pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

PetPlan pet insurance

Great West House (GW2)
Great West Road
Brentford
Middlesex
TW8 9DX

phone: 0845 077 1934
website: http://www.petplan.co.uk/

Largest and oldest pet insurer in the UK. Offers several levels of pet cover.

User Rating
2.5
out of 5

add your review


Visit Website

Reviews of PetPlan pet insurance

1/5   Awful   27 July 2017

Reviewed By: Louise Flower, Recommend:

Have a 10 year old poorly dog needing an MRI to diagnose a possible brain tumour. Petplan wont pay as he had an unrelated ear infection in 2008. Absolutely rubbish service, my vets are furious. No duty of care to a poorly animal. Don't buy this insurance the service is rubbish and my pet is suffering. We need to find out what's wrong with him before making a decision on whether to end his life and they really don't care. Absolutely disgusted

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Took my money!   19 May 2017

Reviewed By: Loz, Recommend:

Puppy came with a free month of Petplan policy. I started to look round for a policy and thought, oh well, the vet seems to advertise this company, I'll go with them. Did it all on line and they swiftly took the money from my bank account. That was over a month ago and after emailing them, phoning them I have not received a policy, apology or a phone call. I have now had to go through my bank to get my money back. If this is what their like at this stage heaven help if you need to make a claim!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Finally a company that pays out   4 April 2017

Reviewed By: Harley, Recommend:

I had problems with previous petninsurance company and learnt my lesson. Price was low for a reason i didnt get a penny paid out. Having now claimed from Petplan i found them fast at paying put and my policy didnt go up because i claimed. Best out there

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Petplan insurance scam artist   23 March 2017

Reviewed By: Ben collins, Recommend:

Awful company would advise anyone never to ise them happy to take your money until they need to pay out dog in car crash refused to pay anything towards the costs tried to say because he had cancer before that was durle to the injurys in a car crash never heard so much bollox sent in endless letters from vets then waited 3 months didt even have decency to let us no they had refused until we contacted them avoid at all costs would never ever use these con artists again

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Save your money   23 March 2017

Reviewed By: Shane , Recommend:

There's only 1 bit of advice I can give.Save your money.Have paid 10 plus years of insurance with only emergency claims in the past .having had to have our animal put to sleep in tragic circumstances the insurance isn't worth the paper it's written on.never again,next time my money goes in a bank account!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   PetPlan Insurance   19 February 2017

Reviewed By: Saska, Recommend:

My oldest cat - 9 years old in May has been insured with PP since he re-homed him. Over close to 9 years,we've paid nearly 2500 in insurance. He recently had to have treatment for Systitis - Vet's bill = 199.24. We made a claim & received 68.19 = 34% of the cost. We know that since our cat is 7 years old now,there was an excess to pay,but we expected the fee minus the excess. If you look at the PP page regarding ''how PP premiums are calculated'',there's no full description at all of how it's calculated.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 You always should read the full terms and conditions when taking out a policy, this is normal for most if not all companys to add % at an older age when making a claim it can also be in your interests as well as the older our pets get the more issues are likely and by paying % each time it preserves some of the premium for a later date or ongoing condition

comment by: Marilyn, 13 April 2017
 
1/5   PetPlan Insurance   19 February 2017

Reviewed By: Mr.Kelsall, Recommend:

My oldest cat - 9 years old in May has been insured with PP since he re-homed him. Over close to 9 years,we've paid nearly 2500 in insurance. He recently had to have treatment for Systitis - Vet's bill = 199.24. We made a claim & received 68.19 = 34% of the cost. We know that since our cat is 7 years old now,there was an excess to pay,but we expected the fee minus the excess. If you look at the PP page regarding ''how PP premiums are calculated'',there's no full description at all of how it's calculated.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Agreed 100% As a new pet owner looking for insurance pretty much all other insurers state their excess payments policy upfront. Not so for petplan, even when I rang through to discuss they could not give me any concrete data on excess payments. I will be using other insurance suppliers who are clear about these costs....

comment by: Dave, 5 July 2017
 
 Agreed 100% As a new pet owner looking for insurance pretty much all other insurers state their excess payments policy upfront. Not so for petplan, even when I rang through to discuss they could not give me any concrete date on excess payments. I will be using other insurance suppliers who are clear about these costs....

comment by: Dave, 5 July 2017
 
2/5   Hike in insurance   16 February 2017

Reviewed By: Doreen, Recommend: N

Our dog will be eleven this year. Pet Plan have massively increased the monthly payment plus the excess and to cap it all they then take a further 20% off any payment you may be lucky to receive. It seems that like all insurance companies they are are happy to take your money but as soon as the animal gets to 10 years of age they penalise you. We pay less for our car and home insurance per year than we do for our dog. It is a complete rip off. They just won't listen to you if you do complain it's basically take it or leave it. It's about time something was done about the pet insurance industry. Basically if they can get out of paying they will do.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Not very good service   14 February 2017

Reviewed By: Jo, Recommend:

I have had a policy with them for 2 years and all of a sudden at the renewal the price has jumped up. I shopped around and found lots of other much better deals, i phoned them to see if they would match any and they wouldn't so i cancelled my policy. The following week i checked my bank statement and they had taken money out of my account. So i phone them up, spent ages on hold, and when i finally got through to someone to explain the situation they said they would refund the money. I paid via direct debit but that said the refund HAD to be sent by cheque and would probably take two weeks. I can't say that i would recommend their customer service as when i said this wasn't good enough and asked to speak to the complaints department she wouldn't let me.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't use Pet plan   9 February 2017

Reviewed By: 1, Recommend:

Dreadful company. Look elsewhere.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Forget them!   2 February 2017

Reviewed By: KittiesRus, Recommend:

I have been with Petplan for ten years (with my two older cats), as well as a further 9 years for the previous generation of cats. I had thought that I was on a plan for life cover for the two older ones). Turns out that I wasn't. OK, my fault. I am even willing to accept the 3000 limit per condition per cat. But to learn today that: a) the 3000 cover is for ONE YEAR ONLY, and that if you need cover for more than a year for a particular condition, you can't have it and b) nor will they allow a pet with a lower level of cover be bumped up to a higher level of cover beyond the age of 8 ???!!! I can understand excluding dentals. I can even understand excluding pre-existing conditions before your period of cover. But to confine treatment to 12 months (since many problems with older cats are intermittently reoccurring) AND to refuse a higher level of cover I find beyond angering, particularly when I have paid relatively high premiums without complaint for close to 20 years. I'm voting with my feet, and encourage all who deal with petplan to do the same.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't do it!   14 January 2017

Reviewed By: Levente, Recommend:

I went for Pletplan as i believed as a trustworthy company, however my disappointment reached soon. I started to pay 65/month having the best package. Next year Pletplan increased this to 85, during which year i tried to claim for an illness, which Pletplan did not pay, finding excuses. The following year i received the renewal for 100/month. At this point i cancelled my policy. Don't do Pletplan. I was highly disappointed with their customer service which did not help at all, and the insurance was just climbing to the sky. My recommendation is to avoid at all cost!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   BETTER OFF PUTTING THOSE PREMIUMS IN THE BANK   12 January 2017

Reviewed By: FINN SKYE, Recommend:

To be honest, after 15 years of paying premiums for my border collie and almost 10 paying for my Lab, I'd have been better off if I had taken that money and put it into a separate bank account. Then I'd have a huge sum in my bank - if one of my dogs got a major illness I'd have the cash for it, if they didn't, I'd still have the cash! Pet Plan charge so much (50 per month now for my lab), and deliver so little, its just not worth it. Because of the excess charge, and now the fact that even after the excess we still have to pay 20% of vet bills, its NEVER good for incidental trips to the vet and MAY be useful if you get stuck with a major bill - but really?? Given how much they extracted out of us over the years, I'll take my chances with my next pet. I have to say that the final straw came when my collie, aged 15, had to be put down and they couldn't even cover the cost of euthanasia. They expressed their condolences for my loss though. Well thanks Pet Plan!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Recommend Yes BUT No!!   17 December 2016

Reviewed By: No name as i, Recommend: Y

After insuring my dogs with PetPlan for the last umpteen years I feel used and abused! Their premium charges have got nothing to do with the dog. I have 2 Alaskan Malamutes, one is 2.5 the other is 5. The 5 year old, we rescued last year. This is her first policy renewal and it went down from 42p/m to 40, yeh! I thought. The 2.5 year old, we rehomed 2 years ago so this is his 2nd renewal and it went up from 42 to 48! PetPlan could not explain it and would not redo, even though doing an NEW online cover quote gave the price of 40 p/m! They penalise customer loyalty and have now lost 90 p/m, but they wont care because I'm just a number. Claims made with previous dogs have always gone through without quibble and handled directly by the vets, so this is why I would recommend them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Have to agree - I paid into Petplan for ages and because of all the advertising/vets recommendation and hype surrounding them YOU feel almost guilty if you don't choose them, but I paid in for years with Petplan and then next to nothing and then moved one of my dogs as he was older and PP are rubbish for older pets. Tesco settled a claim for a rescue dog who had a spinal injury I knew nothing about and paid out within weeks of rehoming and woulld trust them everytime

comment by: Claire, 2 June 2017
 
 Use Tesco, I've insured my Westie with petplan and my JRT with Tesco, I lost my JRT last Christmas ,tesco' premium was 20 a month for an 11 year old dog ,the excess was 60 and they paid for her op and unfortunately when it was time they paid for her to be put down, pet plan on the other hand charge 46 a month (13 years old) and when he went diabetic on us and we put in a claim for just over a grand the excess was 120 and they reduced the claim by 20% therefore we received 670 , I wanted to… (read more)

comment by: Adie Barratt, 10 February 2017
 
2/5   very upset   11 November 2016

Reviewed By: jacquie, Recommend:

My dog alfie had to have his left knee operated on as his knee kept slipping out of the socket and the vets dealt wit petplan direct and they paid up straight away. Six months later he had to have the same operation done on his right leg because he had the same problem so we got it done. Petplan would only pay 149 towards the claim because in there opinion because it was the same diagnosis for both legs I was only covered for 3000.00 and that was al that was left from when he got his left leg done so now I am having to pay the difference which is 1800.00. I thought that I was covered per leg and not same diagnosis and thank god his front ones are ok. So am a little bit peeved because at the end of the day it was both back legs and they needed doing not his fault not my fault

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Exceptional Service   17 October 2016

Reviewed By: Stan , Recommend:

Petplan paid my vet direct when my puppy had an accident requiring xrays antibiotics and several overnight stays a matter of a day or so after taking out my policy. I appreciate not everyone has had the same experience but I cant help thinking that many are as a result of people who took out insufficient insurance, had breaks in insurance or expect to pay very little for insurance that can end up paying out a lot on your behalf because most people don't realise ho vet bills can be surprisingly high to the layperson. With the restrictions on pre existing conditions and limits on payouts for cheaper policies, I would now encourage anyone to get the very best cover they can afford as early in their dogs life as they can and chose the right insurer. Saving 100-200 a year by buying a cheaper policy is not such a good deal if it leaves you worrying about paying for some of the more expensive conditions / injury's your pet can get. Petplan seem to have a good reputation for not bumping up premiums as a matter of course and that's important too if you are potentially sticking with an insurer to get better benefits when it comes to avoiding exclusions for pre existing conditions etc.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Once your puppy is 8 you lose 20% of the cover ( I was asked to stump up 900 for my dogs cataract op, Tesco are better

comment by: anonymous, 10 February 2017
 
 Hi. Was your puppy well when it was vet checked and insurance was first taken out ? Thanks

comment by: Natalie, 15 November 2016
 
1/5   Dreadful service, am going to look elsewhere   20 September 2016

Reviewed By: D Smith, Recommend:

When I got my kitten, she came with 4 weeks free insurance with Petplan. Within days, I had to take to the vets as she had bloody diarrhoea but was well otherwise. I was told it was probably due to trauma of leaving her mother & being in a new environment & this was quite a common thing. It cleared up with treatment but came back again 2 weeks later. I called PetPlan to see if she was covered as more investigations were needed and it was time to renew the policy. On 3 different occasions they said she was covered so I took out the renewal and she had her tests done. Then I tried to claim on the insurance! 2 months and many calls & emails, later they are still refusing to pay out. They keep asking for her vet history before I got her. They have had that, a copy of my contract from the breeder to say she had been seen by the vet and had all her vaccinations etc and now they say they need a certificate of health! She never had one of these & when I looked up to see what this is, it's for travel purposes! I have no intention of travelling abroad with her & as I don't live in the USA, I won't be needing one to travel inter state! PetPlan are just happy to take premiums but not happy to pay out for claims. They don't call back when they say they will & all in all, it's a dreadful insurance company. I refuse to sit back & let them win so will continue to fight them but I will also stop paying them & go elsewhere. I'll also be warning as many people as I can about insuring with this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Petplan keep asking for medical history for my cat, which my vet has sent twice and Ive sent twice, but 2 months later still refusing to pay me over 700 for my claim. Not replying to any of my emails and fail to phone me back when promised. Terrible service!!

comment by: D James, 17 February 2017
 
 Exactly the same is happening with my claim for my puppy. I am still trying to get my claim made in ealy November settled. Dreadful service, with every excuse under the sun being given to avoid payment. I have never been so disgusted with a pet insurance company in 50 years of having a dog.

comment by: Carol, 27 December 2016
 
 I totally agree with you they used to be an excellent company but this is no longer the case. I am several friends have had problems with them this year, I am still am! I embarrassed that I recommend fed them to friends.. As well as being difficult about paying out the exclusions they put on in renewal this year were unbelievable. They will never have another penny of my money

comment by: yvette wheeler, 21 October 2016
 
 Hi I have recently signed up to petplan for my dog maya! I was just wondering if anybody could tell me if she is covered for all her injections? Thanks.

comment by: Rebekah, 28 September 2016
 
2/5   is 110 acceptable?   2 September 2016

Reviewed By: Leigh, Recommend:

I've have been with pet plan since I met my puppy 14 years ago. They have supported him through operations due to discuss problems and a broken leg. There have been no problems in getting claims resolved however when I took out the policy, my cover was unlimited vet bills which are now 12,000 capped. I expect an increase in premiums however 110 per month seems a little extortionate. Not only that, 12,000 capped fees as well as paying over 100 in excess and 20% of the final bill....am I to assume that if my pooch lives another 4 years that my premium will be 2000 per year?? There's just no end to the emotional blackmail people with pets are signing up to

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Do you know what, i can not find any pet insurance where the insurers don't try to get out of paying out so i am going to put the money in the bank and take my chances!

comment by: Looking for a decent pet insurance!, 22 June 2017
 
 I am in the same boat as you. Misled when I took the policy out 13 years ago. They change terms & conditions at will. Because of the unmentioned 20%, I now pay 200 per month to keep my dog in good health. Peace of mind, my eye.

comment by: Lynda, 16 January 2017
 
5/5   Do this   25 July 2016

Reviewed By: Jason, Recommend:

I seriously cannot fault Pet plan at all. The Key thing with this pet insurance is that, at the very beginning you pay the premium and get the 'FIT FOR LIFE' cover. This will cover your pet for life long treatment of the same illness/es.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Yes I'd been with Petplan 15yrs for my dog. Never claimed once until last month. Paid out 165 but got a Case Closed email back as my 130 excess and 20% (of total claim) exclusion meant I got nothing from them. This starts again every 12 months so with an annual premium over 500 I would be paying out almost 800 before I got anywhere near a payout. So,

comment by: Aggrieved, 21 May 2017
 
 Don't bet on it we had a horse insured from birth but when we made a claim Petplan would not pay out. The horse was seen annually for terry and injections by vet. We had some minor claims but in end Petplan failed to pay.

comment by: Paul t, 11 February 2017
 
 120 excess and you lose 20% on top of that and the excess is recharged at each policy anniversary even for existing conditions, I've just cancelled after 13 years of insuring my dog

comment by: Adrian Barratt, 10 February 2017
 
5/5   Amazing   7 July 2016

Reviewed By: Bow & Ollie, Recommend:

Been with Petplan for years and had no issue have 2 small cats had there issues at the start paid the excess one bill would have been 3000 but only had to pay the excess brilliant! dont listen to the haters!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Once at the age you can't go somewhere else you lose the excess plus 20% it doesn't sound much but my dogs op was going to cost 900 for my bit

comment by: Adrian Barrat, 10 February 2017
 
1/5   DEVASTATED   6 July 2016

Reviewed By: mandy, Recommend:

my dog requires a CT Scan ?operation for suspected tumor on bladdar ,,petplan took 11 days to refuse a paypout to my vet and i didnt even receive a letter from them ,,,now i am paying for medication until her symptons get so bad that she will have to be euthanised

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Im so sorry to hear about your dog 😔 What was their reason for refusing? I'm currently debating who take out pet insurance with for for cat. Charlotte

comment by: Charlotte, 13 September 2016
 
 I am so sorry for you. The distress for you and your beloved pet. I urge you to contact their head office when you feel strong enough. Send email and a recorded letter of complaint. This kind of thoughtless behaviour is outrageous . Thinking of you .

comment by: Anne Sheppard, 10 July 2016
 
1/5   Pet Plan "RIPOFF"   18 June 2016

Reviewed By: Joh-anus Horobilis, Recommend:

My 1st dog now 6 yrs old. When I 1st took out Petplan I was amazed how much the insurance was, as a pup i got petplan cover from the breeder, he had earmights petplan covered this treatment, then when I continued the insurance with petplan after the breeder cover they considered it a new claim & not a continuation!! 1st RIPOFF. Well 6 years on & all little illnesses never come out over my excess amount of 75 so pay out of my own pocket, into the hundreds (most cured with chicken & rice diet!! Vet RIPOFF'S). Now my renewal figure is 65!!! a month for 4,000 vet bill cover, 1 million liability cover, SO THAT'S 780 A YEAR, MY X5 CAR COVERS 50,000 & 10 MILLION LIABILITY FOR ONLY 440 PER YEAR!! PEOPLE WE ARE BEING RIPPED OFF, VETS PROMOTE THEM AS THEY PAY THEM QUICKLY, WHEREAS FOR A VET TO GET THERE MONEY OUT OF THE LIKES OF TESCOS INSURANCE IS A PAIN, OH DEAR WHAT A SHAME. Well i've voted with my feet, & cancelled my insurance, i'll put the money as that's 4,680 i'm saving over the next 6 years into premium bonds or something & heck earn a bit of interest on it also. & yep when asked: well it's the breed of dog Sir, it's where you live Sir utter nonsense (his a pedigree Weimaraner) People vote with your feet!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Premium Bonds and get interest? Are you sure?

comment by: bob, 11 January 2017
 
4/5   Hassle free payments & service   30 May 2016

Reviewed By: Sharon H, Recommend: Y

I have had Petplan for the last six years of so for all my my cats (Siamese). Having previously used Premier Help U Cover anc Co op which other pets in the past. Petplan do a very good multi pet discount and I currently pay around 48 for life time cover up to 4000 for all three cats that are around 5 to 6yrs of age.. I have recently had to put in a claim for a very high vet bill for one of my cats and Petplan paid up within ten days and paid straight to my vet. Paperwork was hassle free and I have found that if the vets are aware your pet is insured by Petplan then they generally will allow you do a claim direct even with very high amounts and they seem to process the claims promptly and with little hassle. On reading previous reviews of Petplan I am quite taken back at some of the poor service that some people have received from Petplan and some of the excuses for not paying up given by them.. But from my experience I have had none of them.. What happens when it comes to renewal time, I wwait to see how much my policy amount will of gone up by as they generally do.. However, in Petplan defence I have not seen a dramatic rise in premiums in the last few years as my cats get older and I would normally expect that you would always pay a bit more anyhow for pedigree breeds. But so far so good..

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Poor service, will do anything not to pay out   19 May 2016

Reviewed By: Denise, Recommend:

AFTER BEING WITH PET PLAN FOR OVER 8 YEARS WITH NO CLAIMS, THEY HAVE REJECTED MY 293.61 CLAIM BECAUSE I DID NOT TAKE MY DOG FOR A DENTAL CHECK UP EVERY YEAR! KNEW ABOUT BOOSTERS BUT THE DENTIST! BE WARNED DONT GET CAUGHT OUT LIKE ME!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 That is completley Normal with insurance you have to have the check ups and boosters the trick is to read the small print and your full policy terms and conditions everything you need to know is in black and white

comment by: Marilyn, 13 April 2017
 
 this doesnt usually mean a dentist, most good vets will include a dental check in the annual healthcheck at the time the booster was given, they will usually write on the notes any abnormalities/problems so i would tell petplan that your dog DID have a dental check at the healthcheck, tbh they wont know any different!!!

comment by: Me, 20 October 2016
 
 The policy does state that you are responsible for taking your dog to the vet annually for a check up, else they are not covered.

comment by: Phil, 10 August 2016
 
1/5   Ear exclusion   15 December 2015

Reviewed By: Linda Gormley, Recommend:

Our rescue dog developed an ear condition Otitus the veterinary hospital asked how much she was insured for and l stupidly told them about 4000 . The vet then went on to say ok we will do a scan and she can stay overnight ...when we went back they told us she needed an operation to remove her ear canal......after which they said she could sta in the hospital for 3 or four nights....when all complete the bill came to a surprising 3760.02 .......just a few pounds under what she is insured for......now pet plan have refused to pay due to ear exclusion policy........very angry

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 hi if ear conditions were excluded , how can you expect that to be covered ?

comment by: petplan, 30 December 2016
 
 Angry at pet plan, vet or yourself ? I've never had a vet ask how much is your policy for! Seems you didn't read the policy and got ripped off by the vet!

comment by: Ha ha, 15 October 2016
 
1/5   Rubbish - complete rip off!   23 November 2015

Reviewed By: Cassie Moorton, Recommend:

I went with pet plan as I had heard good things about them. When I I initially signed up, the woman didn't know what she was talking about and j had to talk her through it, but I just put it down to her possibly being new or something. I have received my renewal and they had increased it by 40%. I called them and the lady told me that it was due to an increase in claims, which is what they all say. The lady told me that it did look slightly high so she would look into it and get back to me. A week later...... Nothing. So I called them again and the lady told me that the last woman shouldn't have even looked into it as the quote is correct and they can't do anything for me and my quote stands. I thought insurance companies were bad but to nearly double my quote and tell me its because more people have claimed! What a rip off! So I asked to cancel and she happily did. Worst customer service, won't go with them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dying puppy and they just don   9 November 2015

Reviewed By: Benson, Recommend:

My message to them after months of calls and still no response I am yet to get my money refunded for my puppy ct scans and radiology tests etc from over 2 months ago ...... And at 23 weeks old and he weeks left to live ....... Multiple calls to you letting you know I need the money to buy his pain relief ........... I stopped your payment of 140 per month and you were on the phone within 24 hrs threatening to stop my policy!!!!!!!! I will if not contacted or refunded this week make it my personal business to have every pet owner ...... Dog rescues and alike ( of which I am a member of several) ...... Vets surgeries and the general public aware of how you find this reasonable practice........ My puppy's name is Benson and has support world wide ........ I live in BR5 ..... He is a dogue de Bordeaux and you have owed me over 2000 since September.......

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Glad I read this. I won't be insuring my little fur baby with them. Sorry your little pet so poorly.

comment by: Julie, 6 February 2017
 
 I Agree Pet plan! Oh yes they plan to rob us I have lost my litlle dog a Cavapoo she was 3 years old when she first took very ill, and the vet put her to sleep. But pet plan refuse to pay us

comment by: A Morriss, 5 October 2016
 
 You know you're not talking to petplan, right??

comment by: Dave, 23 June 2016
 
1/5   Disgusting service, unsympathetic customer service   26 October 2015

Reviewed By: Tilly, Recommend:

I called petplan to report my cat missing, as animal Search UK said if I called them and informed them, my sort of policy covers me up to 1500 for advertisement and reward when your pet is missing. I then called pet plan to confirm they would cover the cost of posers and flyers being made for my missing Tilly, they actually refused as they said I should have contacted a local vet within 5 days. She had been missing 6 days so I was only a day over this. The best part is... I actually work for a vets!! I also posted a letter to my local vets telling them Tilly was missing and enclosed a poster I had made myself the previous day as I tried to call them and they were closed. They still refused. I was absolutely disgusted. What was I paying my premiums for? The woman was the most rude sarcastic person I have ever spoken to and was totally unsympathetic to the fact my beloved Tilly was missing. I ended the call and then phoned back 10 minutes later to speak to a manager. I got through to another sarcastic woman who repeated the same thing about reading the terms and conditions, she also told me I have made missing posters myself therefore I can't claim for proper ones being made. How ridiculous. The woman then had the cheek to ask me to complete a customer survey over the phone. I have now cancelled my policy with petplan. Certainly won't be recommending them anymore. Unsympathetic, rude and sarcastic company. Luckily Tilly returned that evening and I have now insured her with a different company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent service   15 October 2015

Reviewed By: Margaret McEwan, Recommend: Y

Have had 5 dogs insured with petplan over 18yrs and have made numerous claims 2of them amounting to 2000-3000 and have never had any problems. When vets hear petplan is the insurer they don't ask for payment upfront and claims are always settled promptly.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   All claims paid   15 October 2015

Reviewed By: Charlie, Recommend:

Had a kitten with ongoing different problems for a year. Pet plan paid out over 3000 on all treatment including death from illness. Obviously had to pay excess a number of times but excellent service.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Horrible treatment of customers   25 September 2015

Reviewed By: Alice, Recommend:

I have had pet insurance with pet plan for over a year now for my cavalier king Charles spaniel. When he was a puppy he had a condition that affected his immune system which showed symptoms on his eyes, instead of looking into what the condition was the sales women put an exclusion on his eyes. I have disputed this fact with them because it isn't an eye condition and now because he has contracted a separate eye condition which needs no treatment and has no connection to the condition he had as a puppy they are refusing to remove the exclusion. I am disgusted in the way that they have dealt with me, no one is listening to me or the numerous letters from my vets. No body is listening to the facts, I have no issue with them putting exclusions on pre existing condition but to exclude an entire eye is just stupid. I care about my pet enough to pay 33 a month to make sure if he does fall ill he is cared for properly like millions of other loving pet owners and for the "number 1 uk pet insurer" to not give a damn about my pet or the customer who is paying 400 a year is horrid.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 our vet put to sleep our loving cat due to kidney failure...2 weeks later pet plan told us euthanadia and cremation are excluded. So be aware.Pet Plan insist that they do not cover these costs ! Stupid thing, as pets will die somehow someday just as us humans will. I am going to complain to the Ombudsdam anyway as i find this a bit contrary to our pets rights and the amount of money we paid for so long for nothing ?! ... what for to pay a life policy for 10 yrs if at the ende, when they die,… (read more)

comment by: Ceal, 13 May 2016
 
  Add your own review


Review PetPlan pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 5 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016