pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Sainsburys pet insurance

33 Holborn
London
EC1N 2HT

phone: 0800 434 6359
website: http://www.sainsburysbank.co.uk/pet-insurance/index.shtml

Offers 3 levels of cover: Standard, Premier and Premier Plus.

User Rating
1.8
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Sainsburys pet insurance

2/5   NOT impressed!   2 October 2017

Reviewed By: F, Recommend:

My insurance has jumped right up! From just over 30 a month to just under 50! I just called and they said its because of her age and it will keep going up every year because of it!! She is 4! Never had any health issues etc either. What a joke!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   The biggest con Insurance Company EVER   21 September 2017

Reviewed By: J Attwood, Recommend:

I am just dealing with Sainsbury's now. Absolute nightmare. Clearly they are trying to get out of paying. I intend to report Insurance ombudsman, and my MP. Sick of these companies taking money under false pretences. I would never recommend Sainsburys.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   USELESS COMPANY   16 September 2017

Reviewed By: Angela Love, Recommend:

I am absolutely furious with this company. My pet has a calcium deposit on his eye. They asked for a Full Clinical History. I sent the full report from his specialist eye vet in South Africa. They advised me this was fine. I then received a letter saying the policy is cancelled. When I phoned in I was told that a report from a specialist eye vet is not good enough! They want a full vet report. Please explain this one!!! Is an eye specialist not good enough? Both my dogs were brought in to England from South Africa in July and have full health clearances. Why are they singling out the one dog because he has an eye problem which will never affect his eye sight? The disgusting thing is that they don't phone you when there is a problem, they just post you a letter and leave all the work up to you. They obviously don't care whether you have insurance or not. I have been an Insurance Broker for over 40 years and have never allowed any of my staff to treat Clients like this!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   What a rip off   15 September 2017

Reviewed By: Jackie, Recommend:

Do not use they refuse to pay me a claim , trying to say it was due to pre existing conditions it was a new claim for a new condition.they have also put the prices up so high so now I have cancelled and gone with someone else.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   MAY AS WELL WEAR BALACLAVAS   8 September 2017

Reviewed By: charlotte, Recommend:

To cut a long story short we went on holiday left our dog with a friend he got poorly he took him to his local vets as he lives 30 mins away from us.. he had numerous tests biopsy spend around 650 on bills to find out he was riddled with leukaemia. We had him put down at our local vets as he was so poorly and stressed asked sainsburys how do we claim as its 2 diff vets said oh that's fine put in 2 forms so they took the 100 excess from the 101 it cost to be put to sleep and now want a further 100 excess for the other bills from other vets so ive basically rang up to pay them 100 for no reason so in hindsight its cost me 200 to have my beloved dog put down because of these rats! absolutely fumin!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   extortionate   3 September 2017

Reviewed By: Julia, Recommend:

I have been paying for this insurance for 12 years now for my very healthy 12 year old lab with one claim when she was 3 years old in all that time. They have just put the insurance up to 1110.68 a year. Choose Pet Plan which may start at a higher rate but they do not increase payments like this. I am disgusted and will be putting the money aside instead.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Diabolical - Do Not Use Sainsbury's Pet Ins   22 August 2017

Reviewed By: Barden, Recommend:

Premiums expensive, will do anything to get out of paying a claim even when the vet backed up our claim, appalling customer service, extremely stressful dealing with Sainsbury's Pet Insurance Cover. Total rip off. Would give 0 rating if I could.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not take this insurance they don't play fair   21 August 2017

Reviewed By: Kat , Recommend:

I have two dogs which have insurance with Sainsbury's the premiums started low . but now are so high I can't afford them The increase this year is rediculas and they have also said I have to pay a excess of 125 pounds every year on any claim and 20 per cent too This used to be the amount you paid at the start of a claim but not any more Every Year I have rang them but they couldn't care less they don't seem to understand there dealing with an animal witch people love There hiking it up so I can't afford to pay it cause the dogs are older now Discusting

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not take this insurance they don't play fair   21 August 2017

Reviewed By: Kat , Recommend:

I have two dogs which have insurance with Sainsbury's the premiums started low . but now are so high I can't afford them The increase this year is rediculas and they have also said I have to pay a excess of 125 pounds every year on any claim and 20 per cent too This used to be the amount you paid at the start of a claim but not any more Every Year I have rang them but they couldn't care less they don't seem to understand there dealing with an animal witch people love There hiking it up so I can't afford to pay it cause the dogs are older now Discusting

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Extortionate Price Increases - Avoid   18 August 2017

Reviewed By: Poppy, Recommend:

I have just received my Sainsbury's pet insurance renewal for my dog which has increased from 480.96 to 714.34! The reasons given by Sainburys were due to increases in vet's fees, an increase from 10 to 12% in insurance tax and the fact that my dog is now 7 years old. She has a pre-existing skin condition but have made only one relatively small claim in the past year, so do not feel this is justified and intend to cancel and save the equivalent monthly payment to cover potential costs. I feel they have taken advantage of customer loyalty and the knowledge that once your pet has a pre-existing condition you are pretty stuffed if you want to find cover elsewhere. I feel totally let down by Sainsbury's and advise potential customers to avoid Sainsbury's pet insurance completely given this behaviour

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Extortion. Avoid at all costs! Should be outlawed!   16 August 2017

Reviewed By: Adam, Recommend:

I have been with Sainsbury's pet insurance for 7 years since my Lab was 8wks. Initial premium was reasonable but since then it has increased unrealistically high year on year. This years renewal through the door today now showing 110 PER MONTH! The company are unscrupulous and prey on caring pet owners. Have tried moving to another company but am stuck due to med history causing exclusions on any other policy. Even though the reasons I took him to the vet, fortunately turned out not to be an issue on inspection, any body part mentioned in his history would be excluded! The whole industry is a scam, but Sainsbury's take it to another level. Be warned!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Sainsbury's pet insurance   8 July 2017

Reviewed By: Rob, Recommend:

I am Seeing RED, I have just received my insurance quotation from Sainsbury's Insurance, I cannot believe it is 556.14 for a year????? WTF Now you may think that's not bad he drives a smart car, he has expensive things in his house if its house insurance. BUT NO it F****ing Dog insurance 556.14 for dog insurance for one year, I have to pay 99 per claim plus 20% of the cost of a claim also, not made a claim, not been to vet an increase of 136 from last year renewal. I have just rung Sainsbury's and asked them to justify the increase, "they don't have to" (??WTF??) "that's the renewal cost take it or leave it." Guess what I left it, I would rather put 50 a month in a dog account and pay my vet bill when I have to, if I had done this 3 years ago I would have 1200 in it by now. This is a complete rip off, Insurance for a pet should never cost more than Car, House, Life Insurance or a funeral plan per month. Please share this with anyone you know it cannot be allowed to continue, rip off Britain or what

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 over 12 years mine as gone from 99 to 1000 + 20% and 125 ex would not use them again

comment by: john, 16 September 2017
 
 Rob, these reviews are meant to be helpful instead of the swear words in asteriks, tell us more info. How old is your pet? I found my insurance increased but then again my dog is nearly 11! Its definitely more expensive than car insurance but you are more likely to claim on pet than car insurance too.

comment by: Andy, 11 September 2017
 
 When I had my Weimaraners it shot up each year once they got over the age of 8. At one point it was 80 per month for one dog when he was 10!!! I thought about cancelling it but let it run, a few months later I had a claim of 2,500 so for me it paid off. High risk breed apparently!

comment by: Steve, 3 September 2017
 
2/5   EXTORTIONATE PRICE INCREASES!   3 July 2017

Reviewed By: Jane, Recommend:

I have had my Labrador insured with Sainsbury's since she was a puppy and at first it cost me about 25.00 a month. She is now 12, and every year Sainsbury's have put the price up and this year my renewal fee has just come through at 127.00 A MONTH! I do claim for arthritis medication each month but I do not know how they can justify putting the insurance up this much! I'm afraid, like others, I won't be renewing the insurance this year. I

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I've had the same 55 per cent increase and excess being charged every year instead of once per claim plus 20per cent of the claim. No point in ha ring the insurance

comment by: Kat, 21 August 2017
 
1/5   dreadfull   14 June 2017

Reviewed By: 1, Recommend:

I have had to fight for every penny of a claim for my German Shepherd, I have been lied to and given incorrect advise. They first turned a claim down because my dog had not been ill before?I fought that one tooth and nail and they backed down, i phoned the help line for advise regarding complimentary therepy and was told i could proceed. After my dog had a course of treatment they wrote to me rejecting the claim. I now have a 500 bill. DO NOT USE Sainsburys pet insurence or quite frankly any sainsbury insurence product.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/5   No problem with claiming but high premiums   12 June 2017

Reviewed By: Julie W, Recommend:

I have a 12 year old bitch Labrador. I have had her since age 3 and always been with Sainsburys. I have been so lucky with her absolutely nothing wrong until the arthritis really got bad last year, and she has been on medication since. I have gradually seen my premiums go up even without any claims, but now the payments are 84 per month Although I do get it back in the cost of the medication. It feels a massive hike in price for just for one year of increased ill health for my dog. I am stuck now as no one else will insure her. But on the other hand they are prompt paying and without fuss. I give a four overall rating because of the customer care, and take off one as the price for that is a lot.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Trapped with no way out   25 May 2017

Reviewed By: Stewart @oxon , Recommend:

My cocker spaniel has cushings disease at 13 years its a rest of life condition..the tablets are 110 per month. They've just put the premiums up to 82 per month and deduct now 20% from the 110.. leaving about 6 per month.. given I have paid in for all those early years with no claims where's the fairness? Pet plan in future!! A watchdog should get hold of this lot...

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid - Go to great lengths not to pay claims   19 May 2017

Reviewed By: Kevin, Recommend:

I took a policy out for our Labrador in January 2017. At the time I disclosed that in December 2015 he had swallowed a collar while with his litter and needed treatment to pass-it, no exclusions were placed on policy. In February I made a claim after he'd had gastro-enteritis. The claim was rejected on grounds that this was pre-existing condition dating to the December 2015. Our vet contacted insurer to confirm these were two unrelated events but this was ignored - the insurer is clearly better qualified... Spent weeks going through a complaints process, but at each point the "evidence" used to diagnose the pre-existing condition has changed. Apparently, I was also expected to disclose that he'd had several loose faeces at the time we changed from puppy to adult food. This was included on vet's notes as he'd been in for boosters and a health-check soon after and we mentioned this to them. If being a normal dog is treated as a pre-existing condition they will always have grounds to reject claims. Please beware. Looking at other reviews I see this is standard practice to "create" pre-existing conditions from normal events and reject claims.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I think that not disclosing information to any insurer home motor or pet would be grounds to reject :/

comment by: Robert., 7 June 2017
 
1/5   DO NOT USE THIS AWFUL COMPANY!!!!   10 May 2017

Reviewed By: Jo Whiting, Recommend:

My six year old Pug/Cavalier had to have an x-ray on her leg costing 745.00 + other vet bills which came to 1000 + Sainsburys Pet insurance said because my dog was severely overweight(she is just 12kg) they were excluding any conditions such as: hip,leg,heart,eye,hormone,shoulder,carpus & arthritis problems. I did ask what am I paying you 25 per month for? They also said they would amend the breed on the policy to read Pugalier, I had put her down as a crossbreed, as you would not see a pug/cavalier at Crufts but they said this would cost a further 60 per year, and my claim had been rejected! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY ARE AWFUL! You have been WARNED.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Fab service   5 May 2017

Reviewed By: Kay Jackson, Recommend:

Just want to say that Sainsbury is the best pet insurer I have ever had. Very quick, fair and thorough. Piece of mind

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   avoid this company   27 April 2017

Reviewed By: Myles, Recommend:

Sainsbury's are happy to take the monthly payments but when you have to claim they try everything to get out of paying out. I believe being over weight is a health condition and I should have declared it. Spoke to the vet and they've never had that before, been advised to go to the Ombudsman. I'll never recommend them, this was my first claim in 5 years of being with them

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Sainsbury's pet insurance   26 April 2017

Reviewed By: Harvey , Recommend:

Just gone from 136 up to 236 a month Sainsbury's you're a JOKE

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Pet iNSURANCE   11 April 2017

Reviewed By: Ann, Recommend:

Think very carefully before taking a policy out with Sainsburys pet insurance they sorted it out in the end and gave me 50.00 compensation because of the way I had been treated but it was a very unpleasant experience

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolutely disgusting.   5 April 2017

Reviewed By: Jenny, Recommend:

My 1 year old black lab has been diagnosed with end stage osteoarthritis and will probably not life many more months. This so called pet insurance asked for 10 years of clinical history, which my vet provided and they have now placed exclusions on my policy for arthritic hock, injury to the knee and uncomfortable hips. MY current claim has nothing to do with his hock or hips. My vet has now sent another letter informing them that this claim should be paid, GUESS WHAT? I now have to wait another 10 days for this to assessed for the 3rd time. If you are considering insuring your pet PLEASE look elsewhere. I will be cancelling my policy for both of my dogs.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Disappointed   30 March 2017

Reviewed By: Mrs Pearson , Recommend:

After 10 or more years of loyal custom they have decided to up my dogs monthly premiums to a ridiculous amount. Yes they have been good in paying for various treatment but it seems that due to his age of 10 and a half they think they can take the Micky. Very disappointed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Disappointed   29 March 2017

Reviewed By: Mrs Pearson , Recommend:

After 10 or more years of loyal custom they have decided to up my dogs monthly premiums to a ridiculous amount. Yes they have been good in paying for various treatment but it seems that due to his age of 10 and a half they think they can take the Micky. Very disappointed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   AVOID   8 March 2017

Reviewed By: Laura Graham, Recommend:

I made a claim for my 4 month old puppy un December and im still waiting to hear anything! Every time i call im told my claim is being assessed by another department so they cant give me an update, i cant speak to a manager and i cant soeak to anyone in that department!! 4 months its been going on and still i dont have my money back. Utterley useless.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   WILL NEVER USE AGAIN!!!!   27 February 2017

Reviewed By: Sarra Legg-Galvin, Recommend:

My dog was insured with them for many years and we finally had to claim for diabetes and pancreatitis. These claims went through with no problem. However when my dog was 10 the insurance more or less tripled. Sadly my dog was then put down and the policy cancelled with a refund of a months insurance refunded straight away. My dog was put down on the 14th November 2016 and I am still waiting for my claims (vets as well) to be settled!! Every time I contact them I get a different person with a different reason for the delay. Even registered a complaint with the Complaints department and 2 weeks later still waiting to hear from them!!! A diabolical way to treat people who have lost their family pet!!!.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Positive experience !   23 February 2017

Reviewed By: Lennard Du Toit, Recommend:

My 8 year old dog (boxer X American bulldog) had 2 surgeries in 1 week. One was to remove a mast cell tumor and the other one was to remove periodontal disease. The total bill was 1,900 and I was really stressing about not getting the money from sainsbury's pet insurance as I was reading all these bad reviews online. I mailed them the claim and literally within 5 days I had a cheque through the mailbox for 1,575. The rest was obviously excess etc. I would say that if you know your insurance is 100% up to date, especially if you had insurance since the dog was a puppy, then you would be fine. Do not fall for all these negative reviews ! PS. Obviously your monthly payments will go up as the dog gets older, so dont freak out about this when it actually happens.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't use sainsburys   22 February 2017

Reviewed By: Jo, Recommend: N

Our then 4month old puppie had 2 elbow operations .5 months on and a lot of chasing phone calls sainsburys say they are not paying out for our claim. We have both our dogs insured with them and will be cancelling both policies.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Do not recommend   11 February 2017

Reviewed By: L. Butler, Recommend:

My insurance premium has just risen by 54% and the percentage I pay is now 20% on a dog that is not even 10 years old (goodness knows what it will be when she hits 10!) How can they justify this? They can't - that is the answer. My dog has a chronic medical condition, so I've now got to consider continuing to pay these extortionate charges or paying the cost myself. Very worrying. Go with Pet Plan: reputable insurers. My friend pays the same as I do, for a 14 year old dog, of the same age, also with a chronic medical condition. I wish I'd done this in the first place. Don't be lured into accepting lower premiums when the dog is young; in the long term this does not pay as I have found out for myself.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Steer Clear!   10 February 2017

Reviewed By: Ms Wheeler, Recommend:

Sadly, Sainsbury's insurance Company business model is to 'hook' you in with low start premiums and then hike them up after that to the point where it is no longer affordable or seemingly worthwhile, due to high excess payments and exclusions. It is then difficult to transfer elsewhere particularly if your pet has any pre existing conditions as these will be excluded.basically, you're stuck! My cats premiums increased by 40% in one year. When I queried this, they said it was because vets bills had significantly increased. I had not had any claims though. In addition to this, I had moved to an apartment, where my cats had become indoor cats which lowered the risk of them being involved in an RTA, being attacked by animals or vulnerable to certain diseases. I said surely the premium should have reduced as the risk had lowered but No, they did not agree!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Sainsburys pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 2 + 0 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016