pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Pet Insurance for Staffordshire Bull Terriers
The Stafford is a pretty healthy breed, but it can be prone to a few genetic problems.

Hip and elbow dysplasia may occur in the breed, along with cataracts, skin allergies and cruciate ligament injuries.

Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Staffordshire Bull Terrier owners:

not very impressed david, 3/12/2018

my dog had swollen ear took him to vets they said he needed to have an op had this done £570 he is fine now paid bill and put in claim to marks spencers pet insurance 16th February 2018 I have been with them for a few years, only made one other small claim .it is now March 12th phoned up to see how much longer before they would pay me only to be told that i was not recognised on their system yet I have a standing order with them which goes out on 1st of month every month .After many more calls i was told they would have to pass it on to higher person in complaints department but this could take yet another 3 days before she could get back to me. so basically they are taking money out of my account for a policy which they do not recognise which in anybody's eyes is fraud, i do hope they resolve this matter very quickly before we go down the legal road to resolve this. I took out M & S pet insurance because i thought that least they are a good company I do not want to be proved wrong so I hope they resolve it fast

Company: Marks & Spencer   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Easy-peasy kerry stone, 2/8/2018

Setting up our policy for our new puppy was extremely easy and it was clear what was included in each level of cover and the optional extras enabled us to tailor make our cover to suit our needs.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Friendly & efficient Roberta White, 1/19/2018

Found this insurer on line when looking around as our current one had just given us a renewal £190 nearer than previous years with no explanation. We tried other bigger companies, then saw this one & thought it a good idea to try a company that only deals in pet lifetime cover. I won't say it was vastly cheaper but we were impressed with the answers to all our questions, the representative was very pleasant & helpful. As the company only deals with pet insurance & stated that in the event of a claim, their payment turnaround was usually within a few days, we thought we couldn't lose so went ahead with the quote & within seconds received all our documents by email. Hopefully we will never have to put them to the test but feel confident that should we have to claim, it will be dealt with quickly & compassionately

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Excellent Company Keith M, 1/3/2018

Now have both dogs, 3 yr old and 10 yr old, insured with Lifetime. Have only made one claim to date, which was quick and easy to claim and payment was made within 1 week of claim approval. This is in total contrast to previous insurer who eventually paid claim after approx 6 months and repeated calls and emails. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this company.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
pet plan Doug, 11/4/2017

Petplan had bill at vets for £178.00 for dental treatment as dog in pain they refused to pay out said cannot claim as had work previously and it's not within the year 12 months period.

Company: Petplan   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
The biggest con Insurance Company EVER J Attwood, 9/21/2017

I am just dealing with Sainsbury's now. Absolute nightmare. Clearly they are trying to get out of paying. I intend to report Insurance ombudsman, and my MP. Sick of these companies taking money under false pretences. I would never recommend Sainsburys.

Company: Sainsburys   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Rip Off, Waste of Money. Con Artists Annie, 9/10/2017

Petplan are scam artists. They don't want to pay up when your pet is ill. All they want to do is make money out of us. The idiot customer service person I spoke to said that we can't pay all claims. The are gaslighting monsters who only care about taking your money and giving nothing in return. I do not trust this company. If your animal needs expensive treatment, you will be out of pocket as they will find a reason not to pay up. Vets are getting paid for pushing these money stealers on the public. I cancelled my policy with these fraudsters. Don't waste your money on them. Just put the money in a savings account. I do not like the way they support over vaccination. After they have stolen my money, I emailed them and they continually ignore your emails. They treat customers like dirt. Petplan just want to hold onto your money and pay staff to abuse the public. Everyone's non payment of claims money is being spent on paying staff who do not serve us. We are paying their rates, office rent, gas, electric. This is not good enough. They are a law unto themselves. Rules are made up to con us out of the money we should get. Petplan is not there for the benefit of animals.

Company: Petplan   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Our experience of trusting Animal Friends with our Dogs insurance turned out to be an expensive lesson. We had paid them for several years, never making a claim until this year. Our dog started with a sore, discharging eye, so we took him to vets & was told it could be Conjunctivitis & was prescribed with some Drops & Tablets. The condition worsened so we went back & the Vet put some coloured dye in his eye & said it confirmed an Eye Ulcer, (more Tablets & drops). Still the condition worsened until he couldn't open his eye & was in alot of pain. We were told to take him in and he would be given general anaesthetic & his eye would have to be scraped to get rid of Ulcer then eye-lid stitched down until it recovers. This was done & he was given more medication. The bill came to over £600, so be sent in the claim. We were warned by Vets that they had had problems in the past when claiming! Weeks went by and after chasing them up, I was told they would not be paying out as our dogs records shows that 18 months earlier he had has a small Ulcer in the other eye & so this condition was not covered. The other ulcer was easy to clear up and the bill was less than the £70 excess we would have paid so we never claimed for it. We had no idea that this Ulcer in the other eye would be looked upon as a re-occuring condition. We feel it is just an excuse no to pay out. Please be careful when dealing with this Company. I WOULD DEFINATELY PUT THEM TO THE BOTTOM OF THE LIST.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Appalling and insensitive Frances Molloy, 7/26/2017

This is the worst insurer you could ever have. I lost my beautiful dog, Bess at the beginning of May. We are all still extremely traumatised by losing her. It is now the end of July and I still have payments outstanding. The customer service is appalling and to wait 3 months and still not have everything settled, for literally thousands of pounds of vet bills has significantly added to the trauma. I had her insured for 5 years with no claim with this company and it is shameless of them to allow a grieving owner to have to chase what is rightfully theirs. It's appalling. When you lose a pet you don't want to continually chase for money. It is painful enough. Avoid them at all costs. I intend to make a formal complaint when I have the strength to do it. There is absolutely no compassion in this organisation and you will have to fight to be paid. Go to anybody and it's worth paying more for a premium but avoid this company.

Company:   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Sainsbury's pet insurance Rob, 7/8/2017

I am Seeing RED, I have just received my insurance quotation from Sainsbury's Insurance, I cannot believe it is £556.14 for a year????? WTF Now you may think that's not bad he drives a smart car, he has expensive things in his house if its house insurance. BUT NO it F****ing Dog insurance £556.14 for dog insurance for one year, I have to pay £99 per claim plus 20% of the cost of a claim also, not made a claim, not been to vet an increase of £136 from last year renewal. I have just rung Sainsbury's and asked them to justify the increase, "they don't have to" (??WTF??) "that's the renewal cost take it or leave it." Guess what I left it, I would rather put £50 a month in a dog account and pay my vet bill when I have to, if I had done this 3 years ago I would have £1200 in it by now. This is a complete rip off, Insurance for a pet should never cost more than Car, House, Life Insurance or a funeral plan per month. Please share this with anyone you know it cannot be allowed to continue, rip off Britain or what

Company: Sainsburys   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
New Policy Missy, 6/8/2017

I`ve just insured my new rescue dog and found the process easy. Sensible small print and easy to understand exclusions, unlike my last pet insurance company who had so many hidden exclusions that I only received £140 out of the 450 claim for my old dog .

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
dreadful hike in premium Derek, 5/28/2017

our pet an 8 year old Staffy had a spinal clot which affected her hind legs. Vet hospital did scan cost £1200. thought would have to lose her but she made a full recovery.More Than paid out for this promptly. Renewal premium arrived and has gone up from £382 pa to £664pa, and we have been loyal to MoreThan for all these years.... disgraceful money grabbing

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
AVOID!!!!!!!!! Sam, 4/24/2017

Avoid this company!!!! They will not pay out for Claims. They really don't care about you or your animals. My poor boy has had a nail bed infection and because he had another problem a year ago with the same foot which I did not claim for they are telling me its the same problem and it's not. I will not be staying with them

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Co operative payment Anonymous , 4/21/2017

Very disappointed that we have to pay extra. I feel the monthly insurance premium is already very high.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
No problems paying out claim Charlie's mum, 4/19/2017

No problems paying out claim I’ve been with Vetsure for two years and had to claim a couple of times, I can honestly say that I have been very pleased with the advice and prompt payment of our claims. Keeping up to date with the progress of our claims have been reassuring as well.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
gone up 50% Lisa Murray, 4/6/2017

I have my Dog insured, renewal comes up and it's gone up 50%, I rang and said look I can get better quotes that this, and they said to leave then as they won't budge on the quote. Lovely! Although we did make a claim, just 2 months before the renewal was up, my vets said it shouldn't have effected it by that much though and so soon. that renewal was already in the post on the way to us before we had put the claim in anyway. Although I am not happy with the renewal, they did pay out for the claim

Company: helpucover   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Disappointed with our latest claim CJ De Villiers, 3/1/2017


Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Very helpful staff, well explained policy Dotty, 2/17/2017

I took out this insurance after my last policy being voided by the company (animal friends) as they decided they did not want to insure my dog because she was an irish blue staffordshire bull terrier. I discovered lofetime pet cover using google and got a quote online which seemed very reasonable and the policy seemed very straight forward and easy to understand, unlike some pet insurance providers. I telephoned, was connected almost immediately and was given very good customer service and they confirmed that my dog would be covered by their insurance policy. I think the amount i pay monthly now is reasonable and the 20% of the final fee that i have to pay if a claim is made is understandable due to my dog being 7years of age so more prone to illnesses. Cannot rate in relation to processing of claims as have not had to claim (and hopefully wont have to.)

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
The Worst L Green, 2/7/2017

This company is the worst pet insurer and offers very little in financial recompense if your pet is ill. As soon as a condition comes to light, they rewrite the conditions to exclude that condition and your right to claim the following year (and with an old dog, it would be usual for the complaint to continue). What with the excesses and the small print in there ts and cs, don't expect to get much from this lot! the worst choice I have ever made!

Company: E & L   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
OUTRAGEOUS Lisa , 1/25/2017

We have a Staffordshire Bull terrier who has been suffering for months with boils on both her front paws.We have been back to the vets and tried everything possible. The only option was to take her to a specialist for tests to get her quality of life back (she couldn't even walk). We have an Autistic son who's only friend is her and it's just broke his heart as she is in so much pain. With our vets backing we set off to see the specialist, thinking we were going to find a cause and with that a treatment... They have refused to even pay for the consultation !!! REASON.. DL vet says it's related to EAR infections that our vet has treated before.. this is appalling.. she is so loving but still in pain... houses / cars and belongins don't have feeling BUT animals and children do.. please look elsewhere if you don't want to put your beloved pets and children through this agony.

Company: Direct Line   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Absolute joke insurance R campbell , 1/11/2017

Absolute crap insurance,will look for and use anything they can find so they don't have to pay your claim. This company just wants to take your money,and not pay for anything. They do not have you or your pets welfare as their sole interest. Get insurance elsewhere.

Company: John Lewis   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Great Older Dog Insurance Jean Rose, 11/25/2016

Just taken out a policy that has saved me about Ł120 for the year. Very pleasant staff. would recomend

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
New customer Valerie, 11/8/2016

Last insurer wanted an increase of £53 per month so up to £86 despite my dog always being insured with them. No discount for loyalty and a routine email response to my complaint re the extortionate increase citing vets fees and postcodes followed by "we see you have cancelled the policy anyway" - no apology or sorry to see you go! I moved on the basis of lifetime cover and a good price. Website and process of getting insurance was easy. I hope I don't have to make a claim but the fact that the premium is less than half what I was paying, its a good start.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Pet claim POPSY, 10/9/2016

My dog had an operation on 21st July and after nearly 3 months the claim of £324.64 has still not been settled. The initial response was that they were looking into previous claims. Note I have had 1 approved claim which was over 6 years ago. Then they said the claim had been approved and was awaiting signature of approval. Then they said that there had been a large amount of claims and i was on the list awaiting signing off, when that would be they could not say.

Company: E & L   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Do not stay with Tesco Staffy lover, 8/26/2016

My premiums trebled over 3 years to the point that I had to reduce the cover to be able to afford 2 my dogs being covered. I think that £450.00 per month is excessive in anyone's book, I reduced the cover to the minimum but it was still £220 each month. As well as that, they are so slow in paying out at the moment I am waiting for £1400 that they underpaid me, despite my vet sending a letter to explain. Even though it's their mistake I am having to chase this money and deal with the fact that my poor old dog has to travel over the rainbow bridge next week.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Long long wait Miss Exasperated, 8/8/2016

Having a claim submitted by my Vets and received by Tesco Insurance during the first few days of July, I chased this up with Tesco over two weeks ago to be told a cheque would be with me the following week. Here I am, seventeen days later still waiting for my claim to be settled - perhaps they will be just as slow when they take my premium next month!!

Company: Tesco   Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier


ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American

See more >>>

PetInsurance Review 2016