pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Labrador Retrievers

Pet Insurance for Labrador Retrievers

Common problems for Labs include: hip and elbow displaysia, cancer, ear infections and patellar luxation.
 


Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Labrador Retriever owners:

Good price J, 12/10/2018

Just taken out policy so too early to say but happy with good competitive price

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Terrible, will get out of paying Natalie, 12/1/2018

Have insured by two dogs for 13 years, paying £256 a month. I put a claim in for £1,600 for an injury to my dog's molar tooth, he had cracked it upwards and exposed the nerve, he was not drinking. On the vet's recommendation he went to a specialist. Direct Line won't pay out saying he hasn't had a dental health check. Disgusting.

Company: Direct Line   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
One to avoid Mel D, 11/23/2018

Very disappointed! It’s seems they are happy to take your money but when you need them to pay out, they play awkward, and then refuse. I waited 6 weeks, then I rang and was told there was no problem and they would chase this up. Next thing - claim denied!! I won’t be recommending to anyone and definitely won’t be staying with them. When your dog gets old you pay more and more to these companies and get nothing back when needed.

Company: Petplan   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Extortion Lynn Mailing, 10/9/2018

Beware of insuring your animal with this company. Our silver policy started with a premium of under £40.00 per month, our recent renewal came in at £270 per month and two days later increased to £290 per month, the reasoning behind this was that the dog had been spayed (recommended by vets). The dog was spayed 4 years previously!!!!! I am suprised that a company like John Lewis would allow loyal customers to be treated like this. I will be referring this case to the ombudsman. In the meantime I have had to cancel the policy due to being held to ransom

Company: John Lewis   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Satisfied customer C Knight, 10/8/2018

Prompt settlement of claims. Very friendly helpful telephone staff.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Blackberry accident Blackberry , 10/8/2018

Very quick and easy to receive payment fro my dog after her road accident. Paid all my vets cost except the agreed excess so great piece of mind.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Good Service Jean, 10/8/2018

Found the Customer Service to be very polite and helpful.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Excellent service highly recommend Jan Pallas , 9/25/2018

Immediate response and no hassle

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Extortionate and unethical Martin, 9/17/2018

We've had exactly the same experience as many others here - one claim 16 months ago was dealt with efficiently, our dog has no ongoing issues and no claims in last year but recent renewal letter asks for 100% increase in premium. When we phoned to query this, expecting them to back down a little, they gave a series of lame, spurious reasons and did not seem remotely bothered to be losing our custom. We chose John Lewis initially because their ownership model is supposed to make them much more ethical than most, but now we realise their insurance is provided by Royal Sun Alliance and clearly they are just as unscrupulous and profiteering as the worst privately-owned company.

Company: John Lewis   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Wonderful advice Clive, 9/5/2018

We did our homework before we brought our dog in to our lives and the advice we were given was to opt for a lifetime policy. Within six months our fur boy had gone on to develop a sub-luxating hip and has since developed hypothyroidism requiring frequent blood tests and a daily intake of tablets all covered by his insurers. I take my claim form with me when I visit the vets and I'm always kept informed as to the progress of the claim.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Made things so easy Faye, 9/4/2018

When our puppy needed minor surgery, Vetsure made the process so simple and dealt directly with our vet, which was a big help. Very impressed.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
DONT USE MORE THA N!!! Billy, 8/16/2018

More than were absolutely fine as insurance when my dog was young but when he got to10 my insurance went up to £82 a month. now he’s 11 it’s gone up to £183 a month! That isn’t a misprint! He doesn’t go to the vets very often. He has arthritis and has tablets daily but the tablets cost About £60 a month! And I pay an excess of about £20 a month. I am absolutely disgusted and appalled that they have put their prices up this high and it is obviously for one reason and that is to price me out! It is daylight robbery and they shouldn’t be allowed to get away with it

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Faultles, good value & sympathetic comprehensive c Alastair Stuart , 8/14/2018

I have found Sainsbury's pet insurance reliable, honest, good value and truly sympathetic to our pet's needs. I cannot fault them on professionalism or fair charging. If I did not have this cover, my best friend would be chasing rabbits in the sky now. Thank you so much.

Company: Sainsburys   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Not suitable for purpose Larry, 7/24/2018

Horrendous experience. It would seem that accusing vets of not sending test results and being unavailable is the norm. It took 6 months for them to reject our claim much to the disbelief of our vet. The Company have decided that a blood test taken in early 2015 showed signs of the illness that did not manifest itself until January 2018. Our vet had no reason to believe that there was anything wrong at that time in 2015. We had to pay over £2000 in hospital fees. They have invited us to renew our policy even though they wouldn't meet any claim! Complete mis-sell.

Company: Legal & General   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
PLEASE DO NOT USE THESE GUYS !! martyn matthews, 7/20/2018

I have been with these guys with 3 pets for 7 years , they refused to pay a £900 claim as it was outside the 90 days claims policy , I cancelled the contracts in rage then tried to reinstate them as the dog is 13 , they point blank refused .PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPNAY AS IT IS ALL ABOUT SAVING THEMSELVES MONMEY AND THEY WILL DO WHATEVER THEY NEED TO USING TERMS NOT TO PAY !!! PLEASE BE AWARE !!!!

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
New Policy Gillian Baker, 7/19/2018

Chosen for our new pup for cover and value for money. Application dealt with quickly and efficiently and following a request for hard copy of documentation it arrived within two days. Very happy with service so far.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Great price & service Tim Sharp, 7/10/2018

I had a policy for my dog. Found Lifetime to be the best price and good cover. When a claim was made found them to be very quick and efficient at processing claim & making payment. Highly recommend.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Terrible - Feel Cheated ExE&L, 7/10/2018

Renewed last year and checked the changes made in blue as instructed. Shocked to find out they changed my excess (that wasn't in blue) had to pay £1400 vet bills. Worst ever insurance company I've dealt with. Following up with the FOS and CMA.

Company: E & L   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Highly recommended Judith Bowdenn, 6/13/2018

Excellent service, especially for older pets. Gives you peace of mind for your older pet. Overall rating 5

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
easy to set up Alan, 6/12/2018

no problems. new policy not had to claim yet.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
‘Death of a Pet’ Jo, 6/7/2018

Generally PurelyPets have been ok, they’re slow at paying up, so my vets have stopped claiming direct from them - I now pay up first. However, Ella passed away last week, she was almost 15 but apparently since she was 8 I haven’t been insured for her death. This wasn’t made at all clear, in fact on my schedule it says ‘Death of Pet - benefit £1000’ but I am now informed this doesn’t include dogs over 8. I took the insurance out with them over 6 years ago and that’s the only time I have been given their policy wording- this is something I should have asked for apparently, to check. I have suggested they remove this ‘benefitt’ from their schedule for all dogs over 8 yrs as it’s misleading.

Company: Purely Pets   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Such a con!! Rosie , 5/25/2018

Been with pet plan for 2 years and dreadful! Quick enough to take your money but painfully slow to pay out, then don't even pay out the correct amount! Claimed for £400 for a tooth extraction and they paid £212. They said the excess is £75 and then they take 10% of your claim!!! Steer clear!!!

Company: Petplan   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
First class Marjorie Mcconnell, 4/27/2018

Had to claim my lab was limping so to the vets we went, she had some x-rays and has slight Athritis in her left leg. Sent the claim off NO issues at all within a week the money was in my bank. Thank you so much . She is now on tablets which she only as when she needs them and is a lot better.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Lifetime insurance covers more better price. R. Tresadern, 4/26/2018

Setting up was easy. Premium was a lot cheaper and cover was larger. Only just started so not had to contact yet. Insurance certificates arrived very quickly.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Available only to existing policy holders Elise, 4/25/2018

I can't give this a review as I wasn't able to purchase it. By reputation NFU is good, but note that you can only get pet insurance as an addon to another of their policies such as home contents. Its not available as a stand-alone product.

Company: NFU Mutual   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 
Petplan - AVOID AT ALL COSTS David Standring, 3/22/2018

Awful company who will stop at nothing to NOT pay a claim. I simply made a Direct Debit bank account change and they used this as an excuse not to pay my claim as they said it was seen as a new policy! They then went on to exclude absolutely everything from the policy for 24 months which has been reported by the vet so they held no liability. They are quite simply Thieves....not insurers

Company: Petplan   Breed: Labrador Retriever
 



Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016