pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Golden Retrievers

Pet Insurance for Golden Retrievers
Common problems for goldens include: hip dysplasia, elbow displaysia, and several types of cancer (hemangiosarcoma, osteosarcoma and mast cell tumours.)

Goldens also are prone to allergies and skin infections.
 


Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Golden owners:

Insure with confidence Roisin Rooney, 1/8/2018

Checked out customer reviews first and was impressed. Website was easy to follow. Competitively priced. Have yet to claim and hopefully won't need to so cannot comment.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
So friendly! Lisa, 12/18/2017

Have used this insurance for the last two years for my other dogs. Any claims are settled fast and the form is very easy to complete. Expecting a premium hike the following year and was delighted that it was a pound more and the other dog had a reduction! Didn't hesitate to insure my new pup with them. Fabulous service!! Competitive prices!

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Dreadful. B S, 11/27/2017

We pay about £950.00 a year for our two now elderly dogs. The cost has risen as they have got older, now they are 11 and 13 we have no choice but to carry on with E&L as no-one else will insure them now. Every time we claim that medical problem is subsequently excluded. If we make new diagnosis claims we have to wait months for any payment at all even though we chase it up. We do not get itemised statements explaining what they have covered and what they have not even on request(several times) so we are completely in the dark as to what they pay for and what not. It is never anything like the original bills came to though. Absolutely dreadful.

Company: E & L   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Recommended on price Jeanette , 11/27/2017

I have a 9 year old golden retriever who had been insured with another insurer - the only reason I left them is because of the ridiculous premium increase. LPC gave a much much lower quote and had positive reviews - the on line process was quick and easy.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Competitive lifetime cover David, 11/26/2017

Life Time Pet cover compared favorably against many other insurers on the comparison website. It offered a fair package for life time cover.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Excellent value pet insurance Chrissy V, 11/24/2017

I was looking around for good value pet insurance for my puppy. I was actually quite shocked at some of the quotes I was given by some of the better known companies ! I saw someone recommend this company on The Golden Retriever Club Website and Iím so glad I looked them up. Iíve cut the cost of a policy offered by one of the biggest pet insurers in half, plus my dogís insured for £3,000 a year more. Fantastic Value and excellent customer service.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Looks great value Sue , 9/14/2017

Easy simple website to navigate with simple clear quote. Seems a great buy considerably less than my renewal, from a company who have made it cost prohibitive this year even though I haven't made a claim for several years.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
FAR TO EXPENSIVE kimi and cassie, 9/11/2017

I am now paying £141 a month for two dogs age 11/12 with a £120 excess Im getting a new pet soon but will not be using DL also slow to pay claims

Company: Direct Line   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Not convinced Theresa, 9/4/2017

I had found a great quote from Argos for my pup and called and told Argos that I was keen to go with them but first REQUESTED further terms and conditions by email as the ones listed on their website were limitied. Apparantly this required me to run through the whole course of questions asked of me to receive a quote. Upon getting through that, I was asked "what can i do for you today"? I requested again and after waiting a few days, I called back, this time I was just required to provide security answers to find out what happened to my email of t&cs. I was informed that this is only sent in the mail as not available by any other means. I was told the paperwork had been sent. I waited a further week and only on the day the plan was due to start (had i taken it out), did the T&Cs arrive in the post, being 1st Sept. I then checked reviews as alarm bells ringing. I have opted for John Lew I called to pay but couldnt understand the terms I was being told over the phone which I'm sure are ok but the fact that the lady had to repeat one term 3 times and im still none the wiser, made me change my mind. Think she just spoke too fast and it all seemed very impersonal and rushed. I didnt proceed and now have insurance with John Lewis as they have the best reviews, not far off from Argos but if customer service is that below par in sales, it's likely to be worse in claims.

Company: Argos   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Easy to join Tricia S, 8/31/2017

New to LPC, very pleased how Robert was so helpful in answering a few questions I had and arranged cover without too many questions. Time will tell if we have to make a claim and at our renewal. Premium was within our price range and cover was good, t&c were easy to understand.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Rip off don Tracey, 8/11/2017

Have been with morethan for nearly 11 years with dog and cat insurance even though the premium kept going up each year. Only made 3 claims for the dog which was allergies related decided to exclude them from the policy and brought the premium down nearly half. My dog had a haemotoma in her ear, I phoned and asked if I could claim and was told yes, as long as it's not allergy related. I told them it wasn't. I put claim in and was declined because they said it was down to her allergies even though my vets said it wasn't. morethan vets said it was. Well, for a start they don't know my dog and haven't treated her either, so why go above my vet who treated her? They didn't even phone to talk to me to discuss it even though I'm the policy holder. I made a complaint and got declined again saying my vet had said they couldn't say if it was allergy related or not. After they sent an email to say not related, Morethan told me I could get 2 months premium payed back while i was waiting for the decision to be made, which I'm still waiting for. I'm absolutely fuming, they even sent me an email which I asked for, showing my vet had emailed them explaining it was not to do with allergies. They had also emailed me someone else's details of their pet and policy number. I have a good mind to phone the owners and tell them. I would not go near them. They do anything to get out of paying even after being with them all that time and all the money I have payed over the years to them. They don't even care. I've gone to the ombudsman now. I definitely would not recommend.

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
New customer Chris, 8/8/2017

Just changed to this company after the company I have been with for years put the premium up by over £14 a month after the first claim in 9 years. Didn't think I would find another company that would insure with lifetime cover over this age and premium is much lower than I was paying before this year's rise. Slightly higher up front costs, but fingers crossed I won't need to claim. Simple online process with immediate delivery of policy.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Half the price of our existing policy! Pat Maker, 8/4/2017

Kai is 9. His current insurer wanted £901 to renew! This one was £435 for more cover!

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Do not touch Chris Burley, 7/28/2017

We have made 2 claims both rejected because the date I signed the form was before the date the vet signed it,paid eventually when we submitted .How do they tell you second class post after they after sat on it for a week. Whole process is designed to delay avoiding payment

Company: Legal & General   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
New Policy Holder Sarah Fraser, 7/11/2017

Just got a new puppy. LPC website very easy to navigate, very competitive prices for lifetime, read the reviews and was impressed. Application process was easy and the email confirmation with policy documents came through straight away. Very impressed so far. Would recommend to friends and family.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Insured 2nd Older Dog Tracey Mayes, 7/3/2017

I have no hesitation in insuring my recently adopted oldie Golden Retriever Cross with Lifetime. I insured my adopted oldie Golden Retriever last October and am very pleased with the insurance, although I have yet to claim on it. I have recommended them to my friends and colleagues (I work for an assistance dog charity) and know at least one has insured with them. Well done Lifetime

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Delighted for Delilah Mel, 6/25/2017

Delilah's lifetime insurance was due for renewal (she's a nine year old (healthy) Golden Retriever) and having extensively searched on line I telephoned and spoke to Robert who clarified all my queries. How very refreshing an insurer who does not exclude a dog over 8 years old, does not charge an extortionate premium and does cover pre existing conditions (of two years previous) and also treats each limb as separate (none of the bi-lateral cop out so popular with other insurers). The policy was easy to set up on line and the email containing the policy document was received quickly, as this is a new policy I have no experience of the claims procedure.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
NOT WORTH USING Claire, 5/2/2017

We have had insurance for our lovely dog for the past 3 years with Animal Friends. Sadly, we had to have her put to sleep on Saturday due to severe arthritis. I called them to cancel the insurance today and they guy I spoke to didn't even say how sorry he was to here of her passing. He just said 'ok I will cancel the insurance, is there anything else I can help you with'. Now, to call themselves Animals Friends, you would have thought they would have had some compassion. We used to use Tesco Pet Insurance and all the people we spoke to there, to make claims etc were lovely. Seems they only want the money and couldn't care less if your pet passes. Only used them because Tesco's premium doubled.I will not use them again when he have our next pet.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
DO NOT USE Kate, 4/1/2017

Have a 12 year old lab had an x ray last Jan and nothing was detected put down to possible allergy no treatment . 1 year later he was unwell took him to vet and was referred for ct scan with possible tumour ...insurance refusing to pay as said was related despite numerous calls from our vet saying it's not ...time is running out for my pet and I'm disgusted with the way we have been treated ...one min being told they paying ...then call to say they not over the last 4 weeks even have e mail from them confirming paying then half hour later call to say they not ...I will be taking this complaint further but it's too late for my dog I am sooooooo not happy ...would expect better from a company like tesco. Avoid distress and go elsewhere !

Company: Tesco   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Good cover for old and new Bill Simkins, 3/10/2017

I originally used this company for my 10 year old Golden retriever after LV increased the price to £56 pm. I now only pay £31 pm. On getting my 9 week old Cockapoo I did the usual rounds, as I mistakenly thought Lifetime was only for older dogs, as it is on my favourites list I gave them a try and will pay less than £18 pm for their top cover.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Do not insure with Animal Friends Lin Atkins, 1/31/2017

Dog owners beware!! If your dog suddenly becomes ill, starts hyperventilating and then begins to struggle to breathe, Animal Friends pet insurance DO NOT deem this to be imminently 'life-endagering' and will refuse to pay your out of hours vet's fee! So,if your husband, wife, son or daughter struggles to breathe, then do not call 999- according to Animal Friends, this condition is not life-threatening! In 35 years of dog ownership, this is the worst company I have dealt with. I am pleased to say that Ricoh has now recovered, but it was a very worrying 48 hours. Needless to say,my policy will be cancelled! People always say, that you never know how good/bad an insurance company is-until you claim

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Do not insure with Animal Friends Lin Atkins, 1/31/2017

Dog owners beware!! If your dog suddenly becomes ill, starts hyperventilating and then begins to struggle to breathe, Animal Friends pet insurance DO NOT deem this to be imminently 'life-endagering' and will refuse to pay your out of hours vet's fee! So,if your husband, wife, son or daughter struggles to breathe, then do not call 999- according to Animal Friends, this condition is not life-threatening! In 35 years of dog ownership, this is the worst company I have dealt with. I am pleased to say that Ricoh has now recovered, but it was a very worrying 48 hours. Needless to say,my policy will be cancelled! People always say, that you never know how good/bad an insurance company is-until you claim

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Kennel / minder fees not paid George, 1/9/2017

total knee replacementr, 3 days in hospital, 6 weeks at home for rahb and guess what? zero from MoreThan. Classic policy requires min 4 dyas in hospital and does not pay for kennelling during rehab. Let them spend a month with a new knee trying to work round a 3 year old golden retriever male!! That's £105 per week. They may be cheap but they are limited.

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Kennel / minder fees not paid George, 1/9/2017

total knee replacementr, 3 days in hospital, 6 weeks at home for rahb and guess what? zero from MoreThan. Classic policy requires min 4 dyas in hospital and does not pay for kennelling during rehab. Let them spend a month with a new knee trying to work round a 3 year old golden retriever male!! That's £105 per week. They may be cheap but they are limited.

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Excellent .Thank You again Kennel Club SS, 6/13/2016

Update:Just received confirmation letter Kennel Club have paid my vet direct minus £85 excess and the 10 percent I agreed to at the time of taking the policy out in return for lower premium.Excellent fast service and caring staff.Can't thank them enough I would not have been able to afford the expertise and wonderful care from the vets for my 11 month golden retriever who has Steroid Responsive Meningitis without them.He still needs on going treatment at present but is responding well.I RECOMMEND THE KENNEL CLUB LIFELONG POLICY to all pet owners.Trust me IT COULD SAVE YOUR PETS LIFE.

Company: The Kennel Club   Breed: Golden Retriever
 
Woof! Thank you Camilla Jackson, 6/10/2016

Thanks very much for your help, great service throughout. Would defiantly recommend VetsMedi Cover. Thanks again... woof

Company: Vets Medi Cover   Breed: Golden Retriever
 



Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016