pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Shih Tzu

Pet Insurance for Shih Tzus
Shih Tzus suffer from many of the health issues common to small dogs.

These problems include: patellar luxation (knee problems), eye and teeth problems and ear infections.

Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Shih Tzu owners:

First claim paid for years Jayne, 3/4/2018

Don't believe you will receive your voucher on sign up, if offered, you don't get it. Increased charge cause moved house. Reason must live on a busier road, erm main A road to an estate, also vet fees would be more expensive, erm you don't know who my vet is and I now live nearer to them. Not a valid reason for increase. First claim not paid out as we have in the interest of our dog and on advice from vet, decision to not immediately go for the operation and try medication first which we paid for, unfortunately, as soon as lump started to increase and irritate we had to have removed. Not expensive and wouldn't even go over my annual insurance charge. Have cancelled insurance am going to open a savings account and set up a standing order for future bills. I have for years paid into the unknown Tesco Charity

Company: Tesco   Breed: Shih Tzu
Poor service and terrible company Elaine lynch, 2/18/2018

Absolutely shocking rip off company who I would never recommend or use ever again, makes there own rules as they go and always think of an excuse not to pay you, petplan you are a disgusting company I'm gonna make sure everyone knows .

Company: Petplan   Breed: Shih Tzu
Very good Maureen Walden, 1/29/2018

We recently had to make a claim for our very poorly 19 month old dog and Tesco were brilliant and paid up promptly which took a lot of the worry out of a horrible situation.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Shih Tzu
Just cancelled mine Dog owner, 1/16/2018

After 2 years and with what i thought was a excess of about 75 put a claim in for the first time for 321 after many emails and calls they finally paid out 92. The excess had creeped up to over 200 my fault for not checking renewal but guess what no renewals ever sent. I cancelled direct debit because no one would respond but less than 24 hours after payment was due they contacted me lol. Policy now cancelled. Avoid with all costs

Company:   Breed: Shih Tzu
Is there a more cost effective pet insurer? S A Rymer, 11/27/2017

I am absolutley astonished that my premium over 4 years has gone up from 50.00 a month to now 73.55. I noted in the paperwork they have included and charge of 89.33 for Insurance Premium Tax and 4.00 donation. My yearly cost is 837.72 which when it comes to pets are worth every penny, but if it keeps going on like this I won't be able to afford it. Can anybody tell me of a good alternative insurer?

Company: Petplan   Breed: Shih Tzu
Really bad service & no communication BAXTER, 10/21/2017

Really don't know where to start..I've been with petplan since 8 weeks old in 2013, with no problems at all I'm a 4 year old Shih tzu chipped neutered male dog no illness or accidents. My Premium just jumped up by 10.00 a month to 42.60!! For a shih tzu! are you mad? or just taking the mickey?! Thats 3x more than the house insurance,mobile phone & car tax all rolled into one..?! I was told to simply either pay it, or get lesser cover. This would be for the amount you were paying before or cancel the policy..!!! No email no snail mail, in fact no contact at all, just increase my premium by 14.5% without notice! just increase my direct debit without notice? don't think that's even allowed?! The arrogance of this company is just beyond belief. My advice would be to find a better policy at a lesser price with better customer care & perhaps some feelings wouldn't go amiss. My disabled owner looks at me as part of the family, Petplan is a money making company who unless you agree with everything they do & say, then leave. Three of my friends have now cancelled due to my treatment, perhaps you should consider leaving too? I feel mistreated & robbed of my previous premiums which they took quite happily just so long as there is no chance of a claim . poor show Petplan insurance.

Company: Petplan   Breed: Shih Tzu
Watch out for the hidden 30 charge Paul C, 9/15/2017

I took a policy out with Purely pets and cancelled after two days as I was unable to afford it due to having to quit work due to terminal cancer. Theyre now hassling me for a 30 admin fee. There's no cooling off period like other companies so be careful when taking this out! Also if you read the reviews online they aren't very good at paying up when it's needed. It was proven after speaking to my neighbour, who couldn't get a penny out of them when her dog had to undergo an operation. AVOID like the plagued

Company: Purely Pets   Breed: Shih Tzu
Animal not friendly pet insurance Gary Jones , 5/21/2017

Poor customer service no response to complaint independent review carried out by their own department use the excuse of a preexisting condition to get out of claid settlement

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Shih Tzu
Avoid at all cost and it will cost!! parke, 11/17/2016

Paid for the Superior cover for my little dog, he needed a small simple op. phoned and checked to be told you are superior cover so there will be no problems turns out this is WRONG! Op Ł400, Asda pet insurance pay Ł170 the rest is not covered, so add the Ł230 in addition to what we pay for our annual premium and we are very out of pocket. Do not use this company put your premium in the pets bed as this is our first claim and our dog is 6 years old we would be quids in!!

Company: ASDA   Breed: Shih Tzu
The Best Mave, 8/12/2015

My Shih Tzu had to have a lump removed and had a biopsy, thank you animal friends for the quick response in paying out the claim. Happy to tell you the lump was benign and she is on the way to complete recovery. I have had other pet insurance in the past and I have found Animal Friends the best and the most reasonable. I love that they donate To other charities.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Shih Tzu
The Best Mave, 8/12/2015

My Shih Tzu had to have a lump removed and had a biopsy, thank you animal friends for the quick response in paying out the claim. Happy to tell you the lump was benign and she is on the way to complete recovery. I have had other pet insurance in the past and I have found Animal Friends the best and the most reasonable. I love that they donate To other charities.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Shih Tzu
Worst Company Avoid like the plague Mike, 8/1/2015

Just tried to make a claim for our dog who has an ulser on his eye and a cyst removed from his tail. Both claims denied due to the 365 day rule and conditions now added to the policy. 1st claim for the eye was denied due to a pre-existing condition and they have now added an exclusion dating back to 2013. The original issue that they are basing this on was a small cut under his eye, nothing to do with his eye or sight. 2nd claim denied for a cyst on his tail, they are claiming this was not covered because it went past the 365 days since it was 1st noticed and have now added an exclusion back to 2014. They are technically correct however the vet recommended that the condition only required monitoring not operating on. Animals Friends then had the cheek to suggest they always recommend that you follow the vets advice, ofcourse they do if it then allows them to add an exclusion and reason for not paying out. Worst company I have ever come across.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Shih Tzu
Misleading Clare, 6/25/2015

I bought the policy for my one year old shih tzu in January via comparethemarket website. On this site it clearly states for lifetime cover it costs 9 monthly and was the cheapest. I took this cover and in April my vets requested I check level of cover as there was a number of people getting what they thought were lifetime cover when infact they were getting basic. Checked our cover and found it was per condition and was put over to sales to change to lifetime as I had first requested. This new policy started April and our dog had developed some scabing on his head under the first policy. As the proper and 15 month more expensive cover was taken April this made his condition now pre-existing and the insurers refused to help. They accused me of increasing the level of cover in April just because I knew I wanted to claim when in fact it was due to the misleading prices on compare website. Having done the comapre check today it still shows lifetime cover for 9 monthly when in fact lifetime cover is 21 a month!!. Please check you have lifetime cover if you consider this company as what you buy isn't what you get then when you ring to rectify it you get a more expensive policy which now makes any conditions pre-existing which you can't claim for. I'm currently going through ombudsmen with these. If I could give them 0 rating I would.

Company: helpucover   Breed: Shih Tzu


ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American

See more >>>

PetInsurance Review 2016