pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Rottweiler

Pet Insurance for Rottweilers
Rottweilers are a fairly healthy breed, but they can be prone to a few genetic problems.

Common issues inlcude hip and elbow displasia, osteochondrosis, bloat and allergies.
 


Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Rottweiler owners:

Unbelievable prices Conned Pet Owner, 3/20/2018

I have a 3 month old Rottweiler puppy who weighs 15kg. Pet plan are charging me 143 a month for him. that's nearly 2000 a year. They also informed me that they do not pay out for death by illness after the pet is 5 years old. This is a very young age to stop covering illness, which most things come under other than a car hitting them or a horrific accident. That's incredible given that I'm paying more for my insurance this year than my dog cost in the first place. My last Rottweiler only cost me around 1000 of vet fees in her entire life and had I insured her with petplan, it would have cost me 20,000-40,000+ depending on how much their yearly increases and age increases were, and judging on the comments on here, the initial price will undoubtedly double or triple over a pets life as they age. We've had quotes from other companies for MORE monetary cover in a vet claim for 50-70 per month. Why do petplan think they can charge this much? We trusted the vet and stuck with our 4 weeks free insurance that the gave us but now we will be cancelling and moving elsewhere. Even the Kennel Club insurance is less than half the price. If I put all of that into a pot, I'd have enough to pay for almost every eventuality myself within a few years, and puppies are very cheap to treat due to their small size. Think very carefully before you go with these con artists... I'm cancelling within my 14 day cooling off period and getting a refund. What a joke.

Company: Petplan   Breed: Rottweiler
 
Avoid at all cost..they lie Steph Wilkinson, 2/20/2018

I received my renewal through and as anyone went online to compare. I submitted the quotes with my dogs info 8yr old Rottweiler and legal and General came out at 42.43 per month for the exact same policy as I currently have and pay 59.12 for. During my current policy I had one claim for my dog of which they didn't pay out on the whole claim i ended up forking out 2200 of my own money aswell. My renewal increased to over 88 a month. I accepted the fact my policy would increase however the difference in cost I felt was unjustified. When I called them on the 3rd 4th and 5th Feb 2018 I was fobbed off and was told the increase is due to my dogs age breed and claim. Well this can not be the case as my claim increased my policy by 29.34 per month and not the 46 increase from what the policy is now being sold at. I made a formal complaint on the 5th Feb and was advised I would hear from the complaints department and the team leader Sammy would call me on the 19th Feb. This didn't materialise so yet again I was left chasing it. When I called on the 19th she had gone home and hadn't bothered. Another team leader told me she would call on the 20th after speaking to the complaints department, again this didn't materialise so yet again I chased it only to be our through to the complaints department to find no complaint was ever passed to them. This company has no care or compassion for customers and all about earning the money! Absolutely disgusting legal and General you should be ashamed of yourselves!!

Company: Legal & General   Breed: Rottweiler
 
Absolute joke do not use Sam, 4/21/2017

Don't be conned into thinking that as its legal and general and they have been offering various insurances for years that you will get a good service. WRONG on every level they are incompetent and think that we the customers must have been born yesterday . Denied receiving my claim forms only for me to receive them back a couple of days later stamped and dated by them for me to alter the dates on them . Stay clear you will just end up getting angry and stressed

Company: Legal & General   Breed: Rottweiler
 
Pleased we took Cover B Reynolds, 9/3/2016

Our rottweiler was hitting the older dog mark and it was difficult trying to get an insurance that we thought would be good value and give good cover. Read the reviews on vetsmedi and insured with them. Then we had bad luck with our otherwise very healthy dog, as he went and did his cruciate ligament in after only a few months cover with vetsmedi. Need not have worried as from beginning to end of our claim and our dogs operation it went very smoothly and no stress. Pleased and will reinsure with them again.

Company: Vets Medi Cover   Breed: Rottweiler
 
So Grateful!! Danuta , 12/11/2015

We are so grateful to vetsmedi for getting our claim paid! It's been a stressfull time with both doggies getting poorly at the same time and then we thought there would be some issues with the claim but they have been so helpful on the phone. Always getting back to us and chasing the vets for information that they need. I would recommend them to anyone for their amazing service!

Company: Vets Medi Cover   Breed: Rottweiler
 
Disgusting Customer Service J Jones, 7/15/2015

My dog was suffering with a lame front leg, after exploratory X-rays and various pain relief the bill totalled over 500, before I could make a claim the vet diagnosed him with cancer and was put to sleep. I made a claim for the previous tests and cancelled my policy as I longer had my dog. Purely pets paid my claim minus 99 excess and 15% of claim due to the dog bring over 8 and subsequently took the remaining 280 owed to me and offset it against the remaining 9 months premiums!!!!!!!!! And have written to me to say that I still owe them 90. I complained as had my dog convienently died near the policy renewal date I would have had all the money paid back to me, I also said that of course people would claim potentially before their pet died for the cost of treatment, isn't that the whole point of insurance? And was told that I shouldn't have claimed. No empathy as not only have a lost my pet, I am also severely out of pocket after trying to do the best for my dog. Disgusting

Company: Purely Pets   Breed: Rottweiler
 
BEST INSURERS EVER AMY JONES, 6/17/2015

AFTER HAVING MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH MY PREVIOUS INSURERS NOT PAYING I CHANGED TO E&L.THEY HAVE SO FAR PAID OUT FOR A BREATHING PROBLEM AND A TOE AMPUTATION ALSO KENNEL FEES WHEN I WAS IN HOSPITAL FOR TWO WEEKS FOLLOWING AN ACCIDENT.I HAVE NEVER HAD ANY DISPUTE ABOUT TREATMENT OR PAYMENT ,THEY PAY MY VET DIRECTLY AND I ALSO INSURE A CROSSBREED JACK RUSSEL/CHIWUAWUA WITH THEM,WHO SO FAR HAS NOT NEEDED TREATMENTS.I AM ASTONISHED AT THE BAD REVIEWS.

Company: E & L   Breed: Rottweiler
 
Less money for a better insurance cover! D. Reynolds, 5/11/2015

I recently had the renewal for my Rottie and the monthly payments had risen by 40.00 per month to 93.64. I have to have insurance for my own peace of mind but panicked because I knew I just couldn't afford this every month. I came across Lifetime Pet Cover and got a quotation online for 70.59 for a superior cover. I rang Lifetime Pet Cover for more info and they were very very helpful and friendly and understood my worries of insuring with a new company. I feel happy and confident that choosing Lifetime Pet Cover was the right choice for me and my boy. Thank you to Louise for your help and putting my mind at rest :)

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Rottweiler
 
Disgraceful Nickaberdeen, 3/16/2015

Absolutely shocking customer service. I recently moved from a big city to the quiet countryside. I informed aviva and they said my policy was increasing by 150, which I begrudgingly accepted as it was lifetime cover I had with them. Anyway long story short after five years with them, and with two months passed on the renewal, they decided that my policy was not increasing by 150 and that it was actually increasing by 850, for no reason what's so ever, and all I was told was it was not them that set the amount. I would strongly recommend people avoid them at all costs as I believe it is just a way for them to avoid covering my dog in the years that he is more likely to need cover. So after paying 50 a month for the last five years for lifetime cover I have had to change to a better company.

Company: Aviva   Breed: Rottweiler
 



Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016