pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Legal & General pet insurance

One Coleman Street
London
EC2R 5AA

phone: 0800 316 7570
website:
www.legalandgeneral.com/insurance/insurance-products/pet-insurance/

Offers 3 levels of coverage: accident only, accident & illness and accident & illness plus.

Administered by Ultimate Pet Partners and underwritten by Ultimate Insurance Company.

User Rating
1.4
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Legal & General pet insurance

1/5   Legal & General review   18 April 2018

Reviewed By: John Watt, Recommend:

Legal & General operated by ultimate pet partners. Worst insurance company I have ever been with, they are legal crooks. They never paid out for my dog zsa zsa, who nearly died when she took an allergic reaction to her yearly vaccination. Do not use this insurance company, they are appalling in every sense and a complete waste of money. Lindsay McConville and Mellisa Hutchins are the complaints handler’s, 1 word describes them both “Useless”.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dreadful!   5 April 2018

Reviewed By: Jackie, Recommend:

I too have just received a solicitor's letter and was unaware that I owe them any money!!! Please do not use this company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolutely horrendous-   6 March 2018

Reviewed By: Ian g, Recommend:

Didn't renew policy, sent cheque as requested to pay for final instalment. They lost the cheque then got a debt collection letter ! Try a much more professional company, I have never ever reviewed anything before don't want anyone to have to deal with the embarrassment of receiving a letter from a debt company. If have any doubt about how bad this company is then stay away.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible company   28 February 2018

Reviewed By: Colin obrien, Recommend:

As many of above they deny receiving claims from vets emailed 4 times posted and faxed to them when you ring someone else just lies to you still not been payed out for my dogs claim just hope I can insure elsewhere on renewal my advice steer well clear !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all cost..they lie   20 February 2018

Reviewed By: Steph Wilkinson, Recommend:

I received my renewal through and as anyone went online to compare. I submitted the quotes with my dogs info 8yr old Rottweiler and legal and General came out at £42.43 per month for the exact same policy as I currently have and pay £59.12 for. During my current policy I had one claim for my dog of which they didn't pay out on the whole claim i ended up forking out £2200 of my own money aswell. My renewal increased to over £88 a month. I accepted the fact my policy would increase however the difference in cost I felt was unjustified. When I called them on the 3rd 4th and 5th Feb 2018 I was fobbed off and was told the increase is due to my dogs age breed and claim. Well this can not be the case as my claim increased my policy by £29.34 per month and not the £46 increase from what the policy is now being sold at. I made a formal complaint on the 5th Feb and was advised I would hear from the complaints department and the team leader Sammy would call me on the 19th Feb. This didn't materialise so yet again I was left chasing it. When I called on the 19th she had gone home and hadn't bothered. Another team leader told me she would call on the 20th after speaking to the complaints department, again this didn't materialise so yet again I chased it only to be our through to the complaints department to find no complaint was ever passed to them. This company has no care or compassion for customers and all about earning the money! Absolutely disgusting legal and General you should be ashamed of yourselves!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Appalling Customer Service   15 February 2018

Reviewed By: D, Recommend:

I had Pet insurance before with this crowd and was appalled by their poor customer service. Once had a claim and waited and waited, had to chase many times to find out what was going on, replied to emails only if you chased and then took ages to respond, speak to anyone on the telephone and you can tell their knowledge and what exactly good customer service is, is in fact non existent. So when my policy came to an end I could not wait to get out. Unfortunately a few years later being now, I decided to look around again for another Pet insurance and was fooled when I saw a Pet Insurance policy that looked great on paper and with Legal and General, who you would think would be ok as a reputable company. How wrong was I. It was only when my policy documents came through, showing the wrong date of birth that I made contact by email - again still not had a reply and when I phoned to ask for the date of birth to be changed for my dog, they could not do this simple task, said their computers were down and that another dept will have to do this. It would take a week and that my quote may be wrong now. So I either wait to get the date altered or I can take out a new policy but wont be entitled to any online discount! It was not my fault in the first place. I then called again the next day in the hope that the date of birth had been updated only to then be told that it won't be updated until the policy now comes into force, of which time they could not tell me what my premiums would be!!!! Still now reply to my initial email, so I told them to cancel my whole policy as I shall go elsewhere. This service sounded all to familiar of what I had experienced a few years ago and yes when I looked closer it was Ultimate Pet Partners. So you think you are dealing with Legal and General, when in actual fact you are not directly, yet with an utterly poor company called Ultimate Pet Partners, linked to Legal and General. Personally would not touch them, nor trust them with dealing with any potential pet claims, Incompetent, non existent customer service, poor attitude, unhelpful, unknowledgeable. Look elsewhere, I have since and so glad I did. Beware!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all costs   4 January 2018

Reviewed By: Laurence, Recommend:

Please act on the majority of reviews on this site. This company are truly appalling and will drag out payments for as long as possible. I am still waiting to settle a claim for my pets operation in October and have had to telephone the insurance company and my vets as they are truly terrible. Avoid at all costs is my advice or you will end up chasing around for answers that should be provided to you as a customer. Never again. If there was a 0/rating I would add it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Terrible claims handling   6 December 2017

Reviewed By: Matt, Recommend:

I've shopped around most pet insurers over the years and can honestly say that this is the worst claims experience I've ever had. They will do anything in their power to drag out the process, seemingly in the hope that you'll just give up the will to live. Multiple "lost" forms (via email!), requested documents "not received" which the vet has sent multiple times to multiple contacts, no acknowledgment of received information once it does get through, a customer support team who seemingly have no means of communication with their own claims department etc etc etc. I guess you get what you pay for; the reason they're so cheap is clearly that they have no intention of ever paying out on a claim

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disgusting avoid   2 December 2017

Reviewed By: Douglas Grimshaw , Recommend:

Auto extend. Don't pay out. Force you to pay to leave despite auto renewal. Disgusting.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   AVOID   30 October 2017

Reviewed By: Tracey Hopper, Recommend:

Although reasonable premiums, if you actually need to claim they are very very slow and query as many details as possible with weeks in between replies, I have contacted them various times since my claim and they always say "next few days", this has taken two months so far with no sign of being settled. I will not use Legal & General for anything again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid   23 October 2017

Reviewed By: Kate , Recommend:

Terrible, avoid at all costs! Absolutley, no sense of what customer service is. Each and every time I have submitted a claim, I have also had to raise a formal complaint. Do not be fooled by the website stating it will only take 5 working days to process a claim, expect to wait 4 weeks at an absolute minimum! Just a really horrible company to deal with.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Great Service   15 August 2017

Reviewed By: Mrs Brennan, Recommend:

I took out this policy and was more than a little concerned after reading the reviews. I can honestly say I haven't had a problem, yes they take a little longer than my previous insurer but all in all a great service. The fact that they are also considerably cheaper insuring an older dog than any of the other companies I have come across I can't recommend them enough. I have spoken to customer services on a couple of occasions and have found them to be polite and informative.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Help me get out of this contract   29 July 2017

Reviewed By: Jacqueline , Recommend:

I am very concerned about this company and think Legal and general need to stop allowing this company to ride off their apron strings. I asked to get out of the insurance as they are not holding up to actually insuring my puppy (claim form sent first time march 2017) they have asked repeatedly from my vets the same information and from myself, they have amazingly lost x5 claims that have been sent via recorded post, email and fax. Who do l report them to so l can get out of it and pay a genuine company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not touch   28 July 2017

Reviewed By: Chris Burley, Recommend:

We have made 2 claims both rejected because the date I signed the form was before the date the vet signed it,paid eventually when we submitted .How do they tell you second class post after they after sat on it for a week. Whole process is designed to delay avoiding payment

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   FANTASTIC SERVICE   13 July 2017

Reviewed By: MRS GRAY, Recommend: Y

Would not have been able to manage with my dogs heart condition without Legal and Generals help and understanding during this difficult time. Everything was hassle free and everyone I spoke to were kind, helpful and efficient. I cannot praise them enough throughout this time. Even after my dogs death they were compassionate and helpful.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not use.....   5 July 2017

Reviewed By: Mike Robinson , Recommend:

Disgusted.. I am so upset with this firm.. after the dog receiving a diagnosis in December last year£500 later and a lot of tests I eventually put the bill in. Not all either. I was told it was pre existing.. well I know my dog and it wasnt.. what the hell. I'm taking legal advice over this as the dog nearly lost her eye due to tyldesley vets and these muppets.. then they said my installs 4tq are going to 30 a month.. it's disgusting and I will be reporting them to the ombudsman

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   AVOID!!!   4 July 2017

Reviewed By: Someone, Recommend:

Have to agree with previous posts and shall be taking my business elsewhere when the policy comes to be reviewed. Wish I had read these reviews first as I would have avoided. First claim with them and I have had question after question. And stupid stuff. Rather than asking all the questions once they ask one wait 2 weeks then comes another! Shocking!! 7 weeks this claims process started and now they inform me today that they can't process the claim so it's been cancelled and my get is to have to submit new forms so they can understand the claim! These people are amateurs!!! I will be making a complaint also to the insurance ombs person as this really isn't good enough. They spoke to my vet and x examined them too. Vet says they seemed to be trying to find any holes in the claims to get out of paying. JUST AVOID. I will be off after this policy expires. RUBBISH.?

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   AVOID!!!   4 July 2017

Reviewed By: Someone, Recommend:

Have to agree with previous posts and shall be taking my business elsewhere when the policy comes to be reviewed. Wish I had read these reviews first as I would have avoided. First claim with them and I have had question after question. And stupid stuff. Rather than asking all the questions once they ask one wait 2 weeks then comes another! Shocking!! 7 weeks this claims process started and now they inform me today that they can't process the claim so it's been cancelled and my get is to have to submit new forms so they can understand the claim! These people are amateurs!!! I will be making a complaint also to the insurance ombs person as this really isn't good enough. They spoke to my vet and x examined them too. Vet says they seemed to be trying to find any holes in the claims to get out of paying. JUST AVOID. I will be off after this policy expires. RUBBISH.?

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolute joke do not use   21 April 2017

Reviewed By: Sam, Recommend:

Don't be conned into thinking that as its legal and general and they have been offering various insurances for years that you will get a good service. WRONG on every level they are incompetent and think that we the customers must have been born yesterday . Denied receiving my claim forms only for me to receive them back a couple of days later stamped and dated by them for me to alter the dates on them . Stay clear you will just end up getting angry and stressed

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do Not Do It!!! Look Elsewhere!!   13 April 2017

Reviewed By: Kennedy, Recommend:

I have an older dog who needs daily medication. I have dealt with L&G on three occasions to make a claim and each time I have had to raise a complaint about their customer service ( or lack of), the last time going as far as the ombudsman. Do not give this Company your money the customer service you receive is truly shocking and the time taken to process claims is far too long at least five weeks. Wish I had never taken a policy with them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Customer Service that is BEYOND A JOKE !!!!   7 July 2016

Reviewed By: Eric Thomas, Recommend:

Great start --- ''NOT'' --- to setting pet insurance up with Legal & General for our dog today. Started by completing their online form in less than 5 minutes at 1100 this morning (excellent).........4 hours and 45 minutes later they STILL HAVEN'T GOT IT RIGHT AND THEY DO NOT KNOW WHEN THEY WILL........Or by failing to incorporate any pet vet history as they continue to leave it blank despite 5 PHONE CALLS MADE......is it there 'CLEVER LITTLE GET OUT' never have to pay out if there was ever a claim perhaps??????...........NOW THEY COME BACK TO ME TO SAY THAT ALL INPUT PROVIDED UNDER PREVIOUS VET TREATMENT IS THEIR GET OUT CLAUSE AS THEY HAVE NOW SHOWN IT UNDER EXCLUSIONS INSTEAD BECAUSE ANYTIME THAT YOU SEE A VET THEY DEEM IT TO BE A PRE-EXISTING CONDITION.........I.E. SHE ONCE LOST A DEW CLAW WHEN SHE CAUGHT HER PAW ON A STICK WHILST RUNNING......THE FACT THAT THE DEW CLAW GREW BACK MEANS SHE HAS A PRE-EXISTING CONDITION...............TOTAL GARBAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 When I called they explained that the computer generated the paperwork and sometimes doesn't add everything in. Therefore it is written in the history on the computer... so not sure where you got that information from but might be worth speaking to someone

comment by: Katie Fuller, 1 August 2017
 
2/5   Took months to review claim form   29 June 2016

Reviewed By: C McKee, Recommend: N

Due to "unexpectedly high amounts of claims forms being received", it has taken over two months from them acknowledging receipt of claims form to give a decision to pay out. The email I got saying they had received form said it would take ten working days. I have sent 3 separate claims forms which are all part of the same tail injury, hoping they would pay out in chunks as I wasn't sure how long it would go on for. I have now paid £2800 to the vets, Legal and General have agreed to pay out for first form(£1200) but other two have not been assessed yet. I think this wait is unacceptable for a large, well established company.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   If your dog dies you still pay for a whole year   14 January 2016

Reviewed By: Alison Carlton, Recommend: N

I had an older dog insured with Legal and General. I did not have lifetime cover because my dog was 14 and i did not think it worth it. My dog was very healthy and had only had 1 claim during her lifetime. I had insurance with L & G for a year then renewed with them in June. In July my dog became unwell and it turned out to be cancer. It happened very quickly and she was seen by a vet and put to sleep on the same day. The total amount was about £570. L & G said i had to pay a whole years insurance for her (even though she was no longer here)!! They ended up paying me about £30 after excess plus a percentage that they always add on for older dogs. If she had died a month before then i am sure they would have found another way to get out of paying me. Fed up with pet insurance companies, they never seem to want to pay up. You need to check small print to see if it says you have to pay for a whole year even if your pet dies.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 You presumably weren't paying for insurance on a monthly basis, your were spreading a year's insurance into monthly payments. Your argument about being asked to keep paying sounds about as ridiculous as asking for your all you premiums back from the year because you haven't made a claim

comment by: anonymous, 11 June 2016
 
1/5   Awful!   3 September 2015

Reviewed By: Don, Recommend:

Absolutely abysmal! They will do whatever it takes to get out of paying out. I appealed and got my vet to clarify the situation. These people denied receiving the letter that my vet wrote, scanned and emailed to them on 3 occasions, despite there being clear evidence on the vet's email records! I had to get a hard copy of the letter which I posted by recorded delivery and only then did they finally receive!! It took me a total of 6 months to get a portion of the money that I am completely entitled to back! Awful! Never again!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I am having the same problem they are taking months to pay out even though it is for same condition

comment by: JulI e massam, 9 October 2016
 
1/5   Shocking   26 February 2015

Reviewed By: Emma, Recommend: N

Called to ask why the direct debit had gone up, been automatically renewed. Claim to have emailed me which I did not receive, they claim I did and they would know if I didn't. Rubbish I run two business's and read my emails. To cancel now a £30 fee. So I asked to have written notification before the next renewal, well of course but any letters will cost me £10. £10 for a letter I ask you. Shocking company that I will never use again. I dread to think how unhelpful they would be if I actually needed to claim.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Legal & General pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 5 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016