pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Cocker Spaniels

Pet Insurance for Cocker Spaniels Retrievers

Cockers are generally healthy, but are prone to certain conditions and diseases.

Common problems for Cocker Spaniels include: eye problems (including cataracts and glaucoma), allergies, hypothyroidism and several types of auto-immune diseases.
 


Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Cocker Spaniel owners:

Quick & east to renew by phone. David Gane, 1/15/2018

Just renewed my pet insurance for my two Cocker Spaniels with Lifetime Pet Cover & this proved to be a quick & easy transaction. Very helpful lady on phone. Luckily I have not had to claim yet as my dog's are fit & well so can't comment on how efficient they would be in a claim situation.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Do not use this company - awful Dave, 1/9/2018

Having been with them for some years in September 2017 we made a claim as our dog had been taken ill. Quick response saying they had received the claim then nothing!! Contacted mid November and they said claim had been passed for payment. Still nothing!! Phoned today and they said the claim will be paid in next 3-5 working days. Not expecting this to happen. Seems like they will do anything to get out of paying. If we get anything at all I am not expecting much as it looks like they use any excuse to exclude things from the claim. Worst pet insurance company we have ever used.

Company: E & L   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Simple affordable and reliable. The best. Luna, 1/3/2018

The best insurance company with easy to follow information and helpful staff. 5/5 isnít enough to describe this service. I will recommend these insurance services to all pet owners.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Excess KAREN, 12/29/2017

My pet insurance excess goes up £10 every year with petplan, seriously thinking of going elsewhere.

Company: Petplan   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Very easy to set up insurance policy Katie, 12/13/2017

Good value policy with options. Clearly stated terms and conditions, so completely knew what I was purchasing. When I had a question, Lifetime Pet Cover responded by email very quickly. I also rang their call centre, and was quickly answered. The individual I spoke to was very helpful, and quickly dealt with my request.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Terrible company B Buglass, 11/16/2017

Not the cheapest out there and cover is very limited...avoid these at all costs.

Company: Petpals Direct   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
AVOID Tracey Hopper, 10/30/2017

Although reasonable premiums, if you actually need to claim they are very very slow and query as many details as possible with weeks in between replies, I have contacted them various times since my claim and they always say "next few days", this has taken two months so far with no sign of being settled. I will not use Legal & General for anything again.

Company: Legal & General   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Renewal prices awful Julie Wren, 10/4/2017

Have been with tesco since our dog was a puppy, have never claimed and our monthly payment has gone from £30 to £45 a month because he is 5 years old. Tried to cancel and had to pay extra because apparently they take the payments a month in arrears. So much for lifetime cover this was the most expensive policy against ALL other quotes we recieved prior to cancelling.

Company: Tesco   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Terrible communication and liars! Liz, 9/18/2017

I took out a policy based on an agreement that certain exclusions would not be in place, when paperwork came through (which I had to chase 3 times for) it had included exclusions. Liased with vet and Petplan to agree that again exclusions should not have been place on my policy and yet again paperwork was sent through with them on. Felt like I was chasing them up just to go round in circles! I decided to cancel policy and even that wasn't done correctly and I'm still waiting a refund of my first payment as was cancelled in in stated time. Poor poor service!

Company: Petplan   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
extremely pleasant and helpful Linda, 9/15/2017

My 15 year old cocker spaniel has been with Purely Pets after the NFU decided she was too much of a liability and refused to keep insuring her about four years ago. Since then she has had three claims I think with no problems. The last claim that has just been settled admittedly took a while as Purely Pets needed to look back at old records which were held with a previous vet. After a few phone calls back and forth it was very clearly the vets fault and not the insurance company. Throughout it all they conducted themselves with professionalism, courtesy and cheerfulness. They kept me reasonably informed and always called back when they said they would.

Company: Purely Pets   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Feeling sad after lots of excludions Mollie, 9/15/2017

I would not recommend this company at all. I originally had my dog insurance (basic cover)with animal friends(which I have had for several years). Back in 2015 I had to make a claim for a lump(this claim was successful approximately £200) to my horror my dog had another lump which is not connected and the underwriters have excluded all claims on lumps growths tumours and cancers (basically most things) shocked is an understatement. To say I feel disappointed is an understatement. MAKE SURE YOU CHECK YOUR POLICY On a positive Ellie the senior call handler was very understanding.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
breath of fresh air! s.greenard, 9/14/2017

extremely helpful people who are really good at communicating and don't speak as if they are reading from a "one size fits all script". A good honest company prepared to be flexible if at all possible. Highly recommend them.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 
Rip off Julie, 9/2/2017

I have life time cover for my dog who has just turned 3 years old. Last year we made a claim (£550) as our dog had gastroenteritis. The policy last year cost £210 this year £330. I could not believe it. I went onto a comparison website and was quoted approx £18 per month with Asda. I asked them to match the price but they said they couldn't. Like other reviews mention, once you've made a claim and you were to change companies you would not be covered for this pre-existing condition. To me gastroenteritis should not be listed as a pre existing condition as it is something anyone can get at any time. If my dog was diagnosed with diabetes or heart condition I could understand. I also have another dog and cat insurance with them. I have decided not to review these and instead save the money. I am also going to make enquiries about cancelling this policy

Company: ASDA   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
 



Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016