pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

ASDA pet insurance

The Connect Centre
Kingston Crescent
Portsmouth

phone: 0800 181 4904
website:
money.asda.com/pet-insurance/

Four levels of covere: accident only, value, standard and superior.

Administered by BDML Connect and underwritten by Zenith Insurance ltd.

User Rating
2
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of ASDA pet insurance

1/5   Better off having no pet insurance   13 November 2017

Reviewed By: Mrs Gray, Recommend:

The worse pet insurance I have a have they refuse everything. All the want is your premiums and never pay out, Leave you waiting for months then tell you your claim unsuccessful for no legitimate reasons. Never again I am demanding all my premiums back

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   How are we to know!!   20 September 2017

Reviewed By: Brenda, Recommend:

My dog was in pain when itook her to our vets, i was told she needed xrays to determine the problem which i agreed too, she was prescribed a painkiller and told she may need to see a neurologist for a back problem, cutting the story short she has had to have mri scan and surgery, i put my first claim in and they have questioned the charge of the painkiller and paid out 10 less i know this isnt much but its the principle, how is the pet owner to know if the cost of the drugs is over the average we would pay anything for our furry friends to be out of pain, i'm just waiting on the claim for the mri scan and surgery plus medication which was carried out at a vetinary hospital, lets see what they try to get out of paying now!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Rip off   2 September 2017

Reviewed By: Julie, Recommend:

I have life time cover for my dog who has just turned 3 years old. Last year we made a claim (550) as our dog had gastroenteritis. The policy last year cost 210 this year 330. I could not believe it. I went onto a comparison website and was quoted approx 18 per month with Asda. I asked them to match the price but they said they couldn't. Like other reviews mention, once you've made a claim and you were to change companies you would not be covered for this pre-existing condition. To me gastroenteritis should not be listed as a pre existing condition as it is something anyone can get at any time. If my dog was diagnosed with diabetes or heart condition I could understand. I also have another dog and cat insurance with them. I have decided not to review these and instead save the money. I am also going to make enquiries about cancelling this policy

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Nothing for 11 years loyalty   24 June 2017

Reviewed By: Amy, Recommend:

I've been with Asda since my cat was a kitten 11 years ago. I had one fairly small claim around 5 years ago that was handled agreeably. However, last September my cat had to have a small lump removed from her mouth, this claim took nearly 3 months to finalise. At one point there was a discrepancy over the cat's date of birth. She was found as a stray at around 5 weeks old so I am unaware of her actual dob and always say 1st August as a near-enough date. My vet happened to put down 5th August on the claim form (for reasons best known to himself). This resulted in a two week delay of emails and long phone calls. Anyway renewal day arrives, they no longer post a renewal notice but deliver it by email instead. I happened to miss this one email and found out through a bank statement that my monthly payments had gone up from 18 to 35. I realise that my cat is getting older and understand that my premium will go up but doubled?? I put his down to having the audacity to make a claim. Beware

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   total rip off   10 February 2017

Reviewed By: Sheila , Recommend:

Our cavalier is 8 years old and sadly over the last couple of years has developed firstly epilepsy and then diabetes. Obviously the premium has gone up as we have had to make a lot of claims BUT, last year 47 per month, this year 85 !!!!! in addition we also pay the first 10% of claims. To make matters worse, although we have always paid for lifetime cover, they now charge the excess on every condition each time the policy renews ! This means another 170 every January. Over a year this makes a total of approximately 1,200 per year plus the 10% each time we claim which is obviously ongoing due to meds etc. We are both pensioners and finding the cost of insuring our much loved pet crippling. I thought insurance was to help when your pet was poorly but seems more like a savings scheme to me.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Happy and easy to use   12 January 2017

Reviewed By: Jane draper, Recommend:

My three year old dog cut her paw needed to be seen by out of hours vet with follow ups I contacted asda pet insurance for claim form emailed me forms next day forms completed by the vet. 24 hours later insurance company sent email to say payment would be paid in five days all done and sorted very happy with the quick response

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all cost and it will cost!!   17 November 2016

Reviewed By: parke, Recommend:

Paid for the Superior cover for my little dog, he needed a small simple op. phoned and checked to be told you are superior cover so there will be no problems turns out this is WRONG! Op Ł400, Asda pet insurance pay Ł170 the rest is not covered, so add the Ł230 in addition to what we pay for our annual premium and we are very out of pocket. Do not use this company put your premium in the pets bed as this is our first claim and our dog is 6 years old we would be quids in!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Rip Off Lifetime Policy   8 October 2016

Reviewed By: Jill Holland, Recommend:

Having looked for new insurance last year I found Asda as a competitive policy, read it through and took it out, Made one claim in February for pancreatitis (stomach complaint) policy has just come for renewal and its over double. I called to ask why it had gone from 16.50 per month to 33.50 per month to be told that my dogs category was now classed as a higher risk. What they mean is now i'm tied in and cant go anywhere else in case he gets another stomach complaint (becomes a known condition, which wont be covered by another insurer) they can charge me what the hell they like. I've got another dog with the co-op and although he's now diabetic and will be poorly forever they only increased my policy by 8% this year. Well done Co-Op you are brilliant. Asda you are criminals and everybody should know it.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Reading your great Review convinced me to avoid Asda Pet Insurance like the plague! Picking up my Pup in 2wks so have been looking online for 'Full Life' cover. Found your experience very informative: that is a real crafty move on the part of Asda!! Thanks again. Pet Owners like me rely on honest caring pet owners like you to 'tell it as it is' so that we can avoid these obvious money-grabbers before we get sucked in! Hope your Dogy's feeling better x

comment by: Mrs Double Ewe!, 17 October 2016
 
1/5   Said never ever again   2 October 2015

Reviewed By: Valerie Hutchinson, Recommend:

Last claim was a nightmare Three months to resolve but now because I did not change (my own silly fault). It has started today for my second dog. Phoned for claim form a week ago. Dog went in for op. Today. Phoned 20 mins to see where my claims form was but could not get through. 25mins later customer service answered. Had to go all through questions to be told I will put you through to claims. I said you will be lucky. Tried to put me through and cut me off. Tried claims for 15mins. And had to go through it all again. Told it takes 5 days to arrive. Text on Monday said claim form had been sent out. THIS IS ONLY GETTING THE FORM.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   No quibble but not lifetime!   25 February 2015

Reviewed By: Pat, Recommend: Y

I thought that I had bought lifetime cover and it ran out once we reached the maximum per condition.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Easy to use, No problems   3 February 2014

Reviewed By: Stuart Conway, Recommend: Y

Our cat badly cut her paw. The vet dealt with Asda directly and we had to do very little other than contact Asda initially and supply policy number to the vet. Vet also said that Asda were never a problem.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Did you find that their premiums increased after a year?

comment by: Mr Phelps, 20 November 2015
 
1/5   Never again   24 January 2014

Reviewed By: Kate, Recommend: N

Have had cover for my 2 cats with Asda for 10 years without a significant claim - then one cat developed epilepsy in early October last year, the other broke his leg 3 weeks later. Nov/Dec spent jumping through paperwork hoops, received a confirmation e-mail just before Christmas stating that I would be paid in 5 days. Despite weekly calls to Customer Services am still waiting at the end of January. Considering legal action to recover my money. Will never use them again.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Been looking all day to find a good Pet Insurance plan for our pup (get in 2 wks x). Going for 'Full Life' plans only. Read your review, and many others regarding Asda's poor customer service/willingness to pay up promptly and we think we'll give Asda a swerve! As if its not bad enough having to take a poorly Pet to the Vet - you have to 'fight' to get the service you have paid for! Thanks for your Review: very useful. And do hope your cats are well x

comment by: Mrs Double Ewe!, 17 October 2016
 
  Add your own review


Review ASDA pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 2 + 0 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016