pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

John Lewis Pet Insurance pet insurance

171 Victoria Street
London
SW1E 5NN

phone: 0800 316 5900
website: http://www.johnlewis-insurance.com/homepage/pet-insurance.html

Offers only lifetime pet insurance cover.

User Rating
1.7
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of John Lewis Pet Insurance pet insurance

1/5   Don   21 September 2017

Reviewed By: Deborah Holley, Recommend:

My dog was diagnosed with a chronic condition a 2.5 years ago and since then the premiums have gone up and up. Last year they went up 88%, I complained all the way to the Ombudsman but apparently John Lewis are within their rights to just make up a premium and they don't have to tell you how they came to it. I even complained direct to John Lewis head office and got a phone call from them saying pretty much the same thing. This year it has gone up another 80% putting us in the position of having to go to another insurer and hope that our boy doesn't need any expensive treatment for his condition. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND JOHN LEWIS TO ANYBODY.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip off JL   17 September 2017

Reviewed By: Doris, Recommend:

This is a truly dreadful company! The John Lewis brand is sullied by this crowd. They double your premium and when your pets get to 9 years old, you have to pay 20% or the excess each time you pay a vet bill. This co-insuring thing is supposed to help customers keep their monthly premiums down. Farcical! Mine is £151 a mnonth and I fully expect that to double again on policy renewal. How this type of trading is legal, I don't know. It's high time the government carried out an investigation and outlawed this behaviour.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Horrified at price increase   29 August 2017

Reviewed By: Michele, Recommend: N

Initially I insured both my dogs with John Lewis (believing them to be decent and honourable as their marketing suggests)at quite reasonable prices. By the 2nd renewal, my first dog's quote had gone from £350 to £950 having only claimed for 2 upset stomachs over that time. My second dog who was very poorly in her first year but has been absolutely fine for the last 3 years has gone from £350 to £1,580! They will not reconsider any reduction.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip Off on renewals   17 August 2017

Reviewed By: Keith P, Recommend:

Just received the renewal notice for pet insurance with John Lewis, 37% increase? We have not claimed on the insurance in the last year and our dog is only 3 years old. Will now cancel and put the money in a savings account each month.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Enormous increase in premium   9 August 2017

Reviewed By: Kevin Barber, Recommend:

I have seen my premium rise by 80% during the past year for my dog’s Lifetime Policy, from £210 in 2015, to £319 in 2016, and to £578 in 2017 for a dog not requiring treatment or ongoing medications. A large part of the increase appears to be following a claim for investigations that showed there was thankfully not a problem with my dog. I have raised this directly with John Lewis customer services to make them aware that Royal Sun Alliance Insurance is potentially risking damaging the John Lewis brand and good name by these blunt hikes in premiums. Be aware that the customer services contact details and complaints procedure given on the renewal documentation and web is for the customer services at Royal Sun Alliance Insurance who are responsible for the increase not the same as customer services at John Lewis. I have renewed my premium in order to continue to benefit from full Lifetime cover but also submitted my complaint to the Financial Ombudsman to investigate.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Ongoing medecation   12 July 2017

Reviewed By: Keith green, Recommend:

We have been insured with John Lewis for a long time for our various dogs. We still have cover for our present two, one of whom is now aged 16 years and is on medication for different conditions. Each month we have submitted invoices from our vet which JL have dealt with, subject to the excess. This has been ongoing for a long time. Last month, without explanation, we were asked to submit detailed claim forms before the claims could be dealt with. When we asked why JL told us this was a change in policy, with a comment that it was to exclude fraudulent claims! Amazing given our circumstances. This suggests someone in middle management trying to make a name for themselves by coming up with this policy change. Understandable perhaps for new claims but for established claims? In all other respects JL have been very helpful over the years when we have had to claim for various problems.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Premium increase of 53%   9 July 2017

Reviewed By: Steve, Recommend:

Last year we covered our 4-year-old cat with John Lewis ‘Plus’ - a lifetime policy for £7,500 vets fees cover for £150. This was a bit more than some competitors but we were persuaded by John Lewis’s reputation. This year the renewal stated “Last year you paid £118” (no, it was £150) with a renewal of, wait for it, £230. Worth pointing out that we’ve had no claims. When we phoned to discuss this they said the reason for the increase was because: a) Our cat was a year older and, therefore more likely to need claim - she's 5 and in good health. b) Last year we got a special online discount for being a new customer. They could reduce our premium if we accepted a higher excess but that’s all the negotiation they were prepared to do. On Go Compare we just got a quote for the same policy from John Lewis for £176 - but presumably that’s just for new customers. So, via Go Compare, we went for Argos Platinum, a slightly lower maximum vets fees cover of £7,000 and a £5 higher excess but the same or higher cover on all the other areas - it was £108, a saving of £122 on John Lewis.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   insurance rip off once again   27 June 2017

Reviewed By: Clare Perkins, Recommend:

I have plus level cover for my dog. The total claim history is 3, all non chronic conditions and only 1 with prescribed 2 week treatment in the last 12 months. 2016 price £598.28, this year £1,223.87 which is frankly disgusting. I am told that the reasons are; increase in vet fees 'sensitive' breed related information that they are not willing to make public my dog is another year older (she is not even 5 yet!) the claim history, as detailed above I am a professional dog behaviourist who is well aware of breed health issues. Running a broad brush across all dog owners based on generic data is at best unfair and at most a recipe for ripping off well intentioned clients trying to do their best for their animal in this scare mongering insurance driven society we live in. Dogs should be considered on an individual basis, not stereotyped. I can't help but wonder if Dick Turpin works for John Lewis who have shot down in my estimation from the reliable, respected and genuine organisation to a company that is leading the way in gold digging at the expense of animal health.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Premium increased 152%   20 June 2017

Reviewed By: S Belchamber, Recommend:

I have insured my dog for 5 years since she was a puppy. The annual premium for this year has been increased from £506 to £771 outrageous. I have had to make a claim last year, which they settled quickly, however they know you cannot shop around. I expected better from John Lewis especially as they are giving discounts for new customers

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Disappointed   15 June 2017

Reviewed By: Dogowner, Recommend:

We have 2 dogs insured with John Lewis. I really believed this would be the best company to insure our dogs with due to the companies’ ethos. However, I was so wrong. Our youngest was diagnosed with epilepsy, who after a few years is now stable. And our oldest girl is generally well, just has some issues with her paws from time to time. Even though we had life time insurance on both dogs the cost of their insurance is now over double. We have just had a bill for Ł1198.00 per year and now waiting for the other bill to come through which was Ł1112.00 last year (for the older dog, who has been to the vets maybe 5 times in her life). Although John Lewis are very good at dealing with claims etc, the cost is outrageous. Think carefully before insuring your pets with this company. We are now unable to move to another insurer and our trapped.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   50% price increase at renewal!   26 May 2017

Reviewed By: Sue, Recommend:

Shocking. I thought John Lewis was better than this. My renewal premium has shot up by 50%. If it happens again next year, I'll be going elsewhere. Bye bye John Lewis!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   High Yearly Premium Increases   26 May 2017

Reviewed By: Tina T, Recommend:

I started John Lewis insurance for my dog when he was a puppy the premiums then were under £30 a month - unfortunately when he was young he had incomplete ossification of the humeral condyle/intracondylar fissure - my premiums kept increasing each year if I made a claim. This month I have had my renewal my premiums have increased from £80 a month to £140 a month - please be aware if that if you claim your premiums will increase dramatically to the point that in the future you may have a problem affording them and will be unable to change insurer if it is a pre-existing condition

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Daylight Robbery   11 May 2017

Reviewed By: Diane, Recommend:

Renewal premiums go up routinely by 30/40/50% each year and as my dog was diagnosed with a heart murmur as a pup I have no choice but to keep paying as no other insurer would take on his pre existing condition. Disgusting company and avoid at all costs! Does not fit with John Lewis brand and I am very disappointed that they continue to trade like the robbers that they are. Staff are disinterested and unhelpful. AVOID AVOID AVOID

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Very disappointed by John Lewis 54% premium incre   9 May 2017

Reviewed By: Jude Farrimond-Sheddon, Recommend:

We took out pet insurance with John Lewis for our young border collie. We had to claim on it in the first 12 months as he developed meningitis. When our renewal came through it had gone up by several pounds but as we'd had a 20% discount on the first year we found that perfectly acceptable. This year (he's 3) it's gone up by 54% (£15 a month). JL say he's older, Ins premium tax has increased, vets fees have increased & when pushed claims history (but that was there last year!) I've asked for a full breakdown of the 55% increase. I've been a one woman walking advertisement for JL Pet Insurance as they were so helpful when we had to claim for our dog's hospital & vet fees but I certainly will make sure everybody knows about this whopping increase too! What's so unfair is that if you've already claimed for a condition you are a captive customer...very disappointed with John Lewis Pet Insurance. As an added insult it has cost us £41.28 to change the address on the policy!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My insurance premium has gone up nearly 100% from £311 to £604..yes I did make a claim but it was only for £160! when I rang I also got the same old banter ...Age (my dog is 6) Vet fees gone up (my vets fees haven't gone up that much!)and the old chestnut premium tax. I have asked for a breakdown of the 100% increase too.

comment by: jen, 5 June 2017
 
2/5   Extortionate renewal   8 May 2017

Reviewed By: Animal lover, Recommend:

We changed to John Lewis when our dog was 1 year old. He is now 2 and yes we did claim for an injury (£1,200), shouldn't be recurring, but isn't that why you take out insurance?! We were paying £79 per month they now want £132, up by 67%!When I called they said they take into consideration his age, breed and amount of other claims. He is only 2, and he hasn't changed breed in the last year! I feel so let down, particularly as I went to a big reputable company thinking it would be okay. They did pay out but this shouldn't be allowed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   price jump   24 April 2017

Reviewed By: E.B.H, Recommend: N

insuring my labrador retriever at three years of age for lifetime insurance gave a very comparable quote of £29 per month. The renewal, a year later, jumped to £48 per month, even though I had never made a claim. Needless to say, I chose to no loonger use John Lewis Pet Insurance.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 My policy for my 3 year old Border Collie has increased by a whopping 55% plus a £41.28 admin fee to change address. I had to claim on my policy in the first 12 months but it only went up by a few pounds a month that year, this year its gone up by £15 a month! Unfortunately I'm unable to change insurer as once you've made a claim it's impossible to gain cover for that condition if it should re-occur. Very very disappointed in John Lewis pet insurance.

comment by: Jude Farrimond-Sheddon, 9 May 2017
 
1/5   Awful just awful!   13 April 2017

Reviewed By: Freya , Recommend:

Awful customer service, awful premiums, advoid at all costs! Better to go with pet plan! May be more expensive at first but at first renewal John Lewis will be more expensive and it only keeps going up from there!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Very pleased!!   8 April 2017

Reviewed By: Sally, Recommend:

Cat insurance on kitten 3 years ago. She ingested something.£1000 bill over 2 bank holiday weekends. Vet took John Lewis insurance direct and refused the lady in front of me with Sainsbury's. She had yo cough up £600 for her dog. I awaited the massive increase but it never came. Yes they increased it from £7 odd to £9. Now 3 years in abc they want £12. We,l they have lad out twice £1000 on one occasion and £300 on another no problems. So what can I say. I am really happy with it. Sally

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Never Again!!   2 April 2017

Reviewed By: Jak, Recommend:

My border collie has been insured with John Lewis for about 6 years, the premium to begin with was good and although it went up yearly as expected it was OK as when we have claimed they have never not paid up, however the last years premium went up a lot and this year it has gone up by over 50% so we are now paying £150.00 per month for £7,000 of cover we have put our excess up to £150.00 so it Has now come down to £135.00 per month, that is still excessive but our boy has arthritis and its lifetime cover so they have us by the balls really. After discussing this with my fantastic reasonable vet this week he could not belive it and said put the money in the bank and cancel it as if our boy did ever need to see our local Supervet for worst case scenario surgery it would cost around £2,000 for major surgery, and we're paying £1,800 per year and out vet is not in the business to rip his clients off. no we have never had a problem with them paying out for anything, but the price hikes are outrageous, as I said never again!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Extortion - Held to ransom by John Lewis   25 March 2017

Reviewed By: Ann Grey, Recommend:

Just received my annual renewal notice from John Lewis for my lovely 10 year old Bichon dog - and nearly collapsed when I saw that this year the premium has increase by £550 to £1658pa. I fully expected another hike but this is absolute robbery! I called and told them that this was tantamount to extortion! and at this rate if he lives for another 10 years I'll need to either sell my house or take out a second mortgage to pay their premiums! It's an absolute disgrace that they get away with this. They have us over a barrell when it comes to our elderly pets as they know it will be difficult for us to move our beloved friends to a new provider. I will never use nor will I ever recommend John Lewis for pet insurance - neither will I shop with them again. Dreadful money grabbing, uncaring company!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Huge premium increase   20 March 2017

Reviewed By: Anon, Recommend:

After making a claim last year (around £400) the premium for my 4 year old dog has doubled. Although I can't fault the service I received when claiming, I am horrified that they can justify such a massive increase.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   HUGE premium increase after 1 year   17 March 2017

Reviewed By: Emily, Recommend:

After switching my pet insurance to John Lewis last year, I have just received my first renewal quote. The premium has increased by 45%! My dog is a fit and healthy 3 year old, and we have not made any claims for her. My previously dog was insured with another company and had a long term illness spanning many years with many claims made. But not once did the premiums ever increase by that kind of percentage. I never normally leave reviews, but I am disgusted at this increase and to be honest expected more from a company such as John Lewis. I hope that by adding this review to those already given, it will help others to make an informed decision about whether or not to take out a policy with them. I certainly would not recommend them to anyone, and I only wish I had seen these reviews a year ago.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Dreadful   11 March 2017

Reviewed By: Mollie, Recommend:

After only one year cover and no claims ever in the life of our dog, John Lewis have raised our premium to a whopping £58.30 a month! Spoke to them on the phone and they were so indifferent it makes me wonder how anyone would renew with them. Cancelled without a second thought. Would NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   2/5   11 March 2017

Reviewed By: Chris, Recommend:

I have read the reviews on this page and unfortunately I have to agree with all the comments, we started using a company call Greenbee six years ago and they were absolutely brilliant and they would have been 5/5. A year or 2 after they were taken over by John Lewis and at around about the same our Springer Spaniel was diagnosed with Meningitis, this was after numerous tests & scans by a referral practice and again Greenbee/John Lewis were marvellous the claim was handled with care and quickly. When the time for the renewal came we were expecting a hefty increase, which never appeared, there was an increase but not as big as we were expecting. About 2 years ago everything seemed to change at JL, they tried to implement the standard massive increase all pet insurance company's do when dogs reach the age of 9, even though he had only just turned 8, I did what most of us do and went through the comparison site and to my surprise the best quote was John Lewis! So I phoned up to see if they would honour their online offer only to be told that renewals were non-negotiable and if I wanted the online offer I would have to cancel my renewal and take out a new policy which would mean any pre-existing conditions would not be covered, which I excepted. Roll on to May last year our dog started to develop severe problems with his back right leg yet again we were referred and it was found that he had a growth on his lower spine which was effecting his central nervous system and he was put on to a course of treatment, one of the drugs was an anti-inflammatory which was also used when he had meningitis and guess what, when we put in a claim it was rejected because the claim handler though that the name of the drug was what he had been diagnosed with, needless to say I complained and my complaint was up held. I have again just received the renewal and it is a 100% increase from last year. John Lewis were good a few years ago but something or someone within that organisation has ruined a company that used to genuinely care about their clients and their owners.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Agree with the comment about somebody within JL Pet Insurance ruining the set up. My problem is with a change to how they deal with ongoing meds claims. Up to now they have been paying for one of my dogs on basis of invoices submitted as appropriate. Now they want claim forms and detailed invoices. Not doing much for customer service, especially wher long standing policyholders are concerned. Whoever is responsible for the decision needs to consider what they have done.

comment by: Keith, 12 July 2017
 
 My insurance premium has gone up nearly 100% from £311 to £604..yes I did make a claim but it was only for £160! when I rang I also got the same old banter ...Age (my dog is 6) Vet fees gone up (my vets fees haven't gone up that much!)and the old chestnut premium tax. I have asked for a breakdown of the 100% increase.

comment by: jen, 5 June 2017
 
2/5   Uncertain   27 February 2017

Reviewed By: Jean, Recommend:

I was just about to make my first claim of £190 but am wondering now if it's better not to bother as they will increase premiums next year . My dog is 18 months old and I currently pay £29 p month

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   85% increase in premium on healthy 5 year old dog   13 February 2017

Reviewed By: Tan W, Recommend:

After taking out a lifetime policy on a young dog and having one claim for an isolated incident of five hundred pounds they have trebled my monthly premium, an increase of 85% on a dog with no health issues. Absolutely disgusting! Our previous dog that died last year was also insured with John Lewis who repeatedly lost claim forms and took up to 7 weeks to pay after quibbling over every detail.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   WORST INSURERS - AVOID!!!!   3 February 2017

Reviewed By: Susan, Recommend:

This is the worst insurance company! I cant even step into a John Lewis shop anymore because I'm so disgusted with the service ive received! I started paying £25 a month and within 3 years it is now over £80 a month! How can they put their prices up so much! They take two payments at the beginning of the policy and say it is a payment to take out the policy and a payment to cover the month....RIDICULOUS!! I wish I read the reviews, im stuck paying over £80 a month now because I cant switch as she has pre-existing and its only going to go higher. Im so upset I didn't look into this more before taking out the policy. Im disgusted at John Lewis. All the customer service representatives are smug and don't help with your queries or problems. Ive never heard of such bad service and unaffordable prices from any other insurers!! AVOID NEVER USE!!!!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   John Lewis Pet Insurance   3 February 2017

Reviewed By: Princess, Recommend:

In two years, my pet insurance with John Lewis has increased from £384 to £828. How can this be? Never knowingly undersold! This is a rip off. My dog is 6 years old and I have only claimed once in 6 years for a tummy upset. It would be cheaper to have medical insurance for a human!! Fobbed off saying that it's inflation! What utter rubbish. Then they say it's because of the increase in vets bills - I don't think so.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Increase in Policy   2 February 2017

Reviewed By: Platts, Recommend: N

This company are out pricing themselves. Have been with them for two years, had no claims, and this year they have increased my Lifetime policy by £130.00.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid!!   30 January 2017

Reviewed By: Ripley, Recommend:

Very disappointed with John Lewis, they have increased my pet insurance by a further 51% for this next year, how can they justify such a massive increase, in my renewal documentation they give all the usual excuses about an increase in the cost of Vet Fees but this is a total rip off. It was the worst mistake I ever made taking out John Lewis Pet Insurance, my previous dog who passed away at 13 was always insured with Petplan - she had joint issues, I always received excellent service from Petplan, their premiums increased each year which I expected due to the claims I made but the increases were acceptable and not extortionate like John Lewis are demanding. John Lewis trapped me by offering a cheap teaser rate for the first year which I stupidly fell for. I will never trust this company ever again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 This is exactly what happened to me. I got sucked in by the low quote and have now just got a quote for £987 for my 7 year old cocker spaniel for the next 12 months and goodness knows how much it will go up to for the year after that. Am currently trying to decide what is the best option for changing insurers.

comment by: Siam, 16 February 2017
 
 Totally agree with Riley - just had a renewal through and and cancelled as they put 50% increase on and we've had no claims on dog and she's still under 5! Total rip off merchants and withdrawing all custom from them. They tried the same with cat but allowed renegotiation in December 2016.... now apparently the computer says no. My advice to all is not to go with them to start with they're a false economy as after 1st year renewal is extortionate!!!

comment by: GUYP, 2 February 2017
 
1/5   Rip off.   18 January 2017

Reviewed By: Anonymous , Recommend:

Cancelled my dogs insurance in December as the renewal was so expensive. But found John Lewis had taken a payment 4 days after the policy end date. 12 days after complaining I am still waiting for my money back.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review John Lewis Pet Insurance pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 5 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016