pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

The Kennel Club pet insurance

2b Alton House Office Park
Gatehouse Way
Aylesbury
Bucks
HP19 8XU

phone: 0800 369 90 90
website: https://www.kcinsurance.co.uk/

The Kennel Club offer Lifetime pet insurance for pet owners with 2 maxiimum benefit options. They also offer breeders insurance to protect puppies in their first 5 weeks of life. Administered and underwritten by Agria.

User Rating
2.2
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of The Kennel Club pet insurance

1/5   Beware of "continuous cover"   24 September 2018

Reviewed By: Grace Purdie, Recommend:

My puppy, from an assured breeder, came with the free 4 week insurance from KC. After about ten days I received a letter from them saying that to ensure "continuous cover" I should take out a full policy now. I did this straight away. Just two days before the free period ended my puppy was diagnosed with demodectic mange which resulted in several months of treatment, skin scrapings etc. until she was finally given the all clear. The KC insurance declined to pay the bill as they said it was a pre existing condition, because it was diagnosed before the policy proper started. Obviously my understanding of continuous cover is different from theirs. I had taken out my policy over the phone and had enquired about just this type of scenario and was assured everything would be covered. After a battle, they listened to my call recording, they paid out but when the renewal came in the price had more than doubled. I would look elsewhere for insurance.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Waste of money   2 July 2018

Reviewed By: Donna, Recommend:

I bought my puppy in January but was having problems with him within weeks of bringing him home. He eventually needed an operation after lots of tests to work out what was wrong with him. Have a bill for roughly £1300 and the kennel club, even after appeal, are not going to pay as they are linking it back to a urine infection which he had while still with the breeder which I knew about, and they say he has a pre existing medical condition so they aren’t going to pay. Absolute cop out, completely worthless policy. And it took them an initial 4 weeks to tell me they wouldn’t pay, then a further 4 weeks on appeal to still tell me they won’t pay it. You are as well not bothering having pet insurance. The sole aim of the Kennel Club Pet Insurance in my opinion is to do anything possible to not have to pay. They aren’t even any cheaper than lots of other insurers!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Overpriced and unwilling to pay out   7 June 2018

Reviewed By: Rob Dixon, Recommend:

Having paid £36 a month for 3 years (almost £1,300!!) I found 2 lumps on my dog, who after a £35 inspection by the vet had a £435 operation to remove both of them at the same time. The vet sent off the detailed information in good time, however after 6 weeks I still haven't received any money. I called them today and they told me the payment has nearly cleared, however the payment I'll be receiving is only £116!! I queried this low payment as it should be £244, but they've told me that as 2 lumps were removed I've had to pay 2 Excess payments!! Absolute thieves! The excesses required by KC are more than double most reputable competitors, and THEN they also add on another 20% excess payment which I already knew was outrageously high, but I presumed I was getting a better service! I have lodged a complaint and an appeal with KC which will no doubt be refused, so I will then report them to the Financial Ombudsman. They are a disgraceful, overpriced company that takes way too long to pay out; they're thieving, lying, manipulative and the worst option for pet insurance anywhere. STAY WELL AWAY!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Delayed payment   6 June 2018

Reviewed By: Disgusted, Recommend:

My 10 month old needed immediate treatment and the vets needed immediate payment which amounted to £1100....who has that kind of money in their pocket these days ....I have paid the bill and have put my claim in and expected a payment if not immediately ...certainly not after one month of waiting and still waiting ...the insurers had a very detailed description of my baby’s treatment all within the guidelines of my contract so it was a simple read and a simple agreement what’s the delay ?

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Outraged!   11 May 2018

Reviewed By: Karen, Recommend:

Having been a loyal customer with the Kennel Club for 9 years I have now deemed cover elsewhere, (Pet Plan). The KC have increased my insurance this year from £800 to £1400 and I have two dogs which meant I was paying just under £3000 insurance per year. How can any organisation get away with increasing by 80% in any one year. Having had several telephone calls I am still not satisfied of their answers. The reasons were 1) they have had a 'cap' on previous years increases (rubbish previous years went up by £300!) 2) Based upon postcode (vets costs do not vary that much across postcode areas). My biggest concern of all is that the Kennel Club represent the welfare of dogs in particular however what you are doing KC is forcing people to abandon their pets to the nearest dogs home. And don't blame your underwriters, you have the final say don't you? My advice to the public is formally complain like I am - many voices can make a difference and stop this exploitation.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Very disappointing   27 April 2018

Reviewed By: Karen, Recommend:

Took up insurance on recommendation of breeder. Unfortunately had to make a claim in February for an eye problem. Still not been paid. Poor customer service and communications. I think I will be cancelling and insuring with another company. Very disappointing for such a well known organisation.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Too slow in paying   21 April 2018

Reviewed By: Sara, Recommend:

I have a 7 year old whippet and was recommended the insurance by my dogs breeder. We made our first claim in December 2017 and were shocked at how long it took them to process the claim and pay (over 8 weeks). unfortunately my dog has needed ongoing expensive drugs and regular blood tests which means I am regularly paying £400 per month. I am currently waiting for about 5 claims to be paid. When I spoke with them I was advised they have a backlog and claims are taking 8 weeks + before they look at them. As I know this has been ongoing for the past 5 months I do not feel I am receiving the service I am paying for. I am concerned after reading other reviews that premiums have doubled. Unfortunately, it is not until you make a claim that you find out how slow the claims process is.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Still awaiting payout   19 April 2018

Reviewed By: Jo, Recommend:

I thought the whole point of insurance is that you get paid back on your claim. I have been waiting 4 weeks now because they are 'busy' I can't see any other businesses surviving that excuse. Mine is up for renewal, I will deffo be going elsewhere, petplan, my other insurer has paid out within days, should have stuck with them. Steer clear!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Very slow pay out   23 March 2018

Reviewed By: Mimi, Recommend:

I sent a claim 3 weeks ago and have not been paid out yet. I called up the customer service and the agent explained they are now assessing claims they received on 12th February and he couldn't tell me how long more it's gonna take for me. I claimed 3 times in the last four years and they always paid out in about a week (they aim between 7 and 10 days). It seems there was a system glitch in December which has affected the processing time but I don't want to hear excuses. In the meantime I also received a new policy letter, which has increased by £250 pa compared to two years ago. So It's time to consider a switch.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 How long does it take to read a discription of treatment and agree to pay out ....in my view 10 minuets at the most ...it’s either a yes or a no ..I was with pet plan and didn’t need to pay anything the vets arranged everything and after the insurers paid the vets I would then pay any excess if needed...done ...no messing ...

comment by: Disturbed, 6 June 2018
 
2/5   No not impressed   13 March 2018

Reviewed By: Teresa, Recommend:

Very disappointed cancelled both policies, 42% and 58% increases this year, customer services can give no reason, it is decided by the underwriters who don't take calls. Large excess plus 10% of the bill. If I had stayed with them would be paying £286 a month for two dogs! Will never use them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Problems with over charging +SKY HIGH premiums   7 February 2018

Reviewed By: Straffon , Recommend:

As a loyal customer for 10 years with The Kennel Club I have decided to leave them. Premiums have doubled in 2018 and this does not seem fair. £1600 + 20% for my 10 year old dog. ( 1 claim in 10 years) Owners are caught out when their dogs reach an older age. Probably better off looking after your dog with a healthy lifestyle and saving the money. My concern with the underwriters Agria insurance is that they have a new computer system problem where they are taking higher premiums ( more money ) from customers for their renewals than indicated. This means customers may be unaware of this unless you notice. Agria need to repay the customer. They are only doing this if you contact them. Please check your bill if you renewed in Dec 2017 onwards. Agria need to give all this money back that they over charged not just wait for customers to contact them. Contacting them is very difficult as they don't answer the phone. Sad to see a premium brand go so low.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Disappointing   20 January 2018

Reviewed By: AJW, Recommend:

Disappointed all round. Poor customer relations. Now cancelled. A very expensive insurance.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolute disgrace   18 January 2018

Reviewed By: Alex bull, Recommend:

Having been promised it was a lifetime policy only going up with inflation. My policy went from £1200 a year to nearly £2500 a year. The dog is only a year old.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Insurance premium doubled!!!   11 January 2018

Reviewed By: Ellie , Recommend:

I received my insurance renewal today and it's doubled £215 last year and this years will be £438. I phoned for an explanation and I was told all insurance premiums have gone up. I said it's not just gone up it's doubled in price. I was told as more people are claiming, vets fees in my area and the age of my dog. He's only a 6yrs old toy dog and we have never claimed. After saying it's unexpectable she offered me to increase the percentage of a claim from 10% to 20% and the premium price has come down by £200!!! What are they doing, are they trying to loss claims. We are the cat with them also and about to collect a new puppy looks like we will be looking elsewhere. Disappointed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Renewal price hike   30 October 2017

Reviewed By: Cedric, Recommend:

I am totally shocked today after receiving my 2 year old dog insurance ( I might add that I have not claimed ) so was baffled when last year it was £735 and this year £1300. How is this be justified

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Appalling Service   21 July 2017

Reviewed By: Mr Large, Recommend:

I tried to call them today 3 times on differing non free telephone numbers with an average waiting time for 15 minutes no answer before having to hang up!! Need not say more!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Will close down insurance with out a care   21 June 2017

Reviewed By: debbie, Recommend:

My pugs insurance was closed down as i missed a direct debit payment,I have a very sick dog,who now has a death sentence thanks to kennel club,been with them since both my dogs were puppys,They dont care.stay clear.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Unfortunately if you don't pay a company, the policy would cancel, sorry that your pug is unwell, can imagine the emotion triggered this review

comment by: Obvious?, 8 January 2018
 
1/5   DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! AT LEAST DICK TURPIN HAD   8 June 2017

Reviewed By: Geri, Recommend:

I cannot believe how misled I have been by this company. Foolishly, I considered the Kennel Club to be reputable, but how wrong I was. The salesman I dealt with was aggressive and hard sell in procuring my business and I actually felt compromised and somewhat threatened by him during his sales pitch – this should have been a warning, but I thought ‘no, this is the Kennel Club – they’ve got to be reputable’ – wrong! The salesman told me the policy would be £151 and that Kennel Club were categorically cheaper than Petplan, which is not strictly true – what he should have said, had he been honest, would have been ‘we will put your excess to such a ridiculous level that we will be cheaper than Petplan’. My excess was set at £160 with a further 10% excess. This will mean that should my bill be £360, the first £160 is paid by me and the £200 remaining will have a further 10% taken off, meaning that I will get £180. My vet cannot believe how extortionate the excess is and said in all her years of being a vet, she had NEVER seen such a high excess. As per other reviews, no mention of the excess or this bizarre ‘percentage excess’ was made to me by the salesman when setting up the policy. Despite telephoning them to try a (politely) resolve this, I found them to be condescending, patronising and very quick to point out that I am stuck with them now for the duration of the policy. I asked for a call back from their Customer Services and, unsurprisingly, this hasn’t materialised either. This is a cowboy outfit, avoid them at all costs.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not make my mistake   10 May 2017

Reviewed By: David, Recommend:

We had their top cover for 8 years (since my dog was born) with no claims. When she turned 8 years old they increased the price by over 40%. This is disgraceful customer loyalty. Do NOT go with them, please.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Shocking Service and Never Again   12 April 2017

Reviewed By: Mandy , Recommend:

I have had my Boxer Insured with the Kennel Club since he was a puppy,(free 12 weeks) he is now 8. Over the last few years his premiums have steadily increased from around £350-£400 when we took the policy out up to the £800ish mark last year. This year after speaking to the Kennel Club to renew my policy for the 9th year, I have been informed my renewal price will be £1,749 for a dog who has never been ill or injured and only attends the vet once a year for his annual checks and vaccinations which cost the Kennel Club nothing at all, you can imagine my horror. I have asked for a detailed explanation but to date have only been informed I was most probably one of their Customers who have been under charged their premiums over the last 3 years, so watch out, because from what I can ascertain from that, I will not be the only furious Customer this year. My last Boxer was insured by another Company and had numerous problems and operations to the tune of thousands, not once did they question, grumble of hike my premiums up. My Boxer is a Pedigree Kennel Club registered dog and the Kennel Club are not interested in his health and well being there only interest is in the money these dogs can generate for them. My advice find another insurance company

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I have just been notified that my premium with the Kennel Club is to increase by 125%. My dog is only one so this is his first renewal. We have made a claim but the kennel club insist they do not load premiums following a claim. I called them today and they basically said that their underwriters had under charged for the past few years! Most companies that made a mistake would take the knock themselves not pass the whole lot on to their customers. I have 2 other dogs that have been insured… (read more)

comment by: Jayne Hayward, 12 July 2017
 
1/5   really dissapointed   15 March 2017

Reviewed By: sarah spiers, Recommend:

recently had some some communication with kennel club regarding breeding i spoke initially when i took out the policy i was given the wrong information and i phone to change my policy i couldn't due to the wrong information i emailed to complain i was told some one would call me that day i never received the call its took over two weeks to get an out come and one that I'm not happy with i wouldn't recommend them at all i feel they were totally incompetent and to be honest wouldn't have confidence using them any more

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   28 days insurance actually only 14 days   7 February 2017

Reviewed By: P Robson, Recommend:

My puppy developed cherry eye within 7 days of having her. I was advised by the vet to have surgery as the cherry was too large to treat otherwise. I called Kennel Club and they sai that because the condition is classed as an illness and within the first 14 days of the policy that she was not covered by the 28 days free insurance. Miss advertising at its best

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I was also fooled by this. I thought I was covered with them and was choosing to take out a policy, but when I called to take it out I was told that my free insurance only covered accidents and not illnesses as my breeder didn't give it to me, they sent it to me in the post with his KC papers. So THEY gave me a void policy and now I'm unable to take out a policy with them as they won't cover his illness that was found during his cover with them. Con artists at its finest.

comment by: Angry customer, 20 March 2018
 
1/5   Look for Insurance - not with this company   27 January 2017

Reviewed By: Ann B, Recommend:

I have 4 animals insured by them 2 cats 2 dogs. I would say in the past couldn't complain really of recent everything is a query which is spun out as long as possible plainly they are looking to save as much money as possible but I don't notice that in the yearly increase in premiums. The dogs were insured from their breeders so can't have existing conditions - both have ongoing health issues. The cats are rescues and are now nearly 10 until now been very healthy.I dared to put a claim in on one of the cats All 4 animals are a problem to this insurer I have in the last month had 3 outstanding queries including a double excess claim which they chose to miss ( 2dog claims 1 cat). I would suggest looking else where for insurance I am stuck with them wouldn't use them again for sure. By the way make a complaint and it is logged in file 13 never to be dealt with or is it they have so many complaints they cant deal with them

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Just dont   17 August 2016

Reviewed By: Scott, Recommend:

Joined Kennel Club insurance as I had a free trial when I bought my puppy and, stupidly, thought the Kennel Club name would guarantee some standard of service. The price doubled within a year. I was told as I'd made a claim I was tied into another year at the inflated price. The customer service was shocking. Just don't think the name stands for anything. I felt this company would steal my teeth and come back for the gums. Consider yourself warned!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I bet you were give an introductory offer when you started your first year, people always forget this then complain when their premiums are higher next year.

comment by: Ed, 17 February 2017
 
 had a similar experience with k c insurance myself would never reccomend them or trust there 5 weeks free insurance again

comment by: carole hirst, 9 November 2016
 
 Did you have a claim in that period of insurance? If you did it is standard practice for all insurers to require the full annual premium. It's the same kind of principle as having a phone contract, if you want to cancel the contract then you are required to pay off the rest of it as you are paying for the handset as well.

comment by: A, 11 October 2016
 
5/5   Excellent .Thank You again Kennel Club   13 June 2016

Reviewed By: SS, Recommend:

Update:Just received confirmation letter Kennel Club have paid my vet direct minus £85 excess and the 10 percent I agreed to at the time of taking the policy out in return for lower premium.Excellent fast service and caring staff.Can't thank them enough I would not have been able to afford the expertise and wonderful care from the vets for my 11 month golden retriever who has Steroid Responsive Meningitis without them.He still needs on going treatment at present but is responding well.I RECOMMEND THE KENNEL CLUB LIFELONG POLICY to all pet owners.Trust me IT COULD SAVE YOUR PETS LIFE.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Thank you kennel club   8 June 2016

Reviewed By: SS, Recommend:

So far so good awaiting decision on high claim for life saving treatment for very sick dog but received a call from a very caring staff member to say my claim form had arrived much appreciated at this moment in time keep you posted also my precious baby is responding to treatment

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   The jury   30 April 2016

Reviewed By: L, Recommend:

This is a hard review to write to present a balanced picture for the reader. I took out insurance with the KC 13 years ago for my labrador. I was advised they were the 'best' insurance company around. I chose the best cover I could afford and was impressed that they would offer life time cover and for a blissful amount of time I didn't have to make claims or if I had they were minimal. But the premiums kept going up and up despite not needing to claim which I never got a satisfactory response about. Now my darling dog is older she is having more and more problems and I have had to claim to the effect of about £2,500 this year. They have paid out but the 20% per claim, and the £65 percentage excess, really make the overall amount they actually pay you takes a hit. I have £5000 cover each year but as usual there are so many restrictions it doesn't truly make sense. My last renewal was approaching £2,000 and I am dreading what the renewal is going to be next month. So whether I'd recommend them I really don't know and I don't know whehter the rating I've given them is fair - hence my long posting. If I could go back to before my dog was 8 I should probably have moved her. Long-term the KC are not cost effective.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Premiums always go up year by year with lifetime cover, its not unusual! Trust me it would be cost effective if your pet got very ill

comment by: Ed, 17 February 2017
 
 You can go somewhere else but why would you because then nothing you have ever made a claim for before will be covered. So in actual fact you aren't free to go anywhere else!

comment by: Susie, 12 February 2017
 
 Problem is if you move to another insurance company they won't cover any problems dog had before they started insurance so you're hands are tied

comment by: lesley, 9 February 2017
 
 Pet insurance has more similarities with private healthcare insurance than say vehicle insurance. There is NO such thing as a no claims discount in pet insurance. Your premiums WILL go up regardless of what company you go with. Generally speaking specialist pet insurers like KC tend to be better for premium increases than none specialist. I have spoken to people who have had ridiculous premium increases. One gentleman who was with Tesco who's premium went from £42pm to £120pm. However it is a… (read more)

comment by: A, 11 October 2016
 
 You are totally able to go somewhere else. They cannot make you stay with them.

comment by: Brenda, 13 September 2016
 
 I totally agree with you it is going up year after year! It looks like I will have to look around for a better deal!

comment by: Ena Kerrigan, 18 June 2016
 
 I totally agree with you it is going up year after year! It looks like I will have to look around for a better deal!

comment by: Ena Kerrigan, 18 June 2016
 
1/5   Be warned - check it out   11 February 2016

Reviewed By: Coralie , Recommend:

I have Kennel Club pet insurance which I carried on from the purchase of my dog. This has gone up and up without any claims being made. A renewal letter is sent out saying the insurance will be renewed if you don't reply. What they don't tell you is that the insurance period is for one year so if you pay by instalments and something happens to your pet you have to continue paying the instalments or pay the whole cost up front. When requesting to cancel the policy I was told that I would have to continue paying or pay the whole amount immediately and this was all in page 16 of the policy. I now have Tesco insurance who are brilliant. You choose your level of cover, if anything happens your payments stop and they have been brilliant with claims.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 This review is so stupid, you're annoyed because you claimed and then couldn't just end the insurance straight away??

comment by: Ed , 8 October 2016
 
 Yes, this. Reading the reviews I'm obviously not the only one. Had lots of dogs throughout my life and lots of policies. Never felt so completely ripped off.

comment by: Scott, 17 August 2016
 
 I found them expensive and total rubbish to deal with, my husband passed away so my son cancelled this insurance as I found it too expensive but they kept telling me my husband was the only one that could cancel, In the end I lost it and said have you no idea how stressful it is losing a loved one without listening to your rubbish.,I call that harassment how can a dead person cancel anything

comment by: Genny Ward, 17 June 2016
 
5/5   Excellet   18 August 2015

Reviewed By: Shelley mattocks, Recommend:

Been with kc nearly 6 years, our boxer had several accidents Brocken nails mainly, every allergy going, thyroid problems, 2 lumps removed, dental work on a cracked tooth, eppilus removed and died of heart failure age 5 years and 8 months. We have made over £10,000 worth of claims and never been refused any claim, they aren't quick at dealing with the claim and premiums exculated from £35 per month to £120 per month by the time he was 5 but well worth having life time cover

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Agria   29 July 2015

Reviewed By: Rj, Recommend: N

Kennel club use agria and another company for third party element. Thought they were great but never had to claim till this year and even though it costs a lot more you don't get a payout if they think you have waited too long before getting treatment. There premium without the abroad cover is in excess of £500. You have to have. A really sick dog to get them to pay out but don't think they will pay on dogs over nine.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 It's not that they don't pay out on dogs over 9 it's that they wont start a NEW policy for a dog at the maximum age depending on the breed of dog. Their policies are lifetime, they don't stop insuring just because you dog has gone over that age.

comment by: rob, 5 November 2015
 
1/5   Less for more £   28 July 2015

Reviewed By: Norma , Recommend:

We have been with KC insurance for 7 years and have seen premiums double in this time. They have increased vet fees benefit but reduced age of dog to pay out for death from illness from 10 yrs to 9 yrs. I would not recommend this insurance as it is a rip off. I have not made a claim but be warned they won't pay out when you do.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I feel a lot of people have the wrong impression of what pet insurance is and to some extent that is not surprising given the way it is marketed. It is essentially a gamble. You bet your pet is going to need treatment that exceeds the cost of your premiums and the insurance company bets that it will not. The bet has to be reevaluated each time you come up for renewal and you need to read the policy carefully at that time in order to make an informed decision. People with pets and… (read more)

comment by: Stan , 17 October 2016
 
 Just to clarify - you say they won't pay out if you make a claim but you actually have never made a claim. And also they don't pay out for the death of the dog after a certain age. As far as I'm aware most companies have these restrictions... or atleast the companies I've been with do

comment by: William, 27 April 2016
 
  Add your own review


Review The Kennel Club pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 4 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016