insurance price hike & poor claims Aug 2017   12 August 2017

Reviewed By: Deborah Blyth, Recommend:

We have insured our German Shepherd from when she was a puppy with Tesco. the price increased to an extortionate £632.92 as she is now 11. We made a claim for a lump which had been noted by the vet, however did not require treatment at the time. the lump subsequently required treatment and Tesco refused to pay stating that it was a pre existing condition. whilst I accept that, when the condition was noted no treatment was required therefore what they are implying is that we should have undertaken unnecessary treatment on an 11 year old dog to have a valid claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolutel rip offfor existing customers   6 August 2017

Reviewed By: Sarah , Recommend:

I am appalled with Tesco and their lack of customer service for existing customers I have 2 dogs and 2 cats all insured with them I have enquired regarding multi pet discount which they don't do and have seen increases each year which are now beyond ridiculous My latest this week is an almost double increase on my 6 year old Yorkie poo We have made one claim for an x ray as she was limping All fine and she is recovered and in good health I have rung them twice this week and queried this increase to £55 a month to which I have been met with ' beyond our control ' etc and the ludicrous advice that I can cancel have the 14 days uninsured ' cooling off ' period and take a new policy exactly the same but coming in at £29 !!! This is beyond ridiculous and I will now be looking elsewhere and would warn others to be very wary of these annual increases and lack of care for customer loyalty etc.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   renewal   23 July 2017

Reviewed By: Garry, Recommend:

My dog is 3.5 years old, in good health, he has regular check ups at the vets. Tesco has just sent me my new annual premium and it's doubled! How the hell can they justify that, scandalous, just like all types of insurance, they take us all for mugs and they act on the verge of being criminals.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Tesco pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 3 + 2 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016