pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

More Than pet insurance

Ceefa Deefa House
35 Friday Street
Henley-on-Thames
RG9 1RX

phone: 0800 300 885
website: http://www.morethan.com/pet-insurance

Offers several levels of cover.

User Rating
2.2
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of More Than pet insurance

5/5   Super so far   9 February 2018

Reviewed By: Bryan Morgan, Recommend:

I have made a claim nearing the £12,000 mark. My cat had cancer with treatment provided at the Royal Dick Vet School in Edinburgh. Not had any fuss with a claim for £5,000 taking a bit longer due to the amount. Fair enough.... I am paying £13 per month the now with the policy due to be renewed soon. So dreading that letter. Lifetime cover policy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DO NOT USE MORE THAN ABSOLUTE RIP OFF   29 January 2018

Reviewed By: Mac, Recommend:

My poor dog was diagnosed with diabetes in February 2017 and unfortunately due to this lost one of his eyes therefore I claimed from my policy for his operation and everything went well however when I received my renewal this month boy was I in for a major shock, my premium went from £47 per month to £139 per month which is over 200% increase now I understand if you make a claim your premium will go up but come on an increase of over 200%. I feel that More Than are nothing short of loan sharks as basically they paid for his operation but are now going to make sure they get their pound of flesh, unbelievable, therefore policy will now be cancelled and instead I will put money away each month.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Awful company   13 January 2018

Reviewed By: Kathy , Recommend:

Such a stupid company the staff although very polite are completely incompetent. Cancelled my policy in November then they take a years money out I December. It's now January and I'm still reviving letters to pay again!.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Expensive   8 January 2018

Reviewed By: Peggy Reynolds, Recommend:

Huge premium increase at renewal. Avoid avoid avoid

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Huge renewal increase   6 January 2018

Reviewed By: Lara, Recommend:

I have been with More Than for 2 years and just got a renewal through for year 3. I reduced the cover last year from Premium Lifetime £12,000 to Premium Lifetime £4,000 as the cost was increasing. This year for Premium Lifetime £4,000 it's increased from £530 to £710. My dog just turned 11 so I understand she's getting older but we've made no claims and she's a healthy dog. I've worked out if it increases by the same amount every year until she's 16 we would pay out £7,000 in insurance. That's not including an inevitable increase if we ever have to claim. I'd rather put that money aside. I did a quote online as a new customer and the same policy costs £1500 a year so it does pay to stick with a company when your dog gets older and they get to know it's history, that is if you don't make any claims of course!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   RIP ........... SHORT FOR RIPOFF   29 December 2017

Reviewed By: ian, Recommend:

We paid £75 per month for 2 years one claim now they want £143.73 per month - so year 1 = £842.05 year 2 = £1,723.99 Dread to think if we stayed how much year 3 will cost. May be a good idea to go elsewhere or even put money into a savings account...P.S I did have my house plus cars insured with this company no loyalty, sad very sad...

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beyond   15 December 2017

Reviewed By: Simon, Recommend:

My Italian greyhound is 4 at the end of January. He's been insured with More Than for 3.5 years, with only one claim (this Sept) for a skin tag removal, for which around £100 was claimed, and which, by the way, they took around 6 weeks to pay. They have now doubled the monthly payment to £68. I have no intention of renewing and am also going to cancel my building insurance with same company. More than! More than what? it should be known, in future, as More than Double.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dreadful company   10 December 2017

Reviewed By: Ann anderson, Recommend:

I have my dog insured who is now 11 years old. I have had two claims this year. For small problems. I havenít claimed before this. I have ended up paying half of vet bill myself. They didnít cover all bills. Itís yearly premium is now due. Iím horrified, it has went from £258.19 to new price of £438.62. Double the price. I phoned and asked why this was acceptable. Didnít get any help at all, this is a disgrace and wouldnít advise anyone to use this company

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   TOTAL RIP OFF MERCHANTS   13 November 2017

Reviewed By: Regina Arthan , Recommend:

I joined 4 years ago with a Teacup long hair Chihuahua taking out for life cover. Unfortunately in first year dog diagnosed with liver condition which will be on going for life. Year 2 renewal went up by circa 45%. Year 3 up by 56%, year 4 up by 66% so now nearly a thousand pounds a year and my little dog is only 4. TOTAL RIP OFF wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy and need people to pass on this advice to all pet owners DO NOT TAKE OUT PET INSURANCE WITH MORE THAN! I'm stuck now because if I move to a different company the one and only condition my dogs ever been treated for wouldn't be covered. The government needs to get pet insurance companies regulated because it seems they can charge what they like and apply obscene increases year on year.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip off on renewal   6 September 2017

Reviewed By: sandra, Recommend:

I got my renewal quote and it had gone up by quite a lot ,so went on line and got it much cheaper ,went onto chat and asked them why[no explanation ] went back to buy at the cheaper rate and my time had logged out??? ,tried again and had to get another quote Guess what it had gone up to the expensive quote Rip Off

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip off insurance company   5 September 2017

Reviewed By: Ian, Recommend:

Do not use this company, all it seems to do is increase payments and find ways of not paying when your pet needs help.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip off don   11 August 2017

Reviewed By: Tracey, Recommend:

Have been with morethan for nearly 11 years with dog and cat insurance even though the premium kept going up each year. Only made 3 claims for the dog which was allergies related decided to exclude them from the policy and brought the premium down nearly half. My dog had a haemotoma in her ear, I phoned and asked if I could claim and was told yes, as long as it's not allergy related. I told them it wasn't. I put claim in and was declined because they said it was down to her allergies even though my vets said it wasn't. morethan vets said it was. Well, for a start they don't know my dog and haven't treated her either, so why go above my vet who treated her? They didn't even phone to talk to me to discuss it even though I'm the policy holder. I made a complaint and got declined again saying my vet had said they couldn't say if it was allergy related or not. After they sent an email to say not related, Morethan told me I could get 2 months premium payed back while i was waiting for the decision to be made, which I'm still waiting for. I'm absolutely fuming, they even sent me an email which I asked for, showing my vet had emailed them explaining it was not to do with allergies. They had also emailed me someone else's details of their pet and policy number. I have a good mind to phone the owners and tell them. I would not go near them. They do anything to get out of paying even after being with them all that time and all the money I have payed over the years to them. They don't even care. I've gone to the ombudsman now. I definitely would not recommend.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Go lie down in a dark room at renewal time   3 July 2017

Reviewed By: Don, Recommend:

My renewal quote has come in at an eye-watering increase of +66% on last year after claims of £400 for arthritis treatments in my dog's most expensive year. OK my dog is old now, 11 next so he's going to get worse. The business model is to insure young pets when they need little or nothing and then ratchet up the price at the point they might get ill, reduce the benefits gradually and laugh all the way to the bank because you can't switch. It's a form of financial hostage-taking. My advice to new pet owners. Don't insure with More Than certainly and probably not anybody else for that matter. Put an amount away each month in a vet account and you'll be better off. I'm sure More Than are not alone in operating this way. But they are avaricious and scheming in the extreme. They used to ask me how my dog was by name when I rang, as if they cared. Now they don't even make a pretence of being bothered. I think they want rid of the old sod but I'll look after him anyway.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Worst insurers ever   21 June 2017

Reviewed By: John, Recommend:

I wouldn't wish this company on my enemy. The customer has to pay a £300 excess and 10% of the bill (which is most treatments). Then only insured to £8000 and never covered for that conditiob again. They get you in with a low first uear of £15/m then by year 10 it's £124/m... and you can't move company so stuck with the rip off detritus that is more than. Pick ANY other company!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Shocking profiteering: premium up by almost 4x   2 June 2017

Reviewed By: Mark, Recommend:

Our renewal for accident only cover is nearly 4x what it was last year. When I phoned MoreThan to ask why, I was put on hold because the representative could not understand it either. When she came back to me, I was glibly told me it was £96 because this is the price for next year (!). When I pointed out for a second time that the premium is nearly 4x last year's and we have made no claim, I was told that the prices are 'system driven'. I presume that is MoreThan-speak for 'computer says no'. MoreThan could also not match the £ 58 which I was quoted on comparethemarket this morning for the same policy with them. Worse still, the small print of the renewal says that cruciate ligament damage is no longer included. My labrador has just turned 7 and has no history of any medical problems, bar a cut paw pad sustained due to a broken bottle in the woods (three years ago). I stopped taking full insurance last year because the premiums had gone up to £800-1,000 despite no medical problems with the dog. I think this is a repulsive example of profiteering by an insurance company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Shocked   31 May 2017

Reviewed By: Marta , Recommend:

I had insurance with them for 8 years for my cat, no claims at all, for a last few years they had doubled my premium almost by 100%, i called to cancelled the policy and woman from customer services seems happy i am leaving - she even did not try to offer anything to keep the client.....i do not recommend this company - they rip off the clients and seems to be proud of that - horrible customer service...

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible   28 May 2017

Reviewed By: Sammy , Recommend:

Been paying for 6 years for my dog, had one claim of £500 at the beginning of the insurance which of course increased our monthly payment, but other than that nothing my dog had to have a c-section and her insurance is now void, we did not try and claim on insurance for the c section but our dog know longer has any insurance. Paid of £3k over the 6 years for them to just void it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible   28 May 2017

Reviewed By: Sammy , Recommend:

Been paying for 6 years for my dog, had one claim of £500 at the beginning of the insurance which of course increased our monthly payment, but other than that nothing my dog had to have a c-section and her insurance is now void, we did not try and claim on insurance for the c section but our dog know longer has any insurance. Paid of £3k over the 6 years for them to just void it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   dreadful hike in premium   28 May 2017

Reviewed By: Derek, Recommend:

our pet an 8 year old Staffy had a spinal clot which affected her hind legs. Vet hospital did scan cost £1200. thought would have to lose her but she made a full recovery.More Than paid out for this promptly. Renewal premium arrived and has gone up from £382 pa to £664pa, and we have been loyal to MoreThan for all these years.... disgraceful money grabbing

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   More Than . . . . . a rip off   22 May 2017

Reviewed By: Tim, Recommend:

I have had my insurance since 2007 for my Border Lakeland cross. She developed a skin allergy last November I have currently made two claims of £75 and a £77 excess fee to get my money back. They take at least 6 weeks to pay the claims. They have now sent my renewal claim and it has risen from £426 p.a. to £741.33 p.a. because I have made multiple claims !!!! 2 for the same condition. TOTAL RIP OFF - STAY WELL AWAY. Got alternative quotes from 2 well known competitors and both offered less, with the allergy. I have also cancelled my Home insurance - they couldn't care less and refused to discuss other options. . . . .seems I'm not the only person who hates them

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Massive excess applied   20 May 2017

Reviewed By: James, Recommend:

Life time insurance, no missed payments. Sadly, my dog became ill with auto immune haemolytic anaemia and spent 2 weeks in hospital and eventually died. More Than then applied an excess of over £800 and refused to pay the cost of the dog, despite the fact that she was a young dog. The policy excess is set at £75. I'm extremely puzzled by the huge excess applied and More Than's refusal to pay the purchase cost. I will be taking this further.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I am looking to insure my 6 month old puppy with more than but since reading your comment I am having a rethink and going to check out reviews on other pet insurers.

comment by: Diane, 3 June 2017
 
1/5   Cat and dog owner Deb   12 May 2017

Reviewed By: Anonymous, Recommend:

Still waiting for settlement five months later. Just excuses all the time.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Very Disappointed   29 April 2017

Reviewed By: Terri Edwards, Recommend:

Feel totally ripped off. You do the right thing by insuring your per, we have insured our dog since birth with morethan, he had a one off operation to remove in infection on his paw and they a tripled the premium. There should be a limit to how much they can increase the insurance, we hadn't claimed for 7 years. would have been better off putting the money in an account.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Excellent company   22 April 2017

Reviewed By: Mrs Lee , Recommend:

I have had my Lhasa apso very ill since 2nd Feb he is know on the mend and my vets submitted Thier bill to More Than and it was paid without any dispute .. I've had no worries . More than have been excellent and i would highly recommend them ..

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My dog has been insured with MoreThan for around three years unfortunately in 2015 she became most unwell and since the for the last two years she has suffered numerous illnesses some serious and costly.Up until now they have been most helpful but now my dog has several ongoing claims running at the same time MoreThan are attempting to combine two ongoing condition s into one claim. There is nothing in their terms and conditions that says you can only have limited conditions. I questioned this… (read more)

comment by: Ann tucker, 21 May 2017
 
1/5   Scandalous...not to be trusted   21 April 2017

Reviewed By: Pete, Recommend:

Had my Springer insured with Tesco for many years, when Tesco became too expensive, morethan offered a better deal. Worst mistake I ever made. This dreadful company said my policy started on 28th December. My poor dog started breathing rapidly on 9th Jan, so I was confident she was covered. Took her to the vets and unfortunately we had to have her put to sleep on 16th Jan. When I tried to claim, more than said my poor dog wasn't actually covered for 14 days after the policy start date 2 days after she started with the symptoms of what was to prove a terminal illness. We paid out well over £1000 in vets fees only to find that in the small print of the policy we weren't covered....absolute rip off. I have cancelled my home insurance with more than and would not trust this company or any of it's subsiduries. Be very, very careful with these people

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Unhelpful adviser whilst munching on her lunch   11 April 2017

Reviewed By: Antonina, Recommend:

The adviser on the phone was extremely unhelpful whilst munching on her food. I felt like I have disturbed her. The adviser talked with long pauses sand I heard sounds of eating, clearly talking with a full mouth... When I asked her if she was having lunch whilst advising me, she replied that she was just eating some toffee. Wow, and you state yourself as a first class insurers.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolutely shocking   18 March 2017

Reviewed By: Helen, Recommend:

My lab is only 3, he has ED since 7 months old, so the first year we did claim on X-rays and vets visits, so last years increase was around 400.00 to 700 odd, I have just my renewal today and it is now 986. How on earth can they get away with daylight robbery, we did not claim at all last year. In terms of paying out they are very good, but they are theiving greedy b******s, I would certInely never recommend them or if I had another pet would I use them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Amazing   16 March 2017

Reviewed By: Suzanne , Recommend:

MoreThan have been absolutely AMAZING for me and my two dogs! I have MoreThan premium cover for a 3 year old collie and a 9 1/2 collie x springwr, my premium went up about £10 last year which seems more than fair considering I claimed approximately £6500 in the previous year, after my youngest dog needed spinal surgery! I have had to claim multiple times for the same issue from 2 different vets and a physiotherapist. I have not once been questioned over anything, simply asked the vets to claim direct which they did and were paid promptly. The Physiotherapist wanted to be paid per session by me and then I claimed it back and MoreThan paid within about 2 weeks if each claim form. My premiums did increase a lot when My eldest turned 9, however having looked around this is completely normal as with age comes issues. My premium for both dogs covered with the premium cover which is a lifetime policy and pays up to £12,000 per year and costs £47 per month, this was about £37 last year but after such a huge claim with no issues I believe this was reasonable, also consider if this was car insurance it would have shot up by extremely more. I have always found staff on the phone, helpful, polite and caring! I have no issue in recommending MoreThan pet insurance!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   What are the good for? Absolutely nothing   23 January 2017

Reviewed By: Terri Berg, Recommend: N

I have had my 2 dogs and (now deceased) cats with More Than for many years. They used to be great but not any more. I moved one of my whippet insurance s in December 2016 to another company as More than upped the cost by 70%. The new premium for my healthy 8 year old lurcher just increased from £840 in 2016 to £1122,50 for 2017. In 2015 the annual cost was £494. I will not be renewing with More Than. I tried calling them to discuss the whys and wherefores today - after hanging on to the usual 'we will be with you shortly...' I hung up. Tried again later, another 10 minutes - no answer. I recommended More Than to a friend early in 2016 for her teacup Yorkie puppy. 6 months later his testicles had not descended and the vet recommended removing them as he could get health problems and potentially die. The cost was £420 and More would not meet any part of the claim. In small print on page 39 it is excluded. What do they cover - not a lot if they can get away with it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Just received ny renewal through and it has increased again from last year 2016 which just below £600.00 l complained then and was told it was due to his age 4 1/2 and that l had made a claim in 2013 - complained and got know where - renewal for this year arrived yesterday and gone up again now to £801.67 they have said they have had increased policy and that l made a claimfor just under £60.00 last year theyntokd me that from taking a policy out this will increase year by year regardless of… (read more)

comment by: Bernadette Evans, 17 March 2017
 
1/5   Kennel / minder fees not paid   9 January 2017

Reviewed By: George, Recommend:

total knee replacementr, 3 days in hospital, 6 weeks at home for rahb and guess what? zero from MoreThan. Classic policy requires min 4 dyas in hospital and does not pay for kennelling during rehab. Let them spend a month with a new knee trying to work round a 3 year old golden retriever male!! That's £105 per week. They may be cheap but they are limited.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Kennel / minder fees not paid   9 January 2017

Reviewed By: George, Recommend:

total knee replacementr, 3 days in hospital, 6 weeks at home for rahb and guess what? zero from MoreThan. Classic policy requires min 4 dyas in hospital and does not pay for kennelling during rehab. Let them spend a month with a new knee trying to work round a 3 year old golden retriever male!! That's £105 per week. They may be cheap but they are limited.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review More Than pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 4 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016