pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > English Springer Spaniel

Pet Insurance for English Springer Spaniels
As a pure breed, Springers are more susceptible to genetic health issues than mixed breed dogs.

Common problems for Springers include: eye disorders including cataracts and glaucoma, hip dysplasia, skin disorders, ear infections and Phosphofructokinase (PFK) deficiency, a genetic disease that causes the dog to become weak and lethargic.
 


Recent Reviews of pet insurance from English Springer Spaniel owners:

DON'T DO IT k17chh, 1/8/2018

Been with PDSA from the beginning, had one claim in 7 years, the premium has gone up £245 over the last 2 years just got the renewal and guess what? Up £118 this year. Well sorry but not this time.

Company: PDSA   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Recommend Mrs Barbara Russell, 1/5/2018

On receipt of the insurance renewal for my dog I was astounded that the monthly payment had increased by Ł7..I spoke to my insurance company who basically said "tough". They did not attempt to see if there was a cheaper option so I cancelled it there and then. Went on the internet and after much searching found yourselves to be the most competitive for my needs. It was also nice and easy to set up. Very pleased

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Quick and easy Julie, 11/17/2017

Only just used this company for the first time as have a springer spaniel so no experience of any claims yet but their prices are very good

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
5/5 fantastic service Elaine Wardlaw, 10/12/2017

Our Ollie swallowed a couple of stones, one managed to come up naturally but one was caught in his gut and was close to his pancreas so when we got him to the vet he said he was a lucky boy any later could've been fatal. I hadn't long switched to Tesco insurance so wasn't sure how it would turn out and have never had to claim on any other insurances regards my pets. They were fantastic couldn't have been more efficient form keeping us updated to the settlement was al done within 3 weeks. I will be sticking with Tesco and would highly recommend.

Company: Tesco   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Happy customer Pat Blake, 8/24/2017

I would recommend this company. Some reviews aren't good but I have always been kept informed of my claim and received payment promptly. I know I have to pay upfront then get my claim paid as some vets wont deal with them but having said that I've had no problem getting myclaim back.

Company: E & L   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
New customer, happy so far Judith Raison, 7/10/2017

Just changed from my previous pet insurer who increased my premium by £12 per month, not because of any claim, just because my very fit English springer spaniel is now 9. Anyway this insurer seemed to have clear terms and conditions including what was included and what wasn't. Good competitive price too. Documents arrived by email within minutes. As I said in the summary happy so far, can't see any negatives at all.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Don't use this company! Dawn H, 7/8/2017

Do not use this company, pay extra and use a reliable insurer! We were with Animal friends for over 7 years. Our springer had to have emergency treatment for a prolapsed bowel. This happened 3 times over a period of 6 weeks. Test rests also showed polyps. Due to her age (11) the vet advised the best thing would be to have her put down as she was too old to have the infected bowel removed. In total we spent about £2800. Animal friends refused to pay anything towards the treatment informing us that 2 years previously she'd been seen by the vet for blood in her poo. They were told that this was nothing to do with the prolapse, but they disagreed and refused to pay a penny. If we'd never had the insurance and put the money away each month we would've had enough to pay the bill! Customer service is poor and they refuse to listen, looking for any way of getting out of paying for a claim. Disgraceful company. I'd never recommend these and in hindsight wished I'd have paid more and gone with a decent company. Even our vet said she didn't think we'd get anything as they are one of the worse companies.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Best Price Clive, 6/24/2017

Found LPC when looking to reduce cover for my 11 year old Springer. After comparing policies and prices from a range of insurers only LPC had in full what I needed. Of all the insurers that I looked at (and there were a lot), I found LPC's terms and conditions and pricing the easiest to understand. Also commendable was the way that quotations could be easily revised in 'real time' on the web site; this removed the tedium found on comparison web sites. Looking ahead to next year when my Springer will be 12, I was able to play with the on-line quote to see how this would affect the premium at renewal. Although only a guide, I am at least now armed with a 'ball-park' amount that I can expect to pay at renewal. Armed with all the information I needed it was then easy to commit to LPC. The Debit mandate went through quickly and policy documents were received by email shortly after everything for the policy purchase had been concluded. Overall, the research and setting-up service and experience was excellent. I hope that LPC lives up to its ratings should there be a need to make a claim (which I hope won't be necessary).

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
High Yearly Premium Increases Tina T, 5/26/2017

I started John Lewis insurance for my dog when he was a puppy the premiums then were under £30 a month - unfortunately when he was young he had incomplete ossification of the humeral condyle/intracondylar fissure - my premiums kept increasing each year if I made a claim. This month I have had my renewal my premiums have increased from £80 a month to £140 a month - please be aware if that if you claim your premiums will increase dramatically to the point that in the future you may have a problem affording them and will be unable to change insurer if it is a pre-existing condition

Company: John Lewis   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
New Policy Holder Peter Spooner, 5/8/2017

Just purchased a Lifetime policy for my 9 year old dog Sam. The policy was attractive due to its competitive price and that it covered pre-existing conditions that were over 2 years old. The simple and easy application process was completed on-line in a matter of minutes. As with any insurance policy the truth about how good it is, and how happy we are depends on three things: 1. The claims process and financial settlement. Hopefully we will never make a claim but only time will tell. 2. The outcome of discussions regarding what is and what isn't a pre-existing condition at time of making a claim. 3. Any rise in policy price at the end of each year. So far, so good, fully recommended.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
New Policy Holder Peter Spooner, 5/8/2017

Just purchased a Lifetime policy for my 9 year old dog Sam. The policy was attractive due to its competitive price and that it covered pre-existing conditions that were over 2 years old. The simple and easy application process was completed on-line in a matter of minutes. As with any insurance policy the truth about how good it is, and how happy we are depends on three things: 1. The claims process and financial settlement. Hopefully we will never make a claim but only time will tell. 2. The outcome of discussions regarding what is and what isn't a pre-existing condition at time of making a claim. 3. Any rise in policy price at the end of each year. So far, so good, fully recommended.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Scandalous...not to be trusted Pete, 4/21/2017

Had my Springer insured with Tesco for many years, when Tesco became too expensive, morethan offered a better deal. Worst mistake I ever made. This dreadful company said my policy started on 28th December. My poor dog started breathing rapidly on 9th Jan, so I was confident she was covered. Took her to the vets and unfortunately we had to have her put to sleep on 16th Jan. When I tried to claim, more than said my poor dog wasn't actually covered for 14 days after the policy start date 2 days after she started with the symptoms of what was to prove a terminal illness. We paid out well over £1000 in vets fees only to find that in the small print of the policy we weren't covered....absolute rip off. I have cancelled my home insurance with more than and would not trust this company or any of it's subsiduries. Be very, very careful with these people

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
HUGE premium increase after 1 year Emily, 3/17/2017

After switching my pet insurance to John Lewis last year, I have just received my first renewal quote. The premium has increased by 45%! My dog is a fit and healthy 3 year old, and we have not made any claims for her. My previously dog was insured with another company and had a long term illness spanning many years with many claims made. But not once did the premiums ever increase by that kind of percentage. I never normally leave reviews, but I am disgusted at this increase and to be honest expected more from a company such as John Lewis. I hope that by adding this review to those already given, it will help others to make an informed decision about whether or not to take out a policy with them. I certainly would not recommend them to anyone, and I only wish I had seen these reviews a year ago.

Company: John Lewis   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
2/5 Chris, 3/11/2017

I have read the reviews on this page and unfortunately I have to agree with all the comments, we started using a company call Greenbee six years ago and they were absolutely brilliant and they would have been 5/5. A year or 2 after they were taken over by John Lewis and at around about the same our Springer Spaniel was diagnosed with Meningitis, this was after numerous tests & scans by a referral practice and again Greenbee/John Lewis were marvellous the claim was handled with care and quickly. When the time for the renewal came we were expecting a hefty increase, which never appeared, there was an increase but not as big as we were expecting. About 2 years ago everything seemed to change at JL, they tried to implement the standard massive increase all pet insurance company's do when dogs reach the age of 9, even though he had only just turned 8, I did what most of us do and went through the comparison site and to my surprise the best quote was John Lewis! So I phoned up to see if they would honour their online offer only to be told that renewals were non-negotiable and if I wanted the online offer I would have to cancel my renewal and take out a new policy which would mean any pre-existing conditions would not be covered, which I excepted. Roll on to May last year our dog started to develop severe problems with his back right leg yet again we were referred and it was found that he had a growth on his lower spine which was effecting his central nervous system and he was put on to a course of treatment, one of the drugs was an anti-inflammatory which was also used when he had meningitis and guess what, when we put in a claim it was rejected because the claim handler though that the name of the drug was what he had been diagnosed with, needless to say I complained and my complaint was up held. I have again just received the renewal and it is a 100% increase from last year. John Lewis were good a few years ago but something or someone within that organisation has ruined a company that used to genuinely care about their clients and their owners.

Company: John Lewis   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
I'll let you make your mind up. George, 3/11/2017

After paying more than £100 per month for the first year, without claim, the renewal was an increase of 50%. Went elsewhere. Nuff said.

Company: Tesco   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Lindy Jenifer, 2/21/2017

I've only just changed to Lifetime Pet Cover as their premium is Ł100 cheaper than my previous provider, and with better cover. It was easy to set up and my rating will reflect this....so far. Obviously the main test will be if (hopefully not) I have to make a claim.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Look for Insurance - not with this company Ann B, 1/27/2017

I have 4 animals insured by them 2 cats 2 dogs. I would say in the past couldn't complain really of recent everything is a query which is spun out as long as possible plainly they are looking to save as much money as possible but I don't notice that in the yearly increase in premiums. The dogs were insured from their breeders so can't have existing conditions - both have ongoing health issues. The cats are rescues and are now nearly 10 until now been very healthy.I dared to put a claim in on one of the cats All 4 animals are a problem to this insurer I have in the last month had 3 outstanding queries including a double excess claim which they chose to miss ( 2dog claims 1 cat). I would suggest looking else where for insurance I am stuck with them wouldn't use them again for sure. By the way make a complaint and it is logged in file 13 never to be dealt with or is it they have so many complaints they cant deal with them

Company: The Kennel Club   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Much better value for older gun dog Jen, 1/25/2017

My gun dog is nearly 10 and my previous insurance put premium up£16 a month and couldn't give any valid reason! So looked around and found this company. She now has more cover for less premium.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Beware! Lifetime cover...until it's not Sarah Gibson , 1/8/2017

Used this company for my 2 dogs lifetime cover from 2011-2015, at which point l was told my spaniels now long term arthritis issue & meds would only be covered up to a total of £2,000 as a gesture of 'goodwill' and not at all after that as their underwriter had changed they didnt cover animals. If l hasnt been imminently due a baby l would have followed up with the ombudsman but frankly had bigger issues at that point. Now my dogs were all >8yrs old and the spaniels meds would not be covered by other companies anyway. The broker l used for my insurance said many others had been burned by them and the ombudsman would be very busy so l figured they would feel the wrath anyway. Shame as up to that point they had been good but dumping customers allegedly on lifetime cover is despicable, charlatans!

Company: Vets Medi Cover   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
£30 admin fee if cancel/not renew!!! Amanda, 9/19/2016

Having been with this company for the past 7 years and never made a claim, what started out as a value for money policy has steadily increased year on year. Now our pet is 9yrs of age with all the exclusions attached to the policy have decided to go elsewhere.HOWEVER, an admin fee of £30 is levied when you initially take out the plan and is charged should you wish not to renew!!!

Company: Purely Pets   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Read your Policy Roland Olliff, 8/22/2016

E&L are a cheap insurance company, who are fine but take an absolute age to pay, they do stipulate that in their small print but despite a claim being agreed took over 8 weeks to pay. That is fine if you can afford to wait but if it was a very large bill which had been agreed that is a long time and will incur interest if paid on a Credit Card. Read the small print and don't expect 5-star service after taking out the insurance. I wouldn't say avoid but be aware.

Company: E & L   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
shit lee, 8/19/2016

Ive been with churchills with both and pets,home and car insurance for around 15 years, giving them around £1800 ish per year!!! ive had a claim on one dog when he was 3year old which they was very good with, ive not claimed for years and any vets bills come up just paid out my own pocket. I had my dog into the the vets a few months ago with problem with his back leg!! the vet couldn't see what the matter was as he stopped breathing, so he just had laser treatment on one of his legs to see if it would help, the bill itself come to about £500-£600 ish which I paid for!!!!!! ive tried to claim some back off insurance and they have messed my about coming up with all kinds of crap!! ive cancelled all my policys with churchills now and would never ever use the company again, please watch what you are doing with this company! Also insurance is insurance if we pay for it we all should be covered, Insurance companies stop taking the piss out of genuine people,,,

Company: Churchill   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Dont touch with barge pole Linda, 7/19/2016

This pet insurance is a complete scam. They take your money and then after months of waiting they turn down your claim. To add insult to injury they are now asking me for £30 admin charge for cancelling the policy. SERIOUSLY DO NOT GO THERE!!!!! I shall be taking legal advice

Company: Paws & Claws   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Daylight robbery - Sainsburys Rob Newman, 6/17/2016

Just want to share this with anyone thinking about taking out a pet policy with Sainsburys. I was looking for pet insurance for my dog. He had previously eaten a sock and had to be operated on. I specifically called Sainsburys to discuss this prior to taking out their insurance. I was told on the phone that there would be an exception policy. I argued that I would agree if it was restricted to just socks, as what's the point in getting insurance if the pet isn't insured for anything it may ingest? Sure enough the little rascal ate part of a towel and I called Sainsburys at the time to make them aware. They then said that this would be an issue due to an exception on the policy. I made clear to them the above. They then said they had no record of my call and to cut a long story short, rejected my claim. Company morals are minimal, the guy on the end of the phone had the compassion of a postage stamp. If you do take insurance with them get everything in writing and don't trust them as far as you can throw them. Due to my experience many friends of mine and family members will not be renewing with Sainsburys. I strongly urge you to do the same.

Company: Sainsburys   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
Problamatic payers Tasha, 6/3/2016

After a wait of 7 weeks for a £700 vets bill to be settled, Purely Pets sent me 2 e-mails, one to say they would not be paying anything towards this bill and another one 5 minutes later to say the settlement was £69. After contacting our vet, he sent a letter to the insurance giving more details about the operation and then it took a further 5 weeks for them to tell us we were going to receive a further £379 towards the cost. The excess on the policy was £99 but they took 2 times excess due to the nature of the operation and then charged us a further 15% of the bill due to the dogs age. Prior to the claim being started Purely Pets doubled our monthly premiums due to the dogs age. We have been responsible dog owners for 25 years and always insured our dogs with various other insurers and have never been treated like this.We have since cancelled our policy and will now take our chances. Steve C, 3 June 2016

Company: Purely Pets   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 
happy andrew hurst, 4/4/2016

My springer cut her back paw last year And unfortunately cut her front paw this year over £300 on both occasions . Animal friends paid out pfomptly and in full both times

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: English Springer Spaniel
 



Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016