pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Cocker Spaniels

Pet Insurance for Cocker Spaniels Retrievers

Cockers are generally healthy, but are prone to certain conditions and diseases.

Common problems for Cocker Spaniels include: eye problems (including cataracts and glaucoma), allergies, hypothyroidism and several types of auto-immune diseases.

Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Cocker Spaniel owners:

M&S Won't Pay Up Mac Menzie, 3/18/2018

Took out insurance on a Cocker pup with M&S 2016. Renewed October 2017 for 3/11/17 start. Dog had stomach upset and taken to the vet 2/11/17 and subsequent visits and treatment. Total cost £738. M&S refused to pay up as within 14 days cooling off period of renewal. Very angry and will never use again. Sent to Ombudsman.

Company: Marks & Spencer   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
This company are Woeful and underhand Liam Tomkins, 2/12/2018

This Company go out of there way not to pay. after sadly having our dog put to sleep they deducted £271.20 from the vets bill to cover the rest of the years premiums. I therefore paid out more than the insurers after the 25% of vets fees, £95 of excess and £271.20 .. I urge everybody to have nothing whatsoever to this sorry excuse for an insurer

Company: Petpals Direct   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Excellent phone manner Jane Driver, 2/6/2018

Excellent details given on phone even though a little long winded.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Quick & east to renew by phone. David Gane, 1/15/2018

Just renewed my pet insurance for my two Cocker Spaniels with Lifetime Pet Cover & this proved to be a quick & easy transaction. Very helpful lady on phone. Luckily I have not had to claim yet as my dog's are fit & well so can't comment on how efficient they would be in a claim situation.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Do not use this company - awful Dave, 1/9/2018

Having been with them for some years in September 2017 we made a claim as our dog had been taken ill. Quick response saying they had received the claim then nothing!! Contacted mid November and they said claim had been passed for payment. Still nothing!! Phoned today and they said the claim will be paid in next 3-5 working days. Not expecting this to happen. Seems like they will do anything to get out of paying. If we get anything at all I am not expecting much as it looks like they use any excuse to exclude things from the claim. Worst pet insurance company we have ever used.

Company: E & L   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Simple affordable and reliable. The best. Luna, 1/3/2018

The best insurance company with easy to follow information and helpful staff. 5/5 isnít enough to describe this service. I will recommend these insurance services to all pet owners.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Excess KAREN, 12/29/2017

My pet insurance excess goes up £10 every year with petplan, seriously thinking of going elsewhere.

Company: Petplan   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Very easy to set up insurance policy Katie, 12/13/2017

Good value policy with options. Clearly stated terms and conditions, so completely knew what I was purchasing. When I had a question, Lifetime Pet Cover responded by email very quickly. I also rang their call centre, and was quickly answered. The individual I spoke to was very helpful, and quickly dealt with my request.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Terrible company B Buglass, 11/16/2017

Not the cheapest out there and cover is very limited...avoid these at all costs.

Company: Petpals Direct   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
AVOID Tracey Hopper, 10/30/2017

Although reasonable premiums, if you actually need to claim they are very very slow and query as many details as possible with weeks in between replies, I have contacted them various times since my claim and they always say "next few days", this has taken two months so far with no sign of being settled. I will not use Legal & General for anything again.

Company: Legal & General   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Renewal prices awful Julie Wren, 10/4/2017

Have been with tesco since our dog was a puppy, have never claimed and our monthly payment has gone from £30 to £45 a month because he is 5 years old. Tried to cancel and had to pay extra because apparently they take the payments a month in arrears. So much for lifetime cover this was the most expensive policy against ALL other quotes we recieved prior to cancelling.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Terrible communication and liars! Liz, 9/18/2017

I took out a policy based on an agreement that certain exclusions would not be in place, when paperwork came through (which I had to chase 3 times for) it had included exclusions. Liased with vet and Petplan to agree that again exclusions should not have been place on my policy and yet again paperwork was sent through with them on. Felt like I was chasing them up just to go round in circles! I decided to cancel policy and even that wasn't done correctly and I'm still waiting a refund of my first payment as was cancelled in in stated time. Poor poor service!

Company: Petplan   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
extremely pleasant and helpful Linda, 9/15/2017

My 15 year old cocker spaniel has been with Purely Pets after the NFU decided she was too much of a liability and refused to keep insuring her about four years ago. Since then she has had three claims I think with no problems. The last claim that has just been settled admittedly took a while as Purely Pets needed to look back at old records which were held with a previous vet. After a few phone calls back and forth it was very clearly the vets fault and not the insurance company. Throughout it all they conducted themselves with professionalism, courtesy and cheerfulness. They kept me reasonably informed and always called back when they said they would.

Company: Purely Pets   Breed: Cocker Spaniel


ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American

See more >>>

PetInsurance Review 2016