pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Tesco pet insurance

The Wharf
Neville Street
Leeds
LS1 4AZ

phone: 0845 300 2200
website: http://www.tescobank.com/insurance/petins/index.html

Tesco is a leader in low premium insurance policies.

Currently offering a 30 Tesco gift card to new customers buying the Standard or Extra policies.

User Rating
2.3
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Tesco pet insurance

1/5   renewal   23 July 2017

Reviewed By: Garry, Recommend:

My dog is 3.5 years old, in good health, he has regular check ups at the vets. Tesco has just sent me my new annual premium and it's doubled! How the hell can they justify that, scandalous, just like all types of insurance, they take us all for mugs and they act on the verge of being criminals.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent - quick payout!   18 July 2017

Reviewed By: Alex Lacey, Recommend:

My dog required an operation to remove a sock and child's t-shirt that he had swallowed (labradors eat anything!) Before collecting him from the vets, I printed the Tesco claim form and took this with me. The receptionist took the form but said it could take the vets 3 weeks to complete it! Anyway around 10 days after the procedure, I received a text from Tesco to say they were processing my claim. This evening I found the full amount (minus the excess of course) deposited in my bank account. No quibble/stress.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   DO NOT USE TESCO PET INSURANCE   18 July 2017

Reviewed By: Diana Wright, Recommend:

I joined Tesco Pet Insurance last year with a premium of 446.56 per year, I had one claim and this July my premium was increased to 786.55 an increase of 76%. I phoned up to ask why and was basically told " that's what we deem a normal increase". I had moved house so told the assistant the new address which is 1.1 mile down the road with the same pre fix postcode, guess what my premium increased by a further 246.71 per year making a total of 1033.26 an overall increase of 132%. I complained and was given the usual corporate blurb. Strangely I did a pretend quote online with Tesco with the two postcodes and there was only 55.44 difference but no difference whatsoever with two other large providers!! Do not use Tesco they rob you blind especially if you move house!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Price Hike!   7 July 2017

Reviewed By: Simaljon, Recommend:

Like a few others on here, my premiums have almost doubled in less than two years for my dog a cocker spaniel (who had one claim for poisoning). Both of my cats however, are insured with someone else and despite them having more claims the premiums have only got up slightly. That does not make sense. I understand that Tesco is underwritten by Royal Sun Alliance (as is MoreThan) who recently advised me of a preferred vet scheme to help me save money on my bills. If that's the case why are they taking more in premiums? Oh hang on ...coz they can take more in and pay less out!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Stay clear!!   17 June 2017

Reviewed By: John , Recommend:

Been paying 55 a month for insurance for 11 years, won't pay out coz dog has been ill for a year.. furious! Stay clear!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Just discovered today the same problem , will only pay for one year of treatment , complete waste of paying insurance for 11years , now when needed will not pay out for medication and blood tests .... very angry and upset

comment by: Sharon, 27 June 2017
 
1/5   Disgusting   15 June 2017

Reviewed By: LDM, Recommend:

After my poor dog was hit by a car and sadly passed away, I called to cancel my Tesco pet insurance, And the very joly man said 'There you go, Anything else I can help you wiyh today?"!!!!. Sobbing after the call, My friend who had been reading the paperwork hilst K had been on thephone to them Said, Are they sending out the claim form or is it just done automatically, I obviously had a confused face as she said, "He was covered for his death", After calming myself down (Again), I checked the policy myself and saw that she was indeed correct and I was a little annoyed that the 'Is there anything else that I can help you with today', Hadn't even mentioned that my boy was covered. I called back and was told that I was covered, And I received an appology for the earlier response and my claim was done. Buyer BEWARE when you purchase through a comparrison site which does not ask all of the questions needed then you will NOT receive a penny!. An absolute dreadful, Angry, Upsetting and Tearfull experience dealing with the 'Actual Insurance Company' RSA- yep thats Right, So the 3rd party that you've at this point got too & I have to say i'm absolutley Disgusted that a company such as Royal Sun Allowance, Will keep asking question after question and let's not forget you also need to keep the receipt to proove how much you paid all those years ago!! .. Still Not a No, But my Friends & Family have all chipped in and helped me get a little stone of rememberence and have all been disgusted in that this insurance policy litterally was a total waste of money. I've told them to stop bothering me and upsetting me each time they do, And have said I want to hear no more from them. But I am bloody FURIOUS that a pet insurance poicy and Tesco along with Royal Sun Allowance can keep the upset f loosing my boy going on & on & on, Yes I still have a cry, Sometimes a smile, And I miss him soooo very very much.. But to keep the upset continuing for over 6 months. The onlyreview i can give is - DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, Get a decent insurance in which you are 100% sure of what you have covered with your loved ones :-)

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Thank you for your post. I read your sad story just before i was about to buy pet insurance for my dog, with Tesco. I will steer clear, for sure! What a dredful experience for you.

comment by: Almost bought insurance from Tesco, 22 June 2017
 
1/5   TRULY APPALLING   14 June 2017

Reviewed By: kim blake , Recommend:

After 7 years without a claim I decided to shop around as my cat's insurance had gone up to over 500 per annum. I managed to get a good deal on line and called to cancel. I was then told that I could not overlap the policies by a day (I did not want my cat to be uninsured) and that IF I cancelled my cat would have to be uninsured for 14 days due to the 'cooling off' period. I am going to investigate this further. Really unhelpful and condescending staff. Dreadful.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Neutering Price Rise   8 June 2017

Reviewed By: D.Clayton, Recommend:

About to renew insurance so informed them that our dog had been neutered. Expected price to go down but they wanted to increase it. Seemingly a neutered dog is more prone to infection! I've never heard that before, all I've heard is the positives of having a dog neutered.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dont stay with Tescos   1 June 2017

Reviewed By: Trevor Mckinley, Recommend:

My dog has been insured with Tescos for 7 years never claimed ,recently he has developed allergys got a blood test and medication put in a claim and was refused.I should have went to a reputable company rather than Tescos.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   30% annual increase.   26 May 2017

Reviewed By: Neil, Recommend:

Last years premium 41 per month renewal cost 53. On line quote for same policy 31per month. Phoned to cancel, no reduction offered. Now waiting for refund of premium. The is much better cover available for a lower price, shop around.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I tell anyone not to use TESCO in anyway shape or form they don't deserve to be trading

comment by: Ben Gunn, 25 June 2017
 
2/5   40% price up for renewal! They are joke!   11 May 2017

Reviewed By: Frenkie, Recommend:

Very dissapointed with the renewal price. Had no claims and instead of having a discount I got 40% up for renewal. Canceled after phone call where they offered me little bit less to pay but still more than last year. Not impressed with customer service eather!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Massive increase -yet again   9 May 2017

Reviewed By: Darcy, Recommend:

2nd year of massive increase from Tesco. 45% increase this year. Many others have been stung.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Yearly Policy increases!   18 April 2017

Reviewed By: Mary Dempsey, Recommend:

I cannot comment on Tesco claims service because my dog is in good health. What I would like to do is pass on a comment on is the annual increase in charges. My dog is 10 years old and fortunately in good health. I have been with Tesco Premier package for the last 9 years. Last year I had to cancel and renew my policy to get the same price for considerable less than the renewable quote. This year my policy increase was just over 41%. Unbelievable, I Have made no claims. Upon my telephone call I was offered a 5% reduction on the renewable quote. Whilst I except some sort of increase I feel that 41% was very unreasonable. In order to reduce the amount I had to considerable increase my access. Shame on Tesco for treating loyal customers with unreasonable increases.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Same issue here. They are happy to sell you an umbrella when it's unlikely to rain but as soon as clouds appear make sure it's not affordable. Terrible!

comment by: Jon Whitehead, 11 May 2017
 
1/5   Steer clear of this insurance   5 April 2017

Reviewed By: Elsie, Recommend:

Excess applies to each condition the dog has, the condition is then only covered for 12 months and then never again. Lots of things not covered, ie having teeth extracted for gum disease. A complete and utter waste of money.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/5   excellent cover but expensive for older cats   5 April 2017

Reviewed By: JakeS, Recommend:

we claimed a few years ago and Tesco were very helpful and paid the vet in full less a small excess. They have an advice line which is great too. The downside is that for older cats the premium rises steeply (I know that statistically older cats are more likely to need the vets but it does go up a lot)to a point where we've decided to look elsewhere for cover. In summary great for younger cats, not for older ones

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DO NOT USE   1 April 2017

Reviewed By: Kate, Recommend:

Have a 12 year old lab had an x ray last Jan and nothing was detected put down to possible allergy no treatment . 1 year later he was unwell took him to vet and was referred for ct scan with possible tumour ...insurance refusing to pay as said was related despite numerous calls from our vet saying it's not ...time is running out for my pet and I'm disgusted with the way we have been treated ...one min being told they paying ...then call to say they not over the last 4 weeks even have e mail from them confirming paying then half hour later call to say they not ...I will be taking this complaint further but it's too late for my dog I am sooooooo not happy ...would expect better from a company like tesco. Avoid distress and go elsewhere !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Poor cover poor service   29 March 2017

Reviewed By: Jean Roberts, Recommend:

My dog has been insured for 9 years, cost going up every year and never a claim. Now about to make a claim and they do everything possible not to payout. Don't take out a policy just save the money each month, you WILL be in pocket.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do Not Use   16 March 2017

Reviewed By: Mark Hammersley, Recommend:

Do Stay clear, We had a English bull dog pup in June last year insured him from the first day we had him. He is now 9 months old and needs surgery on his air ways but the insurance will not cover this because he is a bull dog, Nothing was stated on the policy when we purchased it. We are now out of pocket for the sum of 2380.96

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   I'll let you make your mind up.   11 March 2017

Reviewed By: George, Recommend:

After paying more than 100 per month for the first year, without claim, the renewal was an increase of 50%. Went elsewhere. Nuff said.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   will not be renewing policy   9 March 2017

Reviewed By: ian embleton, Recommend:

My dog got diagnosed with a condition which may lead to a tumor in later years. An operation now will save the risk of tumor however this policy will not cover the cost until the tumor is apparent. Of course I will be paying myself for the operation to safeguard our loving family pet.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   will not be renewing policy   9 March 2017

Reviewed By: ian embleton, Recommend:

My dog got diagnosed with a condition which may lead to a tumor in later years. An operation now will save the risk of tumor however this policy will not cover the cost until the tumor is apparent. Of course I will be paying myself for the operation to safeguard our loving family pet.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Bad treatment of long standing customer   4 March 2017

Reviewed By: Lizzie, Recommend:

Received my annual renewal. My insurance premium has gone from 78 to 173 in last two years. I have been with Tesco pet insurance for 15 years and am dismayed by my treatment. I have spoken to them twice about what they can do to help me which is very little. They offered to double my excess to reduce my monthly premium and then offered me a discount of 11 which is laughable! I haven't made any claims since a claim for 180 in 2015. They would rather lose me as a customer than assist me. I now have to shop around and given my 2 dogs are 9 that is not easy. Tesco fell me I have 2 designer dogs. They are cavalier spaniels so I don't think so! No more designer than a Labrador !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Great service from Tesco Pet insurance   20 February 2017

Reviewed By: Julia Catelain , Recommend:

Have been very impressed and happy with the service offered by Tesco.Our cat was diagnosed with malignant melanoma, and treatment to try and save her cost the full insurance value. There was no delay in paying out, a very small increase in the renewal premium, and a very sympathetic letter when we lost her. I would highly recommend them, and will definitely be using them again in the future.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Credit where it's due   18 February 2017

Reviewed By: Paul , Recommend:

Compassionate, convenient to get through to over the phone. And very clear and willing to talk through a claim before proceeding with a procedure at the vets. They also paid my first claim even though it wasn't a huge operation and payment was made almost immediately. Excellent value and service

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Massive price hike for renewals despite no claims   4 February 2017

Reviewed By: Julia, Recommend:

Despite having made no claims over the last two years my cover has been hiked by over 100% from 195 in 2015 to 420 in 2017, 35 per month, yet if I buy a new policy online it is only 24 per month. I am told this is an online discount for new customers! - what happened to loyalty - they have lost mine

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have just had my Morethan insurance dog up from 330 to 565 from 2016 to 2017 and was shopping around. I see you get the same problem with Tesco Pet insurance which is administered by RSA, Morethan. Going to give that a miss then as you need stability in pet insurance

comment by: Andy, 11 April 2017
 
 That's not good as I'm reading reviews before signing up for a policy. Loyalty should be rewarded. A bit like Sky TV, only give special offers to new customers. Bad Tesco Bad!

comment by: anonymous, 1 March 2017
 
 Cannot agree more. Three years of loyal unclaimed custom to find a massive increase year on year to then find it half the price for new customers. Shame on you Tesco.

comment by: A customer, 15 February 2017
 
1/5   Terrible Sevice   31 January 2017

Reviewed By: Amy, Recommend:

Avoid this company, three months later and im still waiting for the refund of 1200.00, they was meant to pay my vet direct however they kept calling me for payment as it was so delayed...I have now paid the vet direct..everytime I call tesco they tell me they are looking into it still.....my dog now needs further treatment so I called them for pre-autherisation and they told me "we can not discuss another claim we settle this one" bloody cheek seeming as they are the ones delaying it...im so angry. I have used Purely Pets before and they was excellent when my dog had a throat operation and paid the vet 3200.00 the day after the operation

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Promotional SCAMS   31 January 2017

Reviewed By: Sarah Nel-Barker, Recommend:

This time last year I noticed a promotion offering 4000 Tesco points for signing up with Tesco pet insurance, it also included in that promotion, an add on was also required. I did everything on line, nothing else was asked of me. I called them after a few months, they told me to wait a few more months. Its been a year, I called them, they said because I didn't add in the promotional code, I was not entitled to the 4000 points!!!! I cancelled my policy straight away! They had not just lost me as a customer, I will also make this scam aware publicly

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip Off!   26 January 2017

Reviewed By: Mary Secker, Recommend:

I'm paying 61-75 per month (741 annually)for my 13yr old cat, that's more than I pay for my buildings and contents and car insurance (fully comp) put together I'm now retired so I can't afford this anymore, oh, and it's far more than I've paid on life insurance!!!! Have never made a claim for the cat so why do they think my cat is such a liability??? and I'm an ex veterinary nurse!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disgusted - Tesco don't give a damn about our pets   23 January 2017

Reviewed By: Karen Wilkinson, Recommend:

WARNING - TESCO PET INSURANCE CUSTOMERS! Having put in a claim for Molly's recent operation to remove a large Lipoma from her side in December, I am gobsmacked that Tesco have refused to pay out! They tell me that because it is over 12 months since I first went to our vet regarding a small lump on her side they will not cover my claim. The fact is, that the vet took a small sample and confirmed it was nothing sinister and advised me to leave it as it was not causing any harm to her is irrelevant. Tesco would rather I had an unnecessary operation on my dog, complete with all the risks involved with a general anaesthetic never mind the pain and upset my dog would endure. They would have been happy to pay for the operation if I had it done within 12 months of my first visit even though it was totally unnecessary at that point. Unfortunately as it has grown and I made the decision 15 months later (in the best interests of my pet and on the vets advice) to have the lump removed before it caused more issues due to its location next to her front leg they refuse to pay out! SHAME ON YOU TESCO!! You obviously don't give a damn about the well being of our beloved pets - well I have now cancelled my policy in utter disgust and i will now be getting my shopping and petrol from Asda...even though I have to drive past Tesco to get there!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beware of policy price hike   3 December 2016

Reviewed By: Gary Thomson, Recommend:

I insured my dog with Tesco from when he was a puppy, by the time he was 6 we had a few claims and he needed shampoo from vet every 2 months the premium went from Ł235 pe year to Ł795 per year .At which point I was forced to cancel

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have been insured for 9 years with no claims at all. My policy has increased enormously. Stopping everything with Tesco, no more shopping, no more banking and no more pet insurance, cheaper to pay as you go.

comment by: Paddy the Dog, 19 March 2017
 
5/5   Pet insurance   5 October 2016

Reviewed By: Deanna Davison, Recommend:

We had insurance on our westie who had a lot of skin problems,eventually we had to have him put to sleep,Tesco were brilliant with paying out, and very sympathetic when he died.We had no problems with claims and are going to insure our new puppy with them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 How can the disparity be explained? All negative apart from this review!! I'd be afraid to join up with Tesco!

comment by: Grace, 16 February 2017
 
  Add your own review


Review Tesco pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 3 + 2 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016