pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Animal Friends pet insurance

No. 1 The Crescent
Sun Rise Way
Amesbury
Wiltshire
SP4 7QA

phone: 0344 557 0300
website: http://www.animalfriends.co.uk/

One of the most popular pet insurance providers in the UK. Offers seven different plans.

User Rating
2
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Animal Friends pet insurance

1/5   Disgusted with Animal friends   7 June 2017

Reviewed By: David white, Recommend:

having paid my policy with Animal friends religiously for 8 years, my cocker spaniel had to go in for emergency tests, my policy said I was covered for £1000.00 for emergency treatment, the tests found she had a tumour and we had to have her put down, total cost £970.00 Animal friends said we were not entitled to anything as she had a wart removed 3 years previously so therefore we were not covered for warts growths tumours etc, the vet even backed us up and said the tumour was not related to the wart, even so Animal friends refused to give us a penny, they may be animal friends but they are definitely not friends of people who pay them money.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Animal not friendly pet insurance   21 May 2017

Reviewed By: Gary Jones , Recommend:

Poor customer service no response to complaint independent review carried out by their own department use the excuse of a preexisting condition to get out of claid settlement

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid Like The Plaque   17 May 2017

Reviewed By: Barley, Recommend:

They take your money then find every possible reason to avoid paying out when you most need them to. Never made a claim in the 6 years I was with them, then when my dog cancer and we had to have him put to sleep they declined much of my claim, paying out £260 of a £900 claim. Ignore the adverts, they are just there to draw you in and get your premium.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   they catch you out!   17 May 2017

Reviewed By: Karen, Recommend:

If you have submitted a claim and you receive a message from Animal Friends questioning the onset of symptoms PLEASE watch out and speak to your vet before responding because they simply catch out honest customers. My dog was diagnosed with cystitis and underwent £400 of diagnostic tests. They sent me an e mail asking when symptoms started (vomiting) I admitted that she had brought up saliva occasionally as a puppy and they are refusing to cover it because they say it is a pre-existing condition!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disgusted at heartless, unhelpful staff   8 May 2017

Reviewed By: Charlotte Cheetham, Recommend:

Our labrador had to be out down over a month ago and straight afterwards I rang Animal Friends to inform them. They only pay out £99 for euthanasia so I was unable to make a claim after my excess amount was paid. I cancelled the policy but was still charged for the monthly premium 2 weeks later. After informing them of their mistake they apologised and promised to close the policy and repay the amount taken from my account. I am still waiting for the money and had a surly young woman on the phone who told me that the refund has not yet been processed and was unable to let me know when or whether it would be processed. I would advise that you seriously consider other Pet Insurance Providers before taking out pet insurance.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Co operative payment   21 April 2017

Reviewed By: Anonymous , Recommend:

Very disappointed that we have to pay extra. I feel the monthly insurance premium is already very high.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Disappointed   10 April 2017

Reviewed By: Robina, Recommend:

Polished pre-sale and customer service but be aware of the difficulties of claiming and the small print if you are insuring an older, rescue animal, as I have. I declared a known existing condition when I took out this insurance. Subsequently, my cat showed signs of another condition that I wasn't aware of until the vet diagnosed it. My claim was rejected on the basis that the condition was pre-existing when I took the policy out; the fact I didn't know was irrelevant. My latest claim has just been rejected on the basis it's "routine treatment without the presence of infection". Presumably, had I have left the cat suffering with this condition( impacted anal glands) until such time as they did become infected, my claim would have been allowed. Indeed, I wouldn't classify blocked anal glands as routine, the same category as nail clipping and grooming, in any event. So my best efforts to provide responsible, reactive insurance cover for my pet were wasted and I have cancelled this policy

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Animal friends are a shambles - they don't pay out   2 April 2017

Reviewed By: Emily Kellett, Recommend:

Animal friends are a shambles. I have cat insurance with Animal Friends for 3 cats, all on a non-lifetime policy. I have twice tried to claim (for two different cats) and both times have been rejected - quoting the '365 day lapse' of both 'conditions'.... that being a complete lie. 1. The first time, I tried to claim for Basil's skin treatment. They wrote to be on 3 occasions asking me to confirm the date when I first noticed the condition, despite me filling this in on the form I sent to them. They ignored my responses so I had to call. I did this while on a break in work, thinking it would be an informal conversation to inform them of what I had already informed you. The claims advisor asked if he had ever shown signs before of a skin condition... I said something along the lines of 'no, cats have little scabs on their skin often but it hasn't ever been in this way'. This conversation, which I thought was chatty, informal and not something which would make my claim void (I'd already answered the question on two occasions) was then rejected, and they stated that it had been over 365 days since I 'noticed the condition' and therefore I couldn't claim. 1. Why were my first two responses not accepted, but an informal chat where no dates were confirmed or spoken about was? 2. I was told, whilst complaining about this, that someone would review the call and get back to me. Nobody did, and therefore this complaint is still outstanding. 2.This week I've been told I can't claim for Pedro's stomach rash/skin condition, which started in October 2016. The reason stated is because of 'plaque on upper lip' which was noted during a check-up in 2015. The lip plaque was never treated - nor did it ever need to be. It was simply an observation from my vet at that time. The vet has confirmed the two have nothing to do with each other, but they are insisting they know more than my vet. The claims advisor said the claims handlers are 'Veterinary trained', however he confirmed that they are not Vets, nor have they every examined my cat. 1. Why does a claims handler know more about my Cat's condition/diagnosis than my Vet, who has physically examined him? 2. Why did they not let me know at renewal that Pedro was registered as having a 'skin condition' and therefore would not be able to claim for any further skin conditions? If theh had let me know this, I would have been able to make a more informed decision about my claim in the future and sought advice from my Vet 3. Jack in Customer Services said that my Vet's word would not be sufficient, and that I would need 'Reasoning' and 'Evidence' that the two conditions weren't linked. I asked Jack what exactly 'reasoning' and 'evidence' meant, but he could not tell me. I would propose that the two would come from my Vet, who is trained to be able to give such 'reasoning' and 'evidence' - but apparently not. Along with this, the claim handler was rude on the phone, he would not let a very frustrated customer speak, was sighing on the call and clearly had no intention of helping. There was no mention of my loyalty as a customer, having been with them for 4+ years and having 3 cats with them. There was also no apology for the length of time the claim has taken, for the lack of communication around his apparent omitted cover and no mention of the fact that this is my second 'failed' claim. The staff have been rude, unhelpful and the service I have received has been very poor. I also have had no response on social media, which after some research I can see why - due to lots of other complaints being on the internet about them. I am now out of pocket by over £200, excluding the excess I would have had to pay on the two cases. Don't trust them or waste your money. Pay more for a better more trustworthy service !

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid at all costs   31 March 2017

Reviewed By: Dhillon, Recommend:

Have made excuses to pay out all my dogs claim,have had nothing but excuses! After the death of my dog he is meant to receive adeath benefit but advised this is for accident only don't recall this been on the small print. Avoid this company at all costs they are quick to take the the direct debit but not pay out on a claim

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Beware of small print   20 March 2017

Reviewed By: Sarah Small, Recommend:

Very disappointed with this company when making a claim. Apparently they deduct 35% of the claim if your dog is over the age of 8. This was certainly not made clear to us, and not mentioned when discussing our claim on numerous occasions! It is apparently in the small print and mentioned as 'co-payment', jargon which I would not understand. Once this has been sorted and finalised we will certainly be looking elsewhere. Feel very let down by a Company which I had trusted.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Absolutely shocking rip off   13 March 2017

Reviewed By: Wendy, Recommend:

Been insured with these thieves. My staff pie has an ulcer in his right eye which meant the usual, antibiotics then specialist treatment £1500 in fees! Animal thieves (refuse to call them friends) declined on the basis that my Jakie had a bad eye, which I had paid for two years previous in his left eye!!! They refused in the basis of apparently one eye is linked to the after one and excludes both eyes for anything!!! After saying it was an ongoing confdition!!! Gave them such a mouthful cancelled and complained after they made me feel no better than a thief as they told me I had not given them full history on everything that has happened to Jakie in 14 years!! Complete rip off! Avoid avoid!!! I am not leaving it there and continue my war against them!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Hi, have a very similar problem at the moment, would love some advice

comment by: Scott, 4 June 2017
 
 I took them to small claims court and won my case . It's really easy to do online and quite cheap compared to the £4000 they were trying to not pay out . If you win they also have to pay your court fee and interest .

comment by: Jayne gates, 17 May 2017
 
1/5   Animal Friends breached their own contract   9 March 2017

Reviewed By: Janet Black, Recommend:

Animal Friends were paying for my dog's condition of bacteria/yeast in her ear from July 2016 to present. They are now not paying the outstanding £500 vet bill as they state this condition was in the dog's medical history in September 2015, though it was written as Otitis Externa (inflammation of the ear). Therefore, it is over there 365 day period. Though, Animal Friends were paying this for my dog in November 2016 and January 2017, which is indeed outside there 365 day period. Clearly, they didn't want to pay the last bill which was linked to a condition in July 2016 and therefore are going back to 2015 slamming down otitis externa which is an umbrella condition of inflammation of the ear. I spoke to customer services and they said they made an error in paying me in November and January and therefore I suggest they are breach of their own contract and may be in breach of their code of ethics by not advising me of this error they had made. As Animal Friends knew my dog's treatment was ongoing. I'm now taking this dispute to the Ombudsman. I would recommend this Insurance be investigated by the Trading Standards Agency as the reviews are the worse I've seen.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid this Company   9 March 2017

Reviewed By: Ann, Recommend:

Animal friends refused to pay out when my beautiful Molly was diagnosed with pancreatitis and passed away suddenly while in the care of the vet. They said that because I'd taken Molly to the vet 11 months previously with diarrhea, that she had a pre-existing condition, despite the fact that she hadn't been diagnosed. I have since found out from my vet that this company is well known for not paying out claims. I have now cancelled the other two policies that I held with them for my other dogs. Don't make the same mistake as me.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/5   Disappointed with our latest claim   1 March 2017

Reviewed By: CJ De Villiers, Recommend:

################

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Wording confusion   27 February 2017

Reviewed By: Poppy , Recommend:

Blaming my doggie back pain to lameness, they won't pay until I have a diagnosis which will cost £1800 for mri scan, vet has said she has a back condition, condition/diagnosis what's the difference, hope to take it further

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   "Co-Payment" deductions of 35% from claims   25 February 2017

Reviewed By: Lorraine Marten, Recommend:

I would advise everyone who has a policy with Animal friends to read their policy REALLY REALLY carefully. I knew my excess is £99 which actually isnt too bad but was not aware of the "Co Payment" policy they have. This is applied to all claims for cats over the age of 10 years and dogs over the age of 8. I discovered this after making a claim last year. I had to look very hard to find it in their written details as it is not right at the front in big print where in my view it should be. In the end I actually had to ring and ask where it was in the policy. What this means is that on top of the £99 excess I have to pay on any claim I also have to pay a WHOPPING 35% of any balance to them. I have had to make another 2 claim for one of my cats who is now 16yrs 8 mnths old. One was for £484.75. less the excess of £99 and the 35% co-payment meant I only received £250.01 of that sum. The second was for £131, after the excess and co payment was deducted I received just £21.21. It`s a good job I love my old cats. This co-payment is excessive and just does not seem right or fair given that I am not getting the insurance free I am paying a monthly premium ! I assume this co-payment goes to them as my vets have said they dont ask for this. I cannot find a reason for this in any of the paperwork. Who does get it ?? I am unable to change policies now because of the age of my cats but I am considering cancelling the policies and putting a lump sum aside to cover any other vets fees. I would suggest owners ring and ask any insurers they are considering using about this co-payment before they use them.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 The Co Payment does indeed go to the insurance company and not the vet. All pet insurance companies have a co payment on their policies as they know the likelihood of claims being submitted increases as the pet ages. Co payments USUALLY occur as the pet ages and reaches about 8 ) but not always ( some policies are sold with a co payment from day 1 as this is a way of keeping the premium lower and unfortunately, monthly premium is what most people buy on ) It is down to the policy holder to… (read more)

comment by: Murphys Dad, 12 May 2017
 
1/5   AVOID!!!!!   23 February 2017

Reviewed By: Rasa Stonyte, Recommend:

What a scam this company is! I would urge everyone to steer clear from this company. I had insurance with them for my cat for last 8+ years. When we bought our kitty, he came with this insurance so we didn't think of looking into company further and simply continued with it. The premiums kept going up every year by a very small amount. Started at around £16 in Cental London. 2014 my kitty got ill and was hospitalised. The vet was dreading to claim the moeny from this company as they have a bad reputation. I looked into switching the insurance company but I couldn't as it was after the illness was diagnosed. Anyway they did claim from the insurance and it all went well. After a huge claim the premium went up by approx. £10.00. End of 2016, just before the new year, my kitten had to have a bladder surgery and stones removed, so he was hospitalised for a few days. We claimed from the insurers again and all went well. We did move from Sutton to Holloway recently so I have changed the address with insurers as well. The next thing I know is the premium went up to £55.00 pcm on Jan 11 due to a very dangerous (!) area we live in (I lived in a cantral London previosuly and for whatever reason it was not dangerous - Bloomsbury is one of the more expensive areas and surely the vet fees are much higher there than Holloway!), also my cat is purely indoor car so he is not allowed to go outside and all the vets can confirm that (Insurers do not care about that!). So I accepted this and just carried on... 22/02 yesterday I have received the renewal documents and received the shock of my life - premium is now !£130.00!!! Yes we did make a claim which was settled on 11/01 (the day we received the first increase), but I could not believe that the premium gone up by 236%!!! So I urgently called up and was told they can only tell me the general factors why the premiums may increase but they do not have the information of the exact increase, exact factors and exact breakdown. I asked to speak to a manager and was told exactly the same. I was told that underwriters decide this and they go by what underwriters tell them! I asked to speak to underwriters and so I was told they are based in Gibraltar (funny that) and they cannot provide the contact to me. So basically they areripping me off because someone said they can with no clkear explanation what so ever. If you thing they are non profit organisation you must be dreaming!The underwriters are based in Gibraltar - that is one way of not paying the taxes! The owners (apparently animal lovers, husband and wife, Mr and Mrs Fairfax) are worth around £4mln net each! This is a joke. I am taking this further and I would everyone to look into switching the insurance to other providers. There was always a reason why all the vet institutions were so against this company. I have read now read many awful reviews and am disgusted! I wish I knew this 8 years ago. I an taking this further for the sake of all the people and their little pets who have been and will be scammed by this crappy company! I am sure we will speak very soon again Animal 'Friends'!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   steer clear of animal friends   18 February 2017

Reviewed By: Julie, Recommend:

insured my puppy the day after his previous puppy insurance expired and was told there was a 14 day waiting period which I understand. However on the 15th day ( out of the 14 day waiting period) he was playfighting with other dog and was diagnosed with cherry eye a couple of days after this again through playing his other eye want i paid for the surgery however they refused to pay saying it was on the 14th day when it was not and gave now excluded his eyes and sight from any other claims. really not happy with this cancelled both policies i had with them for both my dogs and have now complained.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 All I can say is if you have not got Life time cover which they want you to have stay well clear of this lot if you want your pets looked after without getting a bill you have to pay. Think pet plan NOW.

comment by: Gail, 9 March 2017
 
1/5   Beware   13 February 2017

Reviewed By: Buddy, Recommend:

I received a letter to say that my claim has been denied on the grounds that: Dog lead and harness should be in condition and fits pet to prevent escape. You must ensure the lead is used in such a way the animal slipping out our grasp. I will be today writing to the FCA and escalating this, the lead was less than 2 months old and the lead was held by me in such a way, I am a grown adult ....... they also need to provide proof of the above ...... make sure you raise a complaint if you are NOT happy ....

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Don't give up. I've been trying to claim for medication for a false pregnancy since last year and this week my claim was upheld. Admittedly they then take the £99 excess off but a win is good. They've called her problem a procedure then behavioural, written a load of rubbish but common sense prevailed somewhere along the line. Admittedly they then said if I wished to re-insure with them an exclusion would need to be added relating to anything connected to her reproductive organs when they knew… (read more)

comment by: Sue D, 16 February 2017
 
2/5   Save your money.....   4 February 2017

Reviewed By: Neil Evans, Recommend:

In November 2016 my Bichon got poked in the eye with something that caused a small ulcer in the centre of his LEFT eye. He had some treatment. A week later he was taken back to the Vet who said it was well on the mend with no problems and no further treatment needed. The bill came to just under £200. A £99 excess would give us back around £100. In mid January, my insurers Animal Friends , informed me that on the basis that over a year previously, he suffered mild conjunctivitis in his RIGHT eye, they did not cover pre existing conditions and would not pay out and would also now add exclusion to the policy for any subsequent eye or sight conditions. They also took the opportunity to inform me that they had noticed that in 2015 the vet had noted a very small heart murmur, ( requiring no cause for concern or treatment), and they would therefore apply an exclusion for any future heart conditions. I telephoned them and explained that the conjunctivitis in his right eye in 2015 and the ulcer in his left eye in 2016 were not connected in any way. They said that if the vet would contact them, they would review the decision. I spoke to the vet who kindly contacted them confirming the 2 conditions were not connected. In February 2017 I telephoned them to get an update and they said that the decision had been reviewed and overturned and they would be paying out, but only around £23 as during this time, the policy had automatically renewed and a further £99 excess would be applied. My advice to anybody considering pet insurance....dont bother, you would be far better off getting an interest free period credit card kept solely for the dogs possible medical needs. Insurance companies will only increase premiums every year, gradually exclude conditions as it gets older and continue to word their policies so tightly with conditions, that you have more chance of being made the next Pope than being paid out fully on a claim. Save your money.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I had the same issue. The vet mentioned in passing that my dog had a Grade 3 Murmur but it was nothing to worry about. After 18 month the dog was diagnosed with Heart Failure and AnimalFriends refused to pay. Their email support is awful and never answer direct questions. Go else where if you're thinking of using these rob dogs ;)

comment by: Lee Nottingham, 11 May 2017
 
1/5   Scam   26 January 2017

Reviewed By: Peter Brown, Recommend:

I took out animal insurance with this company 8 years ago because they advertised "we are a non profit making company and ALL of our profits go to animal charities" About 4 years ago, I noticed that they had changed their policies to "SOME of our profits go to animal charities" When I contacted them to ask exactly how much profits go to charites, they would not answer me. This was an absolute scam just to get people to sign up because they thought they were supporting charities. My policy (no claims) has now gone up from £32 to £63 in December 2016, now one month later it has gone up again to £69. I have now read all of my policy documents (I encourage anybody else to also do this!)and realised how many exclsions they put in place. Absolute cowboys - avoid. If I could give this review a minus number,I would. Cancelling as quick as I can!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Mr Brown Please visit our charities page of our website where you will find details of just some of the charities we have donated to https://www.animalfriends.co.uk/charity-support/. To date we have donated over £3 million to animal charities worldwide and we will continue doing so. We have never stated that we are a 'non-profit' organisation and as over £3m suggests, a considerable amount of our profits has been donated since you have been with us. We are happy to provide you with more… (read more)

comment by: AFI Administrator , 27 February 2017
 
 Everything you said is correct

comment by: Pat barrett, 2 February 2017
 
1/5   Unsatisfactory outcome   17 January 2017

Reviewed By: Ronnie, Recommend:

My 10 month old puppy recently became unwell and after seeking emergency treatment the vet felt that he has swallowed something. Not only did the insurance company refuse to pay out they have added a disclosure if my insurance stating that they will not accept any claims with regards his gigestive system. I have attempted to fight this case but keep being told that as he vomited (which he didn't) he was just limp and lifeless this could none an ongoing illness which again this was a one off accident !!! I have sent various emails and spoke to them but without my luck, this matter is very concerning as I have two puppies and Accidents are blind to happen but I won't be insured fir them . I would recommend that you do not insure your animals with this company as they are very good at making sure that they do not pay out and that any future illness or accident will not be covered as they will find a way of putting it under s very general heading which pretty much covers everything 😥

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Exactly the same has happened to us-after paying £3000 to our vets to try and save our poor dogs life (emergency operation to remove a blockage from his stomach)we were told that because he had diarrhoea once 4 years earlier he is not covered by his insurance because apparently the 2 illnesses are related....even the vets told them the 2 are not related whatsoever....heartbreakingly we sadly lost our boy the day after the operation-and animal friends' reply when we rung them was "your insurance… (read more)

comment by: Kate donlan, 11 April 2017
 
 Exactly the same has happened to us-after paying £3000 to our vets to try and save our poor dogs life (emergency operation to remove a blockage from his stomach)we were told that because he had diarrhoea once 4 years earlier he is not covered by his insurance because apparently the 2 illnesses are related....even the vets told them the 2 are not related whatsoever....heartbreakingly we sadly lost our boy the day after the operation-and animal friends' reply when we rung them was "your insurance… (read more)

comment by: Kate donlan, 11 April 2017
 
 Just had exactly the same thing happen to me,it seems every claim made to them they tell you it is a pre-existing condition ,mine had a gastric illness but they wouldn't pay out as he'd had a mild case of diarrhoea almost a year ago so it was guess what apre-existing condition,apparently only dogs with a abnormality ever get diarrhoea and any digestive illness is excluded from the policy.

comment by: sharon, 27 January 2017
 
1/5   Animal Enemies!   6 January 2017

Reviewed By: Imogen, Recommend:

If I could rate Animal Friends as no stars I would, I don't think that they even deserve a review but I want people to be aware before insuring their animals with Animal "Friends" what they're getting themselves into. I got my French Bulldog on May 1 2016. In early June I took him to the vets for a check up, the vets gave me tear drop replacement drops to give him twice a day as he had dry eyes. Towards the end of June I noticed that one of his eyes started looking red and weepy, I took him back to the vets and they said that he would need immediate treatment as he had a melting ulcer in one of his eyes, our local vets kept Jacques in for the day giving him eye drops and anti biotics every hour, by the end of the day there was no improvement. Our local eye specialist vet happened to be off sick on this day so we got transferred over to Abbotskerswell Vetinary Centre, he had to have an eye graft straight away costing £1,100, 2 months later he needed a follow up procedure costing another £700, not forgetting the £1,074 for his first lot of pre op treatment and supporting medication. I sent of a claim letter and soon received a letter declining my claim. Their reasoning behind this was because Jacques was already on eyedrops, although they acknowledged that when he was first insured there was no ulceration, we had 2 eye specialist vets look at Jacques' eyes and both stated that they were adamant that the dry eyes and ulceration were not connected in any way. Since I have had problems with Animal Friends and asked people for their advice they have all had negative things to say about this insurance company, I just wish that I had read more reviews and did my research before becoming one of their victims.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Pointless using   21 December 2016

Reviewed By: Mrs S J Davison, Recommend:

Tried to claim for 3 treatments for false pregnancy i.e. medication. They tried to lump it in with spaying, called it a procedure etc. - Clause: "Spaying to prevent the re-occurrence of false pregnancy; and any claim as a result of these procedures unless specifically noted on your schedule." At no point in that statement is there a mention of medication, just spaying etc. Then can't even be bothered to address my complaint properly. Would be better to list inclusions as too many ambiguous exclusions. No point in continuing policy. DO NOT GO THERE.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Can't claim on policy as in between but accident happened before old policy ended they gave me a new policy number but there clause they say can't claim for 14 days Don't use won't pay out

comment by: Christine, 3 January 2017
 
1/5   Bunch of crooks   6 December 2016

Reviewed By: Ryan lobb, Recommend:

Been with this bunch of crooks for 2 years since coco was a puppy, 2 months ago she had a seizure so took her to an out of hours vets who said she may have PDE (coco is a pug) and needed an MRI scan, as they didn't have one near here we had to go to Bristol for it, the cost so far is £2700 something I can ill afford, anyway we contacted Animal friends and they said that it shouldn't be a problem, so all was well in my eyes until I rang them weeks later only to be told that because she was taken to the vets months ago to see if one day we could breed her once so she could experience motherhood they are refusing to pay out because in their words " upon review of cocos clinical history it is clear that coco is used for breeding, we shall not pay out where your pet has been used for or in connection with a trade or profession, where your pet has bred for monetary gain or reward. She hasn't been bred and never will be now and this has nothing to do with the sudden illness she has, a letter has been sent and now just waiting for a response, this company is just a heartless money grabbing bunch of ******* and need to be brought to justice anyway possible.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 i have a lab and she had an xray 18 months ago but nothing was conclusive which they paid for . but this week we had another xray and they have told us its her cruciate which we had operated on on monday Animal Friends won`t pay as they said its the same condition ,its a joke. it has now just cost us £3000.how can it be the same condition when nothing was diagnosed.

comment by: anonymous, 21 December 2016
 
1/5   AVOID ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH   25 November 2016

Reviewed By: Kathie, Recommend:

If I could give no star rating I would!! Absolutely disgusted - 😡My cocker spaniel had a particularly nasty ear infection recently so I decided to claim only to have the claim declined as they considered it a pre existing condition because he's had ear infections in the past, this particular infection was diagnosed in September this year so how is that a pre existing condition? Yes he's had ear infections in the past but been treated and recovered ....... AVOID AVOID AVOID NO I WONT BE RENEWING MY POLICY!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I've had exactly the same problem same sircumstances they are just crooks

comment by: Tim sanders , 6 January 2017
 
 Thank you for yours and other recent reviews I don't think we will go with this company for our pups insurance

comment by: P ashford, 2 January 2017
 
1/5   Stay clear   3 November 2016

Reviewed By: Danielle, Recommend:

Our lab was insured with AF till today. She was diagnosed with epilepsy officially in July after having first seizure in Feb which we weren't certain on it was epilepsy or a reaction to wormer. 2nd in June and blood tests done in July which confirm timed the epilepsy. Claimed in August and they backdated claim to Feb and took off the excess £99 which was fine I advised she would be having meds at £7 a month with another blood test in Jan. They would only cover this condition till Feb 17 but I had £300 left on the condition claim. So when I put in the claim for the meds from August till now they then applied a second excess of £99 because the yearly renewal had taken place in August so it was a New Years policy. She's was still only covered for the epilepsy till Feb though and a wide exclusion on her policies going for for all claims related to fits or seizures even if it wasn't her epilepsy.so basically we wouldn't get another penny out of them for the epilepsy.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 Same thing happened to us, our dog is 9 and we've been with AF for 2 years with no claims. We found a lump, given treatment by vet etc. Lump remained so had op to remove. Charged 2 excess £99 fees same as you. Also deduction of 35% as she's over 8. We paid £610 out and will receive £260 odd! Only found out yesterday, not happy at all. Least our dog is fine, lump was benign caused by hair follicle.

comment by: Carole, 6 November 2016
 
1/5   reviews not appearing   27 October 2016

Reviewed By: Richard Wallace , Recommend:

AF do everything they can not to pay out. I have twice previously tried to add a negative review to this site,but they're not appearing. I wonder why? Do AF have some influence perhaps?

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 As a new customer I am regretting changing to AF.... fed the same rubbish about back log of claims every time I ring to ask when I will receive payment!!!! Will not be renewing next year, bitterly regret leaving Pet Plan!

comment by: Mrs Allinson, 14 December 2016
 
1/5   Read the small print absolute crooks   18 October 2016

Reviewed By: Sean Mursell , Recommend:

Paid insurance for 3 years without a claim, then my dog developed a kidney infection and a £312 very bill. They secluded different treatments for varying reasons and paid £50. They are absolutely disgraceful, and I couldn't find a vet within 100 miles that would accept direct payment from them for treatment. Cancelled and much better off. After several complaints they refused to review again and were surprised I cancelled. There is absolutely no peace of mind with animal friends, you may as well burn your money

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid, Avoid, Avoid   11 October 2016

Reviewed By: D. bowry, Recommend:

Our dog unfortunately got hold of some ibuprofen, and being a lab, didn't take him long to eat what was left in the pack (circa 10 pills), which are highly toxic to dogs. After receiving emergency care, Animal Friends used a previous and unrelated common stomach issue (Diarrhoea) as reason not to settle our claim. My favourite line from their letter: "I understand that you may consider an exclusion of the entire Digestive System to be inappropriate in view of Rocky’s treatment. I feel it is pertinent for me to explain that although the decision process for applying exclusions does take into account medical factors, we adhere to specific criteria when applying exclusions which has been derived from legitimate commercial decisions that are focused on the mitigation of financial risk". "As such the medical factors concerned may not always be the sole factor in these decisions". Meaning if your claim posses financial risk on Animal Friends, they feel entitled not to pay or settle.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 More or less the same thing happened to me with our lab, will be looking to move immediately. Avoid at all costs,

comment by: W.green, 22 October 2016
 
5/5   Quick settlement   30 September 2016

Reviewed By: Kath Southwell, Recommend:

Was worried about my little Yorkies tummy as felt hard took him to the vets they said he needed a scan did the pre-authorisation through the pawtal system and this was authorised within hours he had the scan the next day this revealed a large mass he was operated on and his spleen removed within 2 days because he is 8 yrs old I had to pay 20% of the total cost as well as the excess amount but the portion that animal friends was paying was paid within days of the vets making the claim the vet had my invoice ready when my dog went for his stitches out. Fast hassle free claim

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Animal Friends pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 1 + 4 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016