pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Jack Russell Terrier

Pet Insurance for Jack Russell Terriers
Common health problems for Jack Russells include: patellar luxation (knee problems), deafness and glaucoma.
 


Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Jack Russell Terrier owners:

Outrageous premium increase 50% plus!!!!! Jims Owner, 6/4/2018

These Insurance Higwaymen have pushed my JR's premiums up steadily over the past few years from £17 to £80 but this year they have come in at a whopping £128. The only feeble excuse they offer is that all pet insurance is going up and the only way they could help is by increasing the already exorbitant excess fees or reducing the level of cover even though we had not made a claim in nearly 5 years. Disgusting customer service from a company that brags about never knowingly being undersold!!!!

Company: John Lewis   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Tesco Rip Off Pet Insurance Graham James, 6/2/2018

My dog developed diabetes and Tesco raised the premium to the same amount I was claiming for caninsulin also when she passed and I cancelled the insurance I have received a bill for £10 to cover the days of the month prior to cancellation . Legalised theft

Company: Tesco   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
New customer Denise Major, 5/25/2018

I have only just joined Lifetime pet cover , due to commence on 11Th June. Found them resonable.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Pre existing condition, N/A Brenda turner. , 4/28/2018

Dog Has raging tonsillitis, Tesco already paid out once, Referred to Pride Vets Derby. For scans and endoscope as cough inrtmitten ,now Tesco saying that because he had Kennel cough 20-15 and was with another insurance company,. They are saying that kennel cough is a pre- existing condition. And has refused so far. Still more test results to come. Cost so far. £3,000 paid to Pride for treatment. Before that £200 with my own vet.. Was told by Pride that you pay 50% up front half of the cost of treatment. I only had £780 on me and paid that , how do they think that people have this sort of money around. I am an OAP was asked if I had a credit card. No I don't not enough in cheque account. So had to take from various " sources to pay, luckily I just had enough tto cover cost. A bit miffed to say the least. What annoys me is first thing asked when you take animal to a vet is are you insured. Only interested in money. Not animal no idea what is going to happen if he needs ongoing treatment IE drugs.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
No quibbles. No Hassle Sarah Kuwertz, 2/10/2018

I have had my insurance policies with Vetsure for 2 1/2 years now, but only needed to make a claim recently. It seems these days that with insurance of any type, the process of claiming is drawn out, complicated, and you are made to feel like you have to prove you are genuine by being subjected to a process not unlike the Spanish Inquisition! Well, I am delighted to say that the process of claiming through Vetsure was quick, straightforward, and efficient. The Vetsure staff are friendly and helpful, and Solo’s fees were covered before he even left the vet. Solo suffered an infection following his operation and I needed to take him back for antibiotics ... another bill covered straight away, no fuss, no hassle. All I needed to do was look after my poorly pup. I would not hesitate to recommend Vetsure to any of my friends and family.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
shocked james, 12/15/2017

just received renewal..50% increase.No claims...Am disgusted...What a ripoff. Dog is only 8 ..Hope this isn't going to increase continually.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Change of insurers Polo, 10/20/2017

After reading dreadful reviews of the company I insured my two pets with, I decided to look elsewhere. I had two new puppies to insure as well as my other pets so having a good insurer was important. What primarily swayed me was the excellent reviews. Hopefully I will NEVER need it but I do hope they live up to their 4.5 star review.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Dont stay with Tescos Trevor Mckinley, 6/1/2017

My dog has been insured with Tescos for 7 years never claimed ,recently he has developed allergys got a blood test and medication put in a claim and was refused.I should have went to a reputable company rather than Tescos.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
will not be renewing policy ian embleton, 3/9/2017

My dog got diagnosed with a condition which may lead to a tumor in later years. An operation now will save the risk of tumor however this policy will not cover the cost until the tumor is apparent. Of course I will be paying myself for the operation to safeguard our loving family pet.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
will not be renewing policy ian embleton, 3/9/2017

My dog got diagnosed with a condition which may lead to a tumor in later years. An operation now will save the risk of tumor however this policy will not cover the cost until the tumor is apparent. Of course I will be paying myself for the operation to safeguard our loving family pet.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Insuring our Jack Russell Karen L, 2/6/2017

Just insured with this company, way cheaper than our previous supplier & better cover. Haven't used the claims procedure (hope we don't have to!) so 4 stars for now. Good luck with the new company, definitely so far so good :-)

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
e and l pet insurance maxi, 1/26/2017

worst pet insurance ever. wont pay on your claim takes weeks. horrendous. dont buy from these.

Company: E & L   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Dont touch W7 Dave, 5/10/2016

Don't touch them. My dog's premium was increased from £30 per month to £53 per month. On top of this they told me they would no longer settle any claims for my dog's existing condition and then they would not settle my march claim saying it was outside the time limit although it wasn't. I wrote them a letter about a month ago but never had a reply,I have phoned them on two occasions and find them very rude and the message comes across TOUGH. Once again keep away.

Company: Argos   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Helpful and easy Alison, 4/30/2016

Liked the 24 month symptom free, had previously been penalised for puppy diarrhoea. Was very helpful on phone. Not read a bad review about them. Very pleased with initial service.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Great Product marshalsea17, 2/3/2016

This was easy to set up and recommended by my vet. It is comforting to know that they will pay the vet directly and that there will be no delay in treatment while the vet and insurance company haggle over what is needed and what they are willing to pay for.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Thank you Hilary Michael, 1/15/2016

I was so upset when we had to take Duke to the vets for his persistent vomitting. He had been really quiet for a few hours, couldn't hold any water and then kept being sick. Turns out he had eaten my son's toy and it had got lodged in his tummy. VetsMediCover were brilliant at handling the claim, they even cover silly gorgeous dogs! Great, thanks so much.

Company: Vets Medi Cover   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
did not realise the cost harry m, 12/7/2015

Maybe I did not fully understand the lifetime cover. I really did not need the premium cover for my Jack Russell dog. £24 per month is a bit steep I have gone elsewhere for standard cover at £9 a month

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
No Problems Julie, 12/6/2015

Got lifetime Insurance for one of our dogs earlier this year and had to make a claim in October for what could be an ongoing health issue. The claim form was sent via the vet and received really nice letter within 2 weeks wishing dog a speedy recovery and agreeing to cover the vet bill. The outstanding bill was paid about 2 weeks later - no problems. Hopefully we won't see an increase in the annual premium next year!

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Unscrupulous Esther Scotland, 10/21/2015

Took out the insurance last year on two puppies. Unfortunately one of the puppies had a retained baby tooth which needed removing. Was informed policy did not cover it (despite being a substantial policy) as it wasn't an accident. Could have coped with this but staff on phone were consistently rude, kept getting my details wrong such as my name and was past from pillar to post. To add insult to injury I only took out the insurance based on potential quidco cashback - which has been declined.

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Fab Pet Insurance Bonkerbird2, 9/21/2015

Our lovely Oli was taken ill very suddenly he needed a operation and other tests beforehand, I have to say we were amazed how effient vet sure were as it was our first claim with them they sorted out the claim very quickly with our vets nothing was left to us to sort out apart from the 15% reduction as our Oli was over 8 years old that's fair enough we knew that. I have made other claims in the past with another dog with another company and they were hard work to be honest. We are very satisfied customers well done pet sure you took away more stress than we needed so happy days :-)

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
It does what it says on the tin Congo, 8/27/2015

I, like many pet owners who have insured their petsfound that my renewal had shot up by 33% from last years monthly amount even though I had only made one claim in the 10 years that I had had my dog. I canceled on the spot and looked around for an alternative but found that there were very few that insured dogs after 10 years of age....until I found Lifetime pet cover. It has the best cover for an affordable price.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
Awful - Dont use them! Becci, 8/7/2015

I speak from experience that Healthy-Pets insurance is not all what it seems. There are so many hidden clauses in the small print that they have you by the short and curly's at every turn...end result they have every reason under the sun NOT TO PAY YOU A BEAN!I will be cancelling my policy as soon as possible. But what a surprise you cannot cancel in the middle of a year, you must pay the full policy year out ... get this even if your pet DIES. DO NOT touch them with a barge pole. Terrible company.

Company: Healthy Pets Insurance   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
robbers pam durrant, 7/30/2015

my dog woody was suspected of being epiletic in 2013,but not on medication.now in2013 has to have tablets have spent nearly 2 hundred pounds and tesco will not pay out.tablets costing 40 pound per month and will increase as the dosage is increased.i am s pensioner on a very limited budget and will cancel my insurance to pay.have paid 7yrs premiums for nothing.will not even shop at tesco now.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
premium increase outrageous! lucy stanley, 7/24/2015

Have been with John Lewis pet insurance for a year, am made no claims. They then increased the premium by 40%! When queried they sent curt letter saying that that was now the price and 'our final offer'. Rude, curt and I think outrageous!. Lure you in, then hike up the premium dramatically hoping you don't notice/can't move insurers and if you do then tough! I said I was leaving, but they didn't care. I now have a dog one year older that makes finding another insurer more difficult. I originally paid over the odds because I have always believed John Lewis, would be trustworthy. How disappointed and angry am I. Feel utterly tricked and conned. Now am without an insurer. Furious. Do not be lured in with attractive first year premium.

Company: John Lewis   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
'test' classed at 'treatment' anon, 7/16/2015

My Jack Russel has a benign lump on his chest which was 'tested' 2 years ago and was advised to leave it have now been advised to seek 'treatment' as the lump has grown but @TESCO pet insurance will not cover the costs because 2 years have passed and a 'test' is classed as a 'treatment'. My dog has had nothing 'treated' only 'tested'. I will not be renewing my pet insurance with them after giving them money for 8 years and only claiming once for a minor procedure.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 
93% increase in premium in spite of no claims jen miles, 7/8/2015

What a total rip off. My 6 year old terrier has cruciate ligament issues which my vet suggested operations for. I wanted to try non invasive management of her condition so instead of spending £4K on two operations, we spent about £300 on hydrotherapy, and I've improved her diet. That was over two years ago. No claims since and she's been great. Now Homebase have put my insurance up by 85% to £93/month! I called to ask why and they said vets fees have gone up 12% year on year. OK, and the rest? It's my dog's age (7) and gender (female) apparently. And of course you can't transfer so they've got you over a barrel. Seriously thinking of complaining to the ombudsman. Grrrr, as my dog would say.

Company: Homebase   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
 



Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016