pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Tesco pet insurance

The Wharf
Neville Street
Leeds
LS1 4AZ

phone: 0845 300 2200
website: http://www.tescobank.com/insurance/petins/index.html

Tesco is a leader in low premium insurance policies.

Currently offering a £30 Tesco gift card to new customers buying the Standard or Extra policies.

User Rating
2.2
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Tesco pet insurance

5/5   Claim settled no problem   2 June 2018

Reviewed By: James, Recommend:

Our Jack Russell was taken ill at the beginning of May and unfortunately had to be put to sleep 2 weeks later. Tesco insurance settled 4 vet bills with no quibble whatsoever at what has been a terrible time for us.Premium was half the price of a previous insurer.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Tesco Rip Off Pet Insurance   2 June 2018

Reviewed By: Graham James, Recommend:

My dog developed diabetes and Tesco raised the premium to the same amount I was claiming for caninsulin also when she passed and I cancelled the insurance I have received a bill for £10 to cover the days of the month prior to cancellation . Legalised theft

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Over charge when you need them most   2 June 2018

Reviewed By: G reed, Recommend:

No claims. BUT Still they double the fee to £350 when my cat got to 9 yearso old. Wish I had put the cash into savings account instead

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disgusted with Tesco Pet Insurance   2 June 2018

Reviewed By: Mrs Barr, Recommend:

I recently received my new policy pet insurance increase for my 6 year old cat that I have never claimed for, it has gone up so so much started at £10 a year now its £36 a year. When I rang them to complain about a £10 a month increase in a year they told me its because I claimed in 2015. I told them I have never claimed they told me Iím wrong. When I took the matter further they said oh yes we made a mistake you havenít claimed. But when I said thatís why my insurance has gone up they said no. I feel like Tesco is scamming people. Also they said I might have to wait 20 days for the complaints department to call me. Itís disgusting. Stay away from this policy. DO NOT GET CONNED LIKE ALL OF THE OTHER PEOPLE ON THIS SITE ARE BEING. TESCO YOU NEED TO READ YOUR REVIEWS. I went on line with Tesco to see what they would charge with all the same details and the best policy came out at £15.77 the policy Iím on came out at £9.32 a month, how can they justify charging me £36 a month ???????? It doesnít pay to be loyal. Change insurance every year if you have never claimed ............. Itís a JOKE

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent   24 May 2018

Reviewed By: R Lusted, Recommend:

We have used Tesco for several years for our two cats. We have had claims on both and Tesco paid for everything on the policy. Call handlers were first class. Highly recommended.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Shocking premium increase - they don't care   14 May 2018

Reviewed By: Suki, Recommend:

Spoke to Rob, Peterborough (Team Manager) who thought a 52% increase to pet insurance renewal, without any paid claims, was 'fair and reasonable.' Have tried to contact complaints department via Facebook page - they let you type in messenger and then don't bother to reply. Avoid these people like the plague - they will willingly hike your premium and not give a hoot.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Have just got off phone to cancel our policy! Our renewal annual premium went up by £260 about 35% increase from the previous year....have only ever been insured with Tesco for last five years and claimed once back in 2013....no credible explanation could be given as to the price hike, no additional benefits to our policy in fact our policy hasnít changed since we first took it out. It was suggested by the lady on the phone that they group up areas and set price for those… (read more)

comment by: Nick (Kent), 24 May 2018
 
1/5   Renewal price scandal   29 April 2018

Reviewed By: John West, Recommend:

I bought Tesco pet insurance for our dog last year and thought it would be for the dogs life, only to find that the premium doubled on the first renewal! Thanks Tesco, you rip off merchants! Now I've cancelled and have the inconvenience of applying elsewhere.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Same happened toemail when cat got to 10 year old. The doubled the premium

comment by: anonymous, 2 June 2018
 
2/5   Pre existing condition, N/A   28 April 2018

Reviewed By: Brenda turner. , Recommend:

Dog Has raging tonsillitis, Tesco already paid out once, Referred to Pride Vets Derby. For scans and endoscope as cough inrtmitten ,now Tesco saying that because he had Kennel cough 20-15 and was with another insurance company,. They are saying that kennel cough is a pre- existing condition. And has refused so far. Still more test results to come. Cost so far. £3,000 paid to Pride for treatment. Before that £200 with my own vet.. Was told by Pride that you pay 50% up front half of the cost of treatment. I only had £780 on me and paid that , how do they think that people have this sort of money around. I am an OAP was asked if I had a credit card. No I don't not enough in cheque account. So had to take from various " sources to pay, luckily I just had enough tto cover cost. A bit miffed to say the least. What annoys me is first thing asked when you take animal to a vet is are you insured. Only interested in money. Not animal no idea what is going to happen if he needs ongoing treatment IE drugs.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dog insurance rip off!   28 April 2018

Reviewed By: John West, Recommend:

Took out on line insurance last year for a Belgian Shephard, 2y 6 m old.£222.36. Renewal this year £431.88 evan though no claims. NEARLY DOUBLE! When I complained, told special on line discount when purchased last year. Total rubbish. Go elsewhere I have!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Priced out   24 April 2018

Reviewed By: Griff, Recommend:

No claims made yet premium increased to an extortionate amount when the dog reached 8 years old, they're more than happy to take your money until there's a probability of age related illness.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Complete scam of a company   30 March 2018

Reviewed By: K, Recommend:

Was told my dog would be covered for his operation so went ahead. Then they decided he's not and make out they didn't say that and suprise suprise nothing on account to support that because the advisor knew he was wrong so didn't note it and no call recording! £1600 later, thanks Tesco! Then then send me a renewal quote over double then the last year with no claims made! Complete scam!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Scandalous Increase   28 March 2018

Reviewed By: Paul Marsh, Recommend:

Received a 75% increase on an already extortionate premium to £1350 for a dog that hasn't had any claims to speak of in years. Asked why two weeks ago girl couldn't answer me, still waiting for the phone call back

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Hi, we have been paying £47 p/m to cover our dog, this renewal has come in at £99!! I did ask why and they said it's because I had made a claim. He's been insured with them for 5 years (since we rescued him) and now too old to be insured by anyone else :-(

comment by: Julie, 12 June 2018
 
2/5   100% Increase After One Year   24 March 2018

Reviewed By: James, Recommend:

Just got first year renewal paperwork through. 102% increase to be precise. Heís only one year old. At this rate by the time he was four weíd be paying more than the cover. Cancelled.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid   8 March 2018

Reviewed By: Jo, Recommend:

May seem reasonable at first but will bump up the payments drastically, never claimed so didn't renew.I've got double the cover with another insurer for £11 + cheaper and 20% back yearly if no claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Please would you say who your new insurance comments is.

comment by: Freda, 14 March 2018
 
1/5   Disgusted, I will never use a tescos product again   7 March 2018

Reviewed By: Martin Kirkman, Recommend:

I have received my pet insurance renewal today for my 2 cats. Sadly, one of them passed away. I rang tescos to take the one that died off the policy. The renewal amount was £501.24 for the one that passed away and £405.99 for the living one. This is an increase from last year of £280.54, but this is not what I want to rant about. When I said I wanted to take the deceased pet off the insurance I was told the living pets insurance would go up to £527.36. when I questioned this I was told by that it was because I had lost the 10% discount for not having 2 pets. Well I'm no mathematician but I know that an increase of £121.37 is not 10%. When I questioned this again I was told it was because I only had one pet now. Needless to say I cancelled the remaining policy immediately. I will never ever use any tescos product in any way shape or form in the future preferring to cut both my arms and legs of instead!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   First claim paid for years   4 March 2018

Reviewed By: Jayne, Recommend:

Don't believe you will receive your voucher on sign up, if offered, you don't get it. Increased charge cause moved house. Reason must live on a busier road, erm main A road to an estate, also vet fees would be more expensive, erm you don't know who my vet is and I now live nearer to them. Not a valid reason for increase. First claim not paid out as we have in the interest of our dog and on advice from vet, decision to not immediately go for the operation and try medication first which we paid for, unfortunately, as soon as lump started to increase and irritate we had to have removed. Not expensive and wouldn't even go over my annual insurance charge. Have cancelled insurance am going to open a savings account and set up a standing order for future bills. I have for years paid into the unknown Tesco Charity

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Donít use Tesco for pet insurance   21 February 2018

Reviewed By: 1, Recommend:

I have had my dog insured with Tesco for 11 yrs. they hiked up the policy by over 50% knowing that if I cancelled I wouldnít get my dog insured by any other company because of her age. She died and I phoned to ask Re the amount I should get on the dead of a dog only to be told it doesnít apply if your dog is over 9 yrs. as a company their mission stated is ďwe careĒ believe me they donít. I would never recommend them as they are just out to make money. Terrible company

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   £200 - Increase in premium for not claiming!   13 February 2018

Reviewed By: Mike Grier, Recommend:

We have made no claims, our insurance went up by £200 in in year. We were told this was due to the 1st year being discounted - hardly a discount if they recoup their money in the second year.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Organised Chaos   9 February 2018

Reviewed By: Jacquie, Recommend:

I have been with Tesco for a number of years. This year I noticed that they were overcharging me by £11 per month via direct debit, writing to me advising of a refund and then refunding it into my bank account. This has gone on for 10 months, they then wrote to me and said my policy had been cancelled, in the same post I had a second letter saying they were refunding £1,800 to my bank account. I contacted them, they denied the policy was cancelled, said that it had just been set up again and the funds paid had been transferred into it, However, in doing this they created arrears and sent money demanding letters. This has been going on for weeks. Like most other on here have found, the increases in premiums are ridiculous, just under £2Kk per year for 2 Labradors. Here is some good news, there is a new company called `bought by many` their terms are more favourable, they do insure existing conditions and they are a third of the price. Check it out, I have and its bye bye chaotic tesco!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Tesco Pet Insurance has let us down   30 January 2018

Reviewed By: L Few, Recommend:

We have had our dog insured for 9 years and we have made 2 claims, 1 in 2013 to remove a lump on eyelid so not expensive and a 2nd claim last year for lump removal on his body, again not a large claim. They have steadily increased our premiums and this year wanted to increase by over 50% ! Have cancelled the insurance because at just shy of £1300 a year we can save it and pay any bills ourselves.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Emergency Vet Claim   30 January 2018

Reviewed By: James B, Recommend:

Out of hours claim for a sunday afternoon. German Shepherd had multiple cuts and a torn corner of the eye. A few areas needed stitching. Submitted the claim on the friday via email with scanned copies of itemised bill from vet and all insurance forms completed and stamped by vet. Treatment amounted to £630.00. Tesco paid out on the friday the following week, no issues or challenges. Only negative was we didnt receive a text or email to confirm receipt or progress of the claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   1st ever claim for pet insurance   29 January 2018

Reviewed By: Ruby, Recommend:

My Bull Mastiff cross breed Ruby had a lump removed from her side. No fuss, very helpful customer service, seamless claim Thank you

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Very good   29 January 2018

Reviewed By: Maureen Walden, Recommend:

We recently had to make a claim for our very poorly 19 month old dog and Tesco were brilliant and paid up promptly which took a lot of the worry out of a horrible situation.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   RIP off gangster threats from Tesco!   26 January 2018

Reviewed By: Ron , Recommend:

I have two rescued collies been with Tesco on joint policy for nearly ten years. Only had one minor claim after dog attack on Bess. Every year my policy has gone up, last year it was due to a change of address! Have you ever come across such a load of ? My policy was due for renewal on 1st January 18 when I received it they had actually doubled the price, so thought enough is enough canít be asked with phoning them because it costs you loads. So I cancelled my DD for renewal thinking thatís the end of it. Iíve now just received threatening and very rude letter from Tesco coming up with a figure of £1005.80, and if I donít pay they will instruct a third party to help them do this!!! People stay away from Tesco, they have now stooped to a new low. I just feel a prat for all the money Iíve paid into them over the years and they come up with this crap.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   from £190 to £860 over 5 years with no claims   15 January 2018

Reviewed By: Kim, Recommend:

I have been waiting on the line for past 20 mins. took out policy 2013 for my two dogs just under £16 per month....gone up to over £70 per month and have never made a claim. That was £190 per year now its £860 DISGUSTING....Am i surprised they are receiving an UNUSUAL amount of calls. The patronising caller tells me it has gone up so much as dogs get older they tend to get more ailments....so much for loyalty. I have now cancelled. Try and do the right thing only to be ripped of by big corporations.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   from £190 to £860 over 5 years with no claims   15 January 2018

Reviewed By: Kim, Recommend:

I have been waiting on the line for past 20 mins. took out policy 2013 for my two dogs just under £16 per month....gone up to over £70 per month and have never made a claim. That was £190 per year now its £860 DISGUSTING....Am I surprised they are receiving an UNUSUAL amount of calls. The patronising caller tells me it has gone up so much as dogs get older they tend to get more ailments....so much for loyalty. I have now cancelled. Try and do the right thing only to be ripped of by big corporations.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do Not Use Tesco Pet Insurance   28 December 2017

Reviewed By: Evelyn Torrie, Recommend:

Insured my dog with them, have recently been told she had an allergy which is going to continue as they cannot find out what she is allergic to. Decided to claim for the first time ever on pet insurance first had to face a phone interrogation from a loss adjuster then received a horrid letter saying they would not pay as she had an ear infection in 2015 - the way it was worded made me feel like a thief - have cancelled this waste of money insurance- DO NOT USE IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible customer service   27 December 2017

Reviewed By: Paul Neve, Recommend:

We have the policy a year when our dog had to be put to sleep. Made the claim for loss in August and by November we heard nothing. We called and were asked questions which we answered. nothing. So called again, and we were asked more questions which we answered and told the claim would be settled in a week. It wasn't. Today received a letter stating claim closed, no explanation, you call them up and they refuse to give explanation. I now have to write a letter of complaint to give them 8 weeks to sort before I can complain to ombudsman. If you are thinking of using this company don't as they just do not care for the distress under for making the claim and then leaving you in limbo.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent insurance   24 December 2017

Reviewed By: Maureen Walden, Recommend:

Unfortunately our young shorkie became ill and needed investigation ie scans etc which showed a huge abscess in his neck. Our bill came to over £8000 and Tesco settled the bill with the vets efficiently and promptly .

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   shocked   15 December 2017

Reviewed By: james, Recommend:

just received renewal..50% increase.No claims...Am disgusted...What a ripoff. Dog is only 8 ..Hope this isn't going to increase continually.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Me too cat got to 10 .. no claims. BUT they doubled the cost of the premium. Wish my wages doubled as I get older.

comment by: anonymous, 2 June 2018
 
 Same here! just got renewal with an increase yet again gone from £9 in five years to £26 for £3000 cover (never claimed) so much for loyalty. Gone with another insurer £7000 cover, 20% back if I don't claim every year for just under £15. TESCO you are one big rip!

comment by: anonymous, 8 March 2018
 
 Yes our premiums for 2 dogs a whippet aged 5 just and a jack russell increased on a whole of life policy (without any claims) from £320 pa to £560....reason given the dogs were getting older...what a rip off....ditched insurer

comment by: dave w, 6 January 2018
 
 we too have made no claims and just had quote up 50% y on y. Same thing happened last year. Disgraceful. Ditching them.

comment by: agree, 28 December 2017
 
1/5   Simply appalling - avoid at all costs   14 December 2017

Reviewed By: Lorin, Recommend:

As reported by every Tesco customer, yearly price rises that are absolutely disgusting. It doesn't matter how good or bad they are when it comes to claiming, their deliberate practice of ripping you off is a statement of how they view your custom. Avoid at all costs, I cannot imagine anyone could you treat you any worse.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 i wont use tesco....avoid homebase too

comment by: dave w, 6 January 2018
 
 Totally agree

comment by: B McCusker, 4 January 2018
 
  Add your own review


Review Tesco pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 4 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016