pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Breeds > Bichon Frise

Pet Insurance for Bichon Frises
Bichons are a healthy and long-lived breed.

Common problems for bichons include: hip dysplasia, luxating patelllas (knee problems), bladder problems, allergies and cataracts.

Recent Reviews of pet insurance from Bichon Frise owners:

Reviewed By: Arthur Gareth Carter, 2/6/2018

We made a claim in January and it was all completed and paid out within a month. We found it very easy to make a claim with Vetsure and would highly recommend them to friends and family.

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Bichon Frise

My poor dog was diagnosed with diabetes in February 2017 and unfortunately due to this lost one of his eyes therefore I claimed from my policy for his operation and everything went well however when I received my renewal this month boy was I in for a major shock, my premium went from 47 per month to 139 per month which is over 200% increase now I understand if you make a claim your premium will go up but come on an increase of over 200%. I feel that More Than are nothing short of loan sharks as basically they paid for his operation but are now going to make sure they get their pound of flesh, unbelievable, therefore policy will now be cancelled and instead I will put money away each month.

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: Bichon Frise

Absolutely disgusted with M&S pet insurance. Been with them almost 12 years now with 2 dogs. 1 we had to let go to sleep in December, never claimed for him, his sister has had diabetes since march 2015. Daily injections of insulin & 2 monthly blood tests because of her age at 9. You pay 90.00 excess & they claim back 20% of our claim for her. Fair enough I thought when she hit 9. But where in the policy book does it say that now Lola is 11 years & 10 months old you can put her insurance up from 787.87 last year to 1,275.37 - a rise of 492.87 + 90.00 excess & 20%. What a con.

Company: Marks & Spencer   Breed: Bichon Frise
Rip off on renewal sandra, 9/6/2017

I got my renewal quote and it had gone up by quite a lot ,so went on line and got it much cheaper ,went onto chat and asked them why[no explanation ] went back to buy at the cheaper rate and my time had logged out??? ,tried again and had to get another quote Guess what it had gone up to the expensive quote Rip Off

Company: MORE TH>N   Breed: Bichon Frise
Rip Off on renewals Keith P, 8/17/2017

Just received the renewal notice for pet insurance with John Lewis, 37% increase? We have not claimed on the insurance in the last year and our dog is only 3 years old. Will now cancel and put the money in a savings account each month.

Company: John Lewis   Breed: Bichon Frise
New customer Julie turner, 7/11/2017

I'm new to the company, but they are new so that's not a surprise. I felt it was a fair price , so I hope our relationship is happy and to be honest I hope I never have to claim at all, but if I do I'll let you know how easy it is.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Bichon Frise
disgusted! D Penn, 6/12/2017

Just phoned to say that my pet would be rehomed at end of June due to going overseas and needed to cancel my policy. However as had a claim for 55.31 paid on 16/12/16 and so within this years policy will not be allowed to. Therefore they expect me to pay out 6 x 40 ie 240 before policy up. DISGUSTING!!!!!

Company: Paws & Claws   Breed: Bichon Frise
Renewal Graham Trigg, 6/2/2017

Just received my renewal,been with this company 12 months and already they've put my premiums up by 3.29p per month. Bit excessive even if the policies are better than most I'm still not getting anything more than I had last year

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Bichon Frise
Extortion - Held to ransom by John Lewis Ann Grey, 3/25/2017

Just received my annual renewal notice from John Lewis for my lovely 10 year old Bichon dog - and nearly collapsed when I saw that this year the premium has increase by 550 to 1658pa. I fully expected another hike but this is absolute robbery! I called and told them that this was tantamount to extortion! and at this rate if he lives for another 10 years I'll need to either sell my house or take out a second mortgage to pay their premiums! It's an absolute disgrace that they get away with this. They have us over a barrell when it comes to our elderly pets as they know it will be difficult for us to move our beloved friends to a new provider. I will never use nor will I ever recommend John Lewis for pet insurance - neither will I shop with them again. Dreadful money grabbing, uncaring company!

Company: John Lewis   Breed: Bichon Frise
Good price and cover Kathryn Cameron, 2/24/2017

I researched various insurers and found this one to give the best cover at the best price.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Bichon Frise
A nightmare when it comes to paying out on claims Lizzie, 2/4/2017

Agree with the majority of bad reviews - getting E&L to pay out on claims is a nightmare - they take ages. Alway an excuse about 'the backlog' - this 'backlog' appears to have been ongoing for months on end. And there is always a penalty on any further claims for the same problem. Obviously, all the bad reviews don't seem to bother E&L.

Company: E & L   Breed: Bichon Frise
Save your money..... Neil Evans, 2/4/2017

In November 2016 my Bichon got poked in the eye with something that caused a small ulcer in the centre of his LEFT eye. He had some treatment. A week later he was taken back to the Vet who said it was well on the mend with no problems and no further treatment needed. The bill came to just under 200. A 99 excess would give us back around 100. In mid January, my insurers Animal Friends , informed me that on the basis that over a year previously, he suffered mild conjunctivitis in his RIGHT eye, they did not cover pre existing conditions and would not pay out and would also now add exclusion to the policy for any subsequent eye or sight conditions. They also took the opportunity to inform me that they had noticed that in 2015 the vet had noted a very small heart murmur, ( requiring no cause for concern or treatment), and they would therefore apply an exclusion for any future heart conditions. I telephoned them and explained that the conjunctivitis in his right eye in 2015 and the ulcer in his left eye in 2016 were not connected in any way. They said that if the vet would contact them, they would review the decision. I spoke to the vet who kindly contacted them confirming the 2 conditions were not connected. In February 2017 I telephoned them to get an update and they said that the decision had been reviewed and overturned and they would be paying out, but only around 23 as during this time, the policy had automatically renewed and a further 99 excess would be applied. My advice to anybody considering pet insurance....dont bother, you would be far better off getting an interest free period credit card kept solely for the dogs possible medical needs. Insurance companies will only increase premiums every year, gradually exclude conditions as it gets older and continue to word their policies so tightly with conditions, that you have more chance of being made the next Pope than being paid out fully on a claim. Save your money.

Company: Animal Friends   Breed: Bichon Frise
THE OLDER DOG Susiemay, 9/19/2016

My current insurer loaded my policy to 35% of the cost as well as the first 100. When I complained they said they would reduce it back to 20% but the premium would be increased. It is a lifetime policy, but she is 10 and not on any medication and I have not claimed very much. Lifetime pet cover gave me the 20% extra but with a much less premium.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Bichon Frise


Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Bichon Frise
A Letter of Thanks Dee Reboe, 10/19/2015

Thank you for your service, Sarah Seager was amazing on the telephone with me and enabled me to make an informed decision on our new dogs requirements for Pet Insurance. I thank VetsMediCover for how they and the underwriters gave exceptional service, care and attention when dealing with claims associated with our previous Pet Insured Tyson (RIP) I am insuring through VetsMediCover and staff member Sarah Seager's assistance and our past 8 years history. Thank you Kindest Regards Dee Reboe

Company: Vets Medi Cover   Breed: Bichon Frise
excellent service , advice, and rates Michael McCarthy, 7/1/2015

I have had my dog insured all its life,but as he approaches the 10 year old mark, the insurance is becoming more and more expensive,although I hasten to add I have no complaints, regarding the company. I CAME ACROSS LIFETIME PET COVER, which when I spoke to them Robert and Louise were very friendly and reassuring about what was on offer, at a very good price, although I was insistant that I don't wish to put my dog in any sort of jeopardy by worse cover I would rather pay more if this was to be the case. Robert reassured me this was something I needent worry over any pre existing conditions were cleared after 2 years his lifetime cover gaurenteed, year on year. I felt very trusting toward them, which led me to believe in theyre sincerity. IT was on this I decided to go ahead with them. I HOPE I HAVE DONE THE CORRECT THING. Only time will tell.i hope I never have to make a claim. I just hope that in the future should I have to, I get no problems.

Company: Lifetime Pet Cover   Breed: Bichon Frise
Very quick turnaround Claire Defries, 3/6/2015

My dog PRUDENCE recently had surgery on her foot. The claim was settled directly with the vet by Vetsure so I didn't have to worry about it, and was settled quickly with no fuss. The policy premiums are not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for!

Company: Vetsure   Breed: Bichon Frise


ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American

See more >>>

PetInsurance Review 2016