pet insurance review

pet insurance cover | dog insurance | cat insurance | rabbit insurance | about | contact  

Animal Friends pet insurance

No. 1 The Crescent
Sun Rise Way
Amesbury
Wiltshire
SP4 7QA

phone: 0344 557 0300
website: http://www.animalfriends.co.uk/

One of the most popular pet insurance providers in the UK. Offers seven different plans.

User Rating
1.8
out of 5

add your review


Compare Quotes
from Insurers


Reviews of Animal Friends pet insurance

1/5   Disgusted   8 December 2017

Reviewed By: D kane, Recommend:

Our 6 year old dog became very suddenly unwell and was referred to Fitzpatricks where a range of tests were undertaken and he spent a week there. He has an inflammatory condition of his brain and nervous system. his scans also picked up an abcess in his mouth it was recommended for him to have additional treatment. Which we knew would not be covered under the exclusions of the policy. However our £3500 claim has been refused as they are saying his illness a linked to the abscess, this is despite the registrar at Fitzpatricks arguing to the contrary that the two are not related. We have never made a claim before and have one of their more comprehensive policies.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   DO NOT USE THEM   5 December 2017

Reviewed By: Anon, Recommend:

Can't say much as ongoing claim but I have £5000 bill refused for a bladder issue since dogs 1st season because she had a uti on 14th day of Policy. Get even disagrees they are thieving money or people left right and centre

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Advice Please??   24 November 2017

Reviewed By: Endurojay, Recommend:

Hi, I’ve unfortunatly just lost my pet in a tragic accident. I’m worried they won’t pay out on the insurance. If someone can give me advice how to complete the form that would be really helpful at this sad time? The details I’ve put are not correct, as I would t want to find out through this forum. Thank you!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Will penalise you for your dog getting older   22 November 2017

Reviewed By: Lolly, Recommend:

They are a scam. I haven't claimed yet my premium goes up each year. Time to move on.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   1   17 November 2017

Reviewed By: Anna, Recommend:

Declined our claim after years of paying . They made up the story about our dog’s pre existed condition.... whaaaat???? After two vets opinion still.... I am reporting them to ombudsman!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   One claim covered, others likely to be rejected.   16 November 2017

Reviewed By: Bill Hunt, Recommend:

I thought I’d update on my experience with the insurance company ‘Animal Friends’. I’ve had Tilly insured with them since I got her six years ago, paying the premiums every month. And a couple of weeks ago had to make my very first claim for an operation on her head. Following the operation, I’ve received this letter this morning: “Whilst assessing your claim we note that Tilly has been diagnosed with melanoma in June 2016” (she wasn’t). “As you have taken out a non-lifetime policy we are required to place an exclusion on your policy. This will take effect from the renewal following the onset date. “Excludes all cover on all claims with respect to Growths, Tumours and Cancers and resulting conditions with effect from 29 October 2016. “As you have taken out a non-lifetime policy we are required to place exclusions on your policy. This will take effect from your renewal date. “Excludes cover on all claims with respect to anything to do with Cellulitis that occurred on 7th September 2017 and Resulting Conditions with effect from 29th October 2017. “Excludes all cover on claims with respect to Cysts and Warts from 29th October 2017”. (She didn’t have a “cyst or wart”- I was with the vet while he made a note of that on his computer!)

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Will do anything not to pay out   15 November 2017

Reviewed By: Milly, Recommend:

Policy wording vague enough so they can avoid paying out for most things. Beware dental exclusion - means the won't pay for anything in the mouth area. Wouldn't pay for biopsies on lumps as said were first noticed a year earlier, even though weren't significant at that time.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Disgraceful avoid   6 November 2017

Reviewed By: Elwood, Recommend:

Avoid like the plague, been insured for over 6 years paying around £30 a month so had roughly £2000 Plus off me, put a claim in for ear infection for £230, but cos my dog went to vets on 18th sept then my policy renewed on 21st sept there charging 2 excess of £69 as it runs over 2 years insurance apparently, ( not the fact I’ve had continuous insurance with them for the past 6 years. Only paying out £100 absolutely disgusted and fuming.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Diabetes   2 November 2017

Reviewed By: JACK, Recommend:

My dog contracted diabetes ok till policy renewal cost of monthly payment went from £40 to £130 knowing full well I cannot insure anywhere else as it would be a pre existing condition friends of animals they are not AVOID

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Very happy   18 October 2017

Reviewed By: Antonietta, Recommend:

I have been with Animal Friends for my former labrador and during the years all his ailments were paid for by the insurance. I have now a puppy which I immediately insured with them last May. About one month ago he had a problem with his rear leg. He had to have x rays and medication which all amounted to about 400 pounds. Submitted the claim and Animal Friends Insurance paid out within ten days the full amount minus the excess of £ 99.00 so I do not understand all these negative comments.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I guess you are one in a million. They have to make that one person lucky so she can write one positive comment. Lucky you

comment by: anonymous, 17 November 2017
 
1/5   poor   4 October 2017

Reviewed By: bentley, Recommend:

They invented a pre existing condition from 2 years ago and refused to pay out when he was euthenised. The 2 were about kidneys in that one was behavioral and the last one was failure. Very disappointed.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid Animal Friends   25 September 2017

Reviewed By: Anonomous, Recommend:

My cat was insured for 3 years with Animal Friends when decided not to renew after lots of hassle/pay 2 excesses of £99 has he was seen by emergencyvet (out of hours)own vet so said it was 2 claims. Was going to charge to cancel so let the policy run to end of term when tried to cancel/not renew over phone was spoke to very patronising/rudely. The man wouldn't give his name. Disgusting service/company. Have sent a complaint but not holding my breath on anything getting done.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Feeling sad after lots of excludions   15 September 2017

Reviewed By: Mollie, Recommend:

I would not recommend this company at all. I originally had my dog insurance (basic cover)with animal friends(which I have had for several years). Back in 2015 I had to make a claim for a lump(this claim was successful approximately £200) to my horror my dog had another lump which is not connected and the underwriters have excluded all claims on lumps growths tumours and cancers (basically most things) shocked is an understatement. To say I feel disappointed is an understatement. MAKE SURE YOU CHECK YOUR POLICY On a positive Ellie the senior call handler was very understanding.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid   13 September 2017

Reviewed By: Adam F, Recommend:

Had our two cats insured on an AF policy. One of them got seriously sick in the first weeks of us taking out the policy (our bad we should have started the policy before we got them) so we had to pay for the treatment ourselves. Fair enough. Skip forward two years, and we take one of our cats in to the vet because he's having small seizures and we want to find out what's wrong with him. Vet highly recommends a neurological workup at a vet hospital which will cost 4k. Put the claim in with AF and they refuse to pay because they link it back to the original issue that he had when we first took the policy out stating that because one of the symptoms we brought him in for included seizures and ataxia (shaking) so therefore they don't have to pay. They also put a retrospective pre-existing condition on our policy to say any future illnesses/conditions which involve symptoms of seizures and ataxia will not be covered. Probably 50% of most illnesses that cats get involve these symptoms so he's basically un-insured for most conditions. Moved straight away to Bought By Many. Avoid them - they are just heartless money grabbers.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Animal Friends are Cowboy Con Artists   7 September 2017

Reviewed By: SIBBLE, Recommend:

I contacted them for information about my puppy collie 18 weeks old. Told them he had diarrea on the 14th day of insurance but took to vets on 16th day of insurance, they told me I couldn't make a claim for the testing of gi tract infection which was clear. thank god. But now they have put and exclusion on my policy for the digestive system. I told them this is harsh because that stops me from making any claims on illness if I needed to in the future. basically I'm only paying for broken bones by the sounds of it. That's if god forbid it happens, But then there would be an excuse not to pay out I bet. wish I never started the policy now. I was told that I could submit a claim if its liver or anything but it would be at their discretion whether they paid out or not. Total B0ll0cks, Shame on them conning people of their money and loved ones!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   The very Worst Pet Insurance of all   26 August 2017

Reviewed By: N Zarach, Recommend:

I have never ever come across a company quite like this. They have one way or another wriggled out of paying up for vet fees. One claim was an emergency ear infection and they even rejected that. I am pulling out and can't believe I put my pets healthcare plan in their hands. Not a very straight forward company so watch out and I would recommend you avoid them completely and make sure you go to another company who won't behave in this shoddy manner.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not use   18 August 2017

Reviewed By: Very upset pet owner, Recommend:

I am not going to go into any detail as my dispute with Animal Friends is on going but PLEASE PLEASE if you treasure your pet DO NOT use this company's insurance

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 I know what you feel. I wish I never moved from Pet Plan. Animal Friends are not FRIENDS. Wish never chose them.

comment by: Anna, 17 November 2017
 
1/5   Animal Friends dog insurance   14 August 2017

Reviewed By: John A, Recommend:

Thanks for all your feedback on animal friends,i will not be using them,everyone who as had probelms have saved me alot of money.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid Avoid Avoid   8 August 2017

Reviewed By: David, Recommend:

Just had the most frustrating conversation with them. They are stalling a payment of a claim, small amount, and to be fair isn't hurting me financially, but that's not the point. I've had a policy for over 2 years and never claimed. My cat has never been ill, and therefore doesn't have a medical history, other than being given the chop 10 years ago! They are stalling on payment because they can't confirm he doesn't have a medical history...how the hell am i supposed to prove something didn't happen? The fact it isn't on the vet's system isn't enough for them, the suggestion is I have used a different vet, and I need to provide their details! Who? Policy cancelled, avoid these guys like the plague!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   THEY FIND ANY LOOP-HOLE NOT TO PAY OUT!   7 August 2017

Reviewed By: Mrs H, Recommend:

Our experience of trusting Animal Friends with our Dogs insurance turned out to be an expensive lesson. We had paid them for several years, never making a claim until this year. Our dog started with a sore, discharging eye, so we took him to vets & was told it could be Conjunctivitis & was prescribed with some Drops & Tablets. The condition worsened so we went back & the Vet put some coloured dye in his eye & said it confirmed an Eye Ulcer, (more Tablets & drops). Still the condition worsened until he couldn't open his eye & was in alot of pain. We were told to take him in and he would be given general anaesthetic & his eye would have to be scraped to get rid of Ulcer then eye-lid stitched down until it recovers. This was done & he was given more medication. The bill came to over £600, so be sent in the claim. We were warned by Vets that they had had problems in the past when claiming! Weeks went by and after chasing them up, I was told they would not be paying out as our dogs records shows that 18 months earlier he had has a small Ulcer in the other eye & so this condition was not covered. The other ulcer was easy to clear up and the bill was less than the £70 excess we would have paid so we never claimed for it. We had no idea that this Ulcer in the other eye would be looked upon as a re-occuring condition. We feel it is just an excuse no to pay out. Please be careful when dealing with this Company. I WOULD DEFINATELY PUT THEM TO THE BOTTOM OF THE LIST.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Animal friends   25 July 2017

Reviewed By: Jane, Recommend:

Animal friends - warning ........ do not use ......... We had an insurance policy with this company for our pedigree birman cat Max who unfortunately had to be put to sleep last November aged 3 with FIP. I submitted everything from the vet and Animal friends took their time and after chasing them several times eventually paid for the tests and euthanasia less excess. Today I contacted them to take out insurance for our new kitten and in the course of my conversation about their different policies discovered from the operative that I could have claimed at the time of Max's death for compensation for the initial cost of Max. Max cost us £350. The operative said I was out of the 90 days claim period and asked me if I hadn't been advised at the time that I could claim. No one at Animal Friends advised us that we were entitled to this and I have been told today that after 90 days you are unable to claim. I asked to speak to a manager who also said I now couldn't claim and then initially told me that I wouldn't have been able to claim for Max as you can only claim for death of a pet after they reach the age of 10, when I kept questioning this he went away to check and said he was sorry that information about age was wrong. Again I asked why I wasn't advised at the time that I could claim and he said that I should have read all my policy paperwork and it is not down to Animal Friends to advise you of what you are entitled to. I informed this 'manager' that I was extremely upset and would write a review regarding my dealings with Animal Friends

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   BEWARE   25 July 2017

Reviewed By: Dale Coleman, Recommend:

They tried to claim that my can had a serious bladder infection because of a behavioural issue and denied the £250 claim. DO NOT GET THIS INSURANCE. If you already have then then id advise to change ASAP.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Animal Friends were Brilliant!   20 July 2017

Reviewed By: Jenny, Recommend:

I'm very surprised by all these negative reviews. Our rescue Springer had to have a cataract operation at the tender age of 2. He had already lost the sight in one eye and this operation has at least saved some of his sight although he has severe retinal damage as well. The cost of the treatment was slightly more than I was covered for but Animal Friends paid out with no quibbles and very quickly. I wonder how many people actually read their policies but we received exactly what was expected from the policy. I would recommend Animal Friends - value for money for me!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 As you can see dreamer- read all the negative comments. You are one in a million.maybe they had a good day🤣🤣🤣

comment by: Anna, 17 November 2017
 
 I also think they are a brilliant company. Cannot understand all the negative comments.

comment by: Antonietta, 18 October 2017
 
1/5   Cowboys Incorporated!   17 July 2017

Reviewed By: Julie Jaques, Recommend:

It appears we all have the same problem with these cowboys!! I took my dog for an annual booster and the vet asked (as they always do) how Maddie was doing, I said that she was absolutely fine, slowing down a bit and finding stairs a bit harder but this was only as expected as she's now 13.5yrs old. 3 weeks later I noticed a change in Maddie on walks & she didn't seem herself so we went to the vet & subsequently she had liver function tests and an ultrasound, this showed changes in her liver function & she had lost some weight over the course of 12 months, I was told the weight loss could be because of a reduction in muscle mass (not unusual in older dogs) and she was prescribed tablets for both diagnosis. Animal Friends inform me that because I said she was slowing down to how she used to be this is a pre existing condition and they're refuse to honour the claim, they also refused the claim regarding the Liver function and said they were attaching a new exclusion that includes any illness connected with the liver as of todays date, backdated to October 2016, something that was never set out in the exclusions before. Remind meagain why I've been paying £30per month to these cowboys!!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   do not go near   13 July 2017

Reviewed By: Mal, Recommend:

My dog was really ill with a Pyrometra Uterus infection, we ran up a bill for £1500, stuck the claim in and declined. Evidently it linked to the reproductive system and therefore you can not claim. Its an infection of the Uterus and I know that is part of the reproductive system, but based on that you are screwed for everything around that area. Disgraceful company...do not go near.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/5   Good for my older dog   13 July 2017

Reviewed By: Julia, Recommend:

Insured my older dog with them for the last years of his life - unlike many insurance companies they accepted him for cover at the age of (I think) 11 years. Made a few claims with them, including the final one when I lost him last year. With each claim found the settlement to be fair and prompt. No increase in renewal premiums (was paying under £25 p/m for dog of 16 on one of their top policies) which I think is very fair. There is a % contribution as well as an excess so worth doing some sums before committing to get a prediction of what a sample average claim of about £500 might cost. Very happy with my dealings with Animal Friends. Please remember that it is very important to read the policy booklet with particular attention to the exclusions for vet fees on any insurance policy before making a commitment to avoid disappointment at claim stage.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Insurance Cowboys   13 July 2017

Reviewed By: Linda Roberts, Recommend:

Refusing to pay for my dogs treatment as claiming it was an ongoing condition - my dog had never had any treatment for his heart beforehand but 3 yrs before the vet had noted in his annual checkup that he had a slight murmur I'm now left to pay £950 for his tests and treatment - absolutely disgusted I will be taking this further about time it was mentioned on TV how bad they are in paying out!!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Avoid!!!   10 July 2017

Reviewed By: Janine Seddon, Recommend:

Our old dog developed a deep ulcer after a trauma to the eye and had to be operated on as an emergency in order to save the eye, but Animal Friends refused to pay the claim as he had conjunctivitis 5 years previously!! Even though the surgeon wrote to them to explain that this was totally unrelated, they still refuse - so upsetting.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Don't use this company!   8 July 2017

Reviewed By: Dawn H, Recommend:

Do not use this company, pay extra and use a reliable insurer! We were with Animal friends for over 7 years. Our springer had to have emergency treatment for a prolapsed bowel. This happened 3 times over a period of 6 weeks. Test rests also showed polyps. Due to her age (11) the vet advised the best thing would be to have her put down as she was too old to have the infected bowel removed. In total we spent about £2800. Animal friends refused to pay anything towards the treatment informing us that 2 years previously she'd been seen by the vet for blood in her poo. They were told that this was nothing to do with the prolapse, but they disagreed and refused to pay a penny. If we'd never had the insurance and put the money away each month we would've had enough to pay the bill! Customer service is poor and they refuse to listen, looking for any way of getting out of paying for a claim. Disgraceful company. I'd never recommend these and in hindsight wished I'd have paid more and gone with a decent company. Even our vet said she didn't think we'd get anything as they are one of the worse companies.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/5   Do not pick animal Friends   6 July 2017

Reviewed By: Howard , Recommend:

My dog has just fallen I'll my vets are sending her to Newmarket to have 3d scans and run tests. Newmarket sent a pre claim form to animal Friends pet insurance my insurance with them says I'm cover up to £ 4000 the vets have said treatment scans ect with cost around £3000 they think she has cancer I'm her bladder animal Friends has said they won't pay anything as she's hi ad a urine infection before which is nothing to do with cancer. Very poor customer service very unhelpful. never again will I chose them. I would keep well way. Even my vets wrote to them saying saying her past bladder infection is nothing to do with this cancer they is no reason to you shouldnt cover this. . They Still won't pay out. I have be insured with them for 4 years and never tryed to claim until now. I pay 25 month for 4 years can't believe what a joke this company is.

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/5   Cat insurance   6 July 2017

Reviewed By: Louise, Recommend:

I have heard bad things although in the past I have had only minor things to claim for as dental is not included. One of my cats is nearing 15 and I just cancelled as paying over £25 a month and knowing that there is a excess and I have still pay a % because of his age makes me realise insurance is a rip off whoever it is with. A friend said to me they are all a scam and I guess fear kept me insuring my cats just like boosters did.. but I have decided we are better of saving the money in another account than paying any company. Let's hope they let me cancel immediately! I remember when they were a good company and it seems they just like others find any excuse not to pay! Crazy world we live in!

Comment on this Review | Was this review helpful to you?      
 
  Add your own review


Review Animal Friends pet insurance review policy

One-line Review Summary  
Detailed Review
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 5 - best)    
Your Name  
Your Pet   Dog Cat       Breed
What does 4 + 3 =  


Insurers

ArgosTesco ChurchillAnimal Friends SainsburysVirgin PetguardHealthy Pets Vets MediCoverAviva
Direct Line PetplanE&L Pet Marks & SpencerMore Than RSPCALV Pet John LewishelpUcover American
Express

See more >>>




PetInsurance Review 2016