pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Labrador Retrievers

Pet Insurance for Labrador Retrievers

Common problems for Labs include: hip and elbow displaysia, cancer, ear infections and patellar luxation.
 


Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Labrador Retriever owners:

Not suitable for purpose Larry, 7/24/2018

Horrendous experience. It would seem that accusing vets of not sending test results and being unavailable is the norm. It took 6 months for them to reject our claim much to the disbelief of our vet. The Company have decided that a blood test taken in early 2015 showed signs of the illness that did not manifest itself until January 2018. Our vet had no reason to believe that there was anything wrong at that time in 2015. We had to pay over £2000 in hospital fees. They have invited us to renew our policy even though they wouldn't meet any claim! Complete mis-sell.

Company: Legal & General   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
PLEASE DO NOT USE THESE GUYS !! martyn matthews, 7/20/2018

I have been with these guys with 3 pets for 7 years , they refused to pay a £900 claim as it was outside the 90 days claims policy , I cancelled the contracts in rage then tried to reinstate them as the dog is 13 , they point blank refused .PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPNAY AS IT IS ALL ABOUT SAVING THEMSELVES MONMEY AND THEY WILL DO WHATEVER THEY NEED TO USING TERMS NOT TO PAY !!! PLEASE BE AWARE !!!!

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
New Policy Gillian Baker, 7/19/2018

Chosen for our new pup for cover and value for money. Application dealt with quickly and efficiently and following a request for hard copy of documentation it arrived within two days. Very happy with service so far.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Great price & service Tim Sharp, 7/10/2018

I had a policy for my dog. Found Lifetime to be the best price and good cover. When a claim was made found them to be very quick and efficient at processing claim & making payment. Highly recommend.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Terrible - Feel Cheated ExE&L, 7/10/2018

Renewed last year and checked the changes made in blue as instructed. Shocked to find out they changed my excess (that wasn't in blue) had to pay £1400 vet bills. Worst ever insurance company I've dealt with. Following up with the FOS and CMA.

Company: E & L   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Highly recommended Judith Bowdenn, 6/13/2018

Excellent service, especially for older pets. Gives you peace of mind for your older pet. Overall rating 5

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
easy to set up Alan, 6/12/2018

no problems. new policy not had to claim yet.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
‘Death of a Pet’ Jo, 6/7/2018

Generally PurelyPets have been ok, they’re slow at paying up, so my vets have stopped claiming direct from them - I now pay up first. However, Ella passed away last week, she was almost 15 but apparently since she was 8 I haven’t been insured for her death. This wasn’t made at all clear, in fact on my schedule it says ‘Death of Pet - benefit £1000’ but I am now informed this doesn’t include dogs over 8. I took the insurance out with them over 6 years ago and that’s the only time I have been given their policy wording- this is something I should have asked for apparently, to check. I have suggested they remove this ‘benefitt’ from their schedule for all dogs over 8 yrs as it’s misleading.

Company: Purely Pets   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Such a con!! Rosie , 5/25/2018

Been with pet plan for 2 years and dreadful! Quick enough to take your money but painfully slow to pay out, then don't even pay out the correct amount! Claimed for £400 for a tooth extraction and they paid £212. They said the excess is £75 and then they take 10% of your claim!!! Steer clear!!!

Company: Petplan   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
First class Marjorie Mcconnell, 4/27/2018

Had to claim my lab was limping so to the vets we went, she had some x-rays and has slight Athritis in her left leg. Sent the claim off NO issues at all within a week the money was in my bank. Thank you so much . She is now on tablets which she only as when she needs them and is a lot better.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Lifetime insurance covers more better price. R. Tresadern, 4/26/2018

Setting up was easy. Premium was a lot cheaper and cover was larger. Only just started so not had to contact yet. Insurance certificates arrived very quickly.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Available only to existing policy holders Elise, 4/25/2018

I can't give this a review as I wasn't able to purchase it. By reputation NFU is good, but note that you can only get pet insurance as an addon to another of their policies such as home contents. Its not available as a stand-alone product.

Company: NFU Mutual   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Petplan - AVOID AT ALL COSTS David Standring, 3/22/2018

Awful company who will stop at nothing to NOT pay a claim. I simply made a Direct Debit bank account change and they used this as an excuse not to pay my claim as they said it was seen as a new policy! They then went on to exclude absolutely everything from the policy for 24 months which has been reported by the vet so they held no liability. They are quite simply Thieves....not insurers

Company: Petplan   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Woeful customer service and threatening letter Sue, 3/15/2018

Absolutely disgusted with m&s bank! Had pet insurance for our dog for a number of years and sadly had to have him put to sleep on 22 December 2017. Rang and told them of this and was advised to cancel direct debit. Today I’ve received a letter advising we owe them £170 and are now subject to a default notice!!!! Never claimed a penny over the years and paid in excess of £50 per month. Come on m&s where’s your compassion

Company: Marks & Spencer   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Were OK with me Paul, 2/27/2018

Our dog was insured with AF for several years but had a bad year with a troublesome paw infection and needed a stay at the vets with pancreatitis. Although it was difficult to check (their statements group stuff together in a way I still don't understand) they paid out what was due and pretty quickly. I think it helps if your vet's admin staff are on the ball. However, since he's nine now, they have doubled the premium if we want to renew so it's not all good.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
2 x excess for single op! Emily, 2/23/2018

My lab had an op to remove two lumps, I have been charged 2 x my £200 excess can’t believe they’ve classed it as two claims just because the lumps have come back different one lipoma and one hamartoma. Ridiculous how they can get out of paying and probably they’ll put my premiums up this year to cover the amount they’ve paid out. Been a customer for over 8 year won’t be renewing and certainly won’t recommend 😡

Company: Marks & Spencer   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Organised Chaos Jacquie, 2/9/2018

I have been with Tesco for a number of years. This year I noticed that they were overcharging me by £11 per month via direct debit, writing to me advising of a refund and then refunding it into my bank account. This has gone on for 10 months, they then wrote to me and said my policy had been cancelled, in the same post I had a second letter saying they were refunding £1,800 to my bank account. I contacted them, they denied the policy was cancelled, said that it had just been set up again and the funds paid had been transferred into it, However, in doing this they created arrears and sent money demanding letters. This has been going on for weeks. Like most other on here have found, the increases in premiums are ridiculous, just under £2Kk per year for 2 Labradors. Here is some good news, there is a new company called `bought by many` their terms are more favourable, they do insure existing conditions and they are a third of the price. Check it out, I have and its bye bye chaotic tesco!

Company: Tesco   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
NOT to be recommended Jonathan, 2/8/2018

We have had our dog insured on the Superior policy for six years. March 2017 we made a claim for a short stay in hospital for a stomach upset. The total bill was £512 of which ASDA pet insurance paid only £292, and that was after numerous phone calls. We have just received our invitation to renew her policy which has gone up by 72% from £552 to £951. We have of course advised them as to where to put their renewal !

Company: ASDA   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Peace of Mind Janet Smith , 2/6/2018

So pleased we had the Vetsure insurance. Its fantastic that the vets deal direct in the event of a claim More importantly it was very easy and speedy process when we had to use the Emergency vets and make a claim Thank you - Vinnie is now (eventually!) on the road to recovery! Excellent insurance and I recommend to everyone!

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Easy quote simple to set up Duke, 1/20/2018

I found the website easy to use and there were simple instructions to follow. Reasonable rates and good cover.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Very satisfied George, 1/18/2018

Very satisfied with the service and the price.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
No nonsense set up Justin , 1/16/2018

Quick and easy to set up and great prices too. Better cover for my old girl with her arthritis for 200 pound less than my renewal

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Best insurance I’ve ever used Jazz, 1/11/2018

My pet was unexpectedly diagnosed with heart failure at the age of 4 and referred as an emergency to a specialist unit. I rang Vetsure and found them caring and very understanding of my situation whilst remaining professional. They have proved amazing during this awful experience and kept in contact regularly. They could not have been more helpful and the fact that they have settled the vets bills directly has been wonderful during this very upsetting time. I have already recommended them to three people and will happily continue to do so. My dog will need medication for whatever time he has left and it has been a comfort to know that unlike some insurers he will continue to be covered for this distressing illness. My vet recommended Vetsure after a bad experience with our previous company who more than trebled our premiums after claiming a relatively small amount. I am so grateful that they did .

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Easy to set up. Julie, 1/3/2018

Clear website, simple to understand which cover I wanted, Seems very good value for the basic "just in case" cover, although I hope I never need to use it! Other companies look at my (healthy) 9 year old dog and would like to charge me the earth.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
very good nigel morris, 12/19/2017

Very easy to obtain insurance

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Easy to obtain a quote and a reasonable price Jan, 12/13/2017

It was easy to get a quote and explanation of the cover. Reasonable price.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 



Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016